We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We had a lovely stay!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is positioned perfectly! Not far from anything you want to see! The rooms (appartement) are spacious, well appointed and the beds are comfortable and the pillows are super comfy!

We had a few requests and the staff always helped us to meet out requests!
Staff were friendly and really helpfu! Thanks Much we will defenately stay with u again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVerne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello JVerne72,

It is so wonderful to read that you loved staying with us and our location. Thank you for mentioning our spacious apartment, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    373
    144
    68
    33
See reviews for
176
449
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were a group of 3 ladies staying in a 2 bedroom suite. Fabulous location, with many great attractions within walking distance. Delightful outlook from the small balcony, comfortably furnished, and well appointed as far as glassware, crockery etc. goes. Having a bathroom both upstairs and downstairs was a bonus. Very friendly staff at check in and check out, and overall a most pleasant stay. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootyFansGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello FootyFansGoldCoast,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is lovely to read every aspect of your stay was outstanding. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When you stay here you are in the middle of everything. Being on the pier affords beautiful views across the bay and the room are very comfortable. With the kitchenette we had the choice of buying bits and pieces at the excellent supermarket in Salamanca place or head out to the many eating establishments close by. The bathroom has laundry facilities - a bonus when you have been on the road for a few days. Hobart is a lovely city and this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryAnneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello MaryAnneCanberra,

We’re delighted to read you had such a pleasant stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. Thank you for your praise of our location, spacious suite, and the amenities we have to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Valley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pretty well a perfect spot to set up camp. Close to Salamanca Markets which were much bigger and better than expected. Walk to just about everywhere from here. Parking a lot easier than expected. Rental cars a lot closer than expected. Staff were friendly. Room was bigger and actually better than expected with a much better view and aspect than expected. The bathroom was a bit old hat but big. A better kitchenette than expected. It was warmer in the room than expected but that's not much to complain about in winter!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnKangarooValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello JohnKangarooValley,

It is wonderful to read we exceeded your expectations at every touch point during your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located - on Elizabeth Pier, right on the harbour with views of boats. The staff were extremely friendly; I phoned the desk in the middle of the night because I was having some trouble sleeping in the King bed that was made from two singles. I was offered a room with a normal Queen bed - no problem. Service was friendly and prompt. No attitude whatsoever.
The pier is a perfect departure point for anything you want to do around Hobart, and the Tourist Info Centre is just 2mins walk up Elizabeth St - a lot of tours and shuttles leave from this centre.
On my last night I didn't go out for dinner but instead just stayed in and enjoyed the wonderful view from my apartment.
The only negative point for this whole property has nothing to do with the service, and that is the need for the rooms to have more soundproofing. When someone next door had a shower, I could really hear it; also, when I had to set my alarm quite early to get to the airport, I could hear the people in the next room groan because I was the one making the noise! So I felt quite sheepish about that.

Room Tip: I chose a Premier apartment with a balcony and I did not regret this choice. There were also beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelgaBrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A good, clean, well maintained accommodation. Could do with a en suite toilet and hand basin in the bedroom which is upstairs. Close to town and all attractions such as Constitution Dock, Salamanca Markets, ferry bookings etc.

Room Tip: Have an En Suite toilet and hand basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hello trevorsd,

Thank you for your review, we’re pleased to read you enjoyed the quality of our apartments and fantastic location. For your next stay, I suggest a two bedroom apartment as they have a bathroom upstairs as well as down.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights (Sat & Sun night) over the Queen's Birthday long weekend in June. We were upgraded on arrival which was fantastic for friends travelling together - gave us our own 'space' and each our own bathroom. My friend had a little trouble with noise as others have mentioned but I didn't hear a thing during the night. The walls are a little thin so we heard the kids next door in the mornings but as we were awake by then it was no problem.

The views from the living area are stunning! We were on the eastern(?) side which allowed me to catch a spectacular sunrise on the first morning of our stay. The location is hard to beat - easy stolling distance to Salamanca Markets and the MONA ferry, both of which were key for us during this stay.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful which led to an all-round relaxing stay. Would definitely stay at the Somerset again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello kerry3095,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the long weekend, it sounds like you and your friend had a lovely and relaxing trip away! Thank you for mentioning our fantastic location, friendly staff and spacious apartment. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing