We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, awesome view, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, awesome view, comfortable stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed there for just one night and we wished we could stay longer. The room is very spacious with a little balcony over-looking the Elizabeth Pier. Very awesome view! The laundry facility is particularly useful for our traveling in Tasmania.

Highly recommended. Really worth the price, will try other somerset series later, if possible.

Only one shortfall, seems there's limited parking for guests.

Room Tip: Try pay more to get a premier room. Nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ophelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Ophelia T,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is great to hear you enjoyed your trip.

Our central location is ideal to experience all that Hobart has to offer; and all of our apartments have stunning views over the River Derwent and Historic Sullivan's Cove. We have complimentary parking, however, it is limited due to our unique location.

Thanks again Ophelia T for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    369
    144
    68
    33
See reviews for
174
444
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the week for a shopping trip. The cost was affordable albeit not the weekend rates and the room top in presentation. We were upgraded to a balcony room and spent part of the evening looking at the marina.
Overall a very enjoyable experience.
Only issue could be some parking but there are some available for guests.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello 293,

Thank you for the kind review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and week-long shopping trip. I am sure you visited Salamanca Markets and picked up some unique pieces!

Our premier balcony rooms ensure an extra special experience and I am delighted you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade.

Thank you again 293 for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on the Pier Hobart in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and the location is just superb. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay there again. The bathroom in the rooms was a little basic, but you can't have everything.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the water end of the hotel as there was a bit of noise at the city end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_BBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Sandra_BBoop,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is great to hear you had a lovely trip!

Our central location is ideal to experience all that Hobart has to offer; and our apartments are designed with space in mind to ensure guests have a comfortable stay.

Thanks again Sandra_BBoop for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Somerset on the Pier for two nights. It was a great location, just a few minutes to the Salamanca Markets (Saturday morning), the restaurants and bars, and very close to the Mona ferry. It is certainly worthwhile paying extra for a north facing room with a balcony. Most of the action at the marinas in Constitution Dock happens on this side. Also the sun streams into the living area. The bedroom is upstairs in the loft area. It can get a bit hot on a unusually hot night. However there is a ceiling fan, and airconditioning. The kitchen area is well equipped and has a dishwasher. We had no noise on a Friday and Saturday night from busy restaurants below – there was double glazing on the windows and sliding balcony doors. Nearby Daci & Daci Bakers do the best coffee and Danish Pastries. Pizza Razzi do an OK takeaway pizza to enjoy on the balcony with a great view. Would definitely stay here again for the incredible location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello DG_Sydney77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier. It is wonderful to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and your trip to Hobart!

All of our apartments have stunning views over the River Derwent and Historic Sullivan's Cove; however, our rooms with balconies ensure an extra special experience. Thanks for the tip about Daci & Daci Bakers, we will certainly pass this along to other guests. There are also a lot of other fantastic restaurants around the area and our staff are always happy to assist with recommendations.

Thank you again DG_Sydney77 for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The good - amazing location on the water, very central to the best of Hobart - Salamanca, cafes, ferry and endota dayspa, 24 hour check in which is not available at all hotels in Hobart. The bad - its nice and tidy but not really five star, there is a function room on the ground floor under all the rooms so if you are unlucky to be there when a wedding is on you will be having a late night and if you book a two bedroom be aware it is really one bedroom with a semi closed annex. Good, not amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello BecandB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Hobart!

Our sincere apologies for the noise issues you encountered. As our location is one of the main tourist areas of Hobart, with a full working pier, restaurants and a function centre located in the one building; we do experience noise issues on occasion. We take a very proactive response to any noise complaints we may receive from our guests, and always strive to ensure a positive outcome. Had we been aware the noise disturbed you, we would have done everything possible to resolve this straight away for you.

Our apologies also if you were under the impression that Somerset on the Pier is a 5 star property. Somerset on the Pier is rated 4.5 star serviced apartment and provide the facilities and services for this level. We certainly aim to provide 5 star customer service and there is no question that our amazing views are 5 star!

Thank you again BecandB for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Somerset on the Pier in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Somerset on the Pier in Hobart is perfectly located on the Elizabeth Pier so all rooms have an absolutely 'up close' view of the Hobart wharf area. It has a number of restaurants in the same pier complex, with charge back facilities, and it is easy walking distance to Salamanca Place. The rooms are well equipped but the split level bedroom is just a little inconvenient in terms of access to the bathroom.

Room Tip: Take a room towards the end of the wharf and avoid the late night noise from the restaurants below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello David H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Hobart; the views of the River Derwent and Historic Sullivan's Cove are magnificent.

It is always great to hear guests dining at the restaurants on Elizabeth Street Pier and T42 on the pier is a favourite amongst staff and guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and we would like to suggest our two-bedroom apartments which also feature a bathroom upstairs

Thank you again David H for your review and we wish you continued happy travels.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Right in the harbour precinct within walking distance to Salamanca markets and lots of restaurants and handy for the ferry to MONA. The staff were really helpful. A guest room with free computer and printer allowed us to print tickets and boarding passes. Wifi in the room was free for the first 24 hours. Rooms were serviced daily with clean towels as well. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing