We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - bad, everything else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location - bad, everything else.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Okay, SO... First of all - Silly me for choosing Hobart as my getaway after our wedding. Lets just begin the review that way!

Due to going overseas a few months after the wedding, me and my husband decided to do something low key directly after the big day also! Having been to Sydney and Queensland many times, we felt that something different was needed - and we had never been to Hobart together. Looking at all the hotels in the city - the choice was made between the Henry Jones Art Hotel and Somerset on the pier. We chose Somerset as it had a unique view and was situated directly on the docks. (Something we had not experienced before in all our travels)

As we got to the reception, we were greeted by the receptionist and congratulated on our marriage. (No upgrade? BLeh!) Honeymoon bonus...a box of very ordinary tasting truffles. A box of Favorites from Woolworth's would of been better, let me tell you that!

Now - on to the room.

Room had an 'old' vibe. The bathroom sort of made me uneasy and wasn't the cleanest looking. The bed in the room is situated on the second level which is a nice touch, but something in the bed covers or the couch made both of us INCREDIBLY itchy! Not sure if others have experienced this at Somerset on the Pier - but it really annoyed me.

The balcony view is nice - but the table on the balcony looked dirty and i didn't like eating on it. No nice amenities, no added features to staying at the property and no real great memories made here.

Looking back now, Henry Jones Art hotel is on the opposite side of the dock and i would definitely pay just that little bit extra to stay somewhere 5 star and above Somerset's poor standard. Do not choose this if you want a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Pago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    361
    142
    66
    32
See reviews for
169
430
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for an overnight work trip, so not a lot of time to assess the hotel...but... Quite nice building and great location by the water. Not much in the way of parking spaces - but we didn't have any problem parking so they were obviously enough!

Staff were pleasant enough, room was clean, not keen on the dispenser style shower amenities. On the whole it was pretty inoffensive but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear jmowen,

Thanks very much for your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Hobart.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a premier room, noise didn't bother us at all, location is excellent. However do not expect any extras which are normal in an apartment stating they are 4 star and charging a huge price for the privilage, we asked front reception for toiletries and got told that the one push soap dispenser in the shower was soap, shampoo and conditioner, thats it ! nothing else. Toilet seat was wet when we arrived toilet was not cleaned properly, amenities are more like 3 star. will stay in one of the other lovely apartments in Hobart next time for a lesser price as well.

Room Tip: We stayed at the restaurant end which was good because other end had a function room under the apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Linda M,

Thanks very much for your feedback.

We were sorry to hear that you didn't like the new amenities. Globally our company recently moved to a dispensing system in order to reduce our carbon footprint (previously we were dipsosing of 1000's of small bottles each year most of which were half full!). Our apartments currently contain a liquid soap, body wash/shampoo and moisturiser. We understand that some people prefer extra amenities and have a range on offer from guest service including, shower caps, cake soap, conditioners, razors etc.

Apologies that the toilet wasn't cleaned to standard and this has been addressed with our housekeeping team.

With regards to rates we generally find out rates to be competitive for our product, service and location. Hobart being a small city often experiences periods of very high demand and this also tends to raise prices throughout the city.

Again we thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Premier room with balcony has fabulous outlook over the marina....Fantastic location...very trendy. Unfortunately, staying over the weekend, we were over the function centre downstairs with loud music until midnight both nights. Sound vibrates through the floor. This meant closing the doors...air con noisy and not working properly/broken....loft area with the sleeping areas extremely hot on average days and very bad on a hot day. Fan in bedroom just pushes the hot air around. The hotel MUST consider air con upstairs. We paid over $300 per night and would have expected much better maintenance of this property. We will not stay here again in summer. Washing machine was welcome but not working properly with no markings left on the dial. Great furnishings and great beds. Good kitchen.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra cost. Ask for the quietest location (particularly on weekends) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear MaL61,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are in a busy area of Hobart and whilst generally a quiet location we do experience noise from time to time. Being in the CBD and main waterfront area, it is a popular location on weekends for locals and tourists to enjoy. As with any capital city there is nighlife on weekends and business' in our building are required to put noise control practices in place between 11pm - 12pm. We take a proactive response to noise issues and endevour to advise guests in advance about potential noise disturbances, however, sometimes we are not aware of them.

Our apologies if you found our loft bedrooms hot. We have recently installed ceilling fans to assist and this has made a big difference. Hobart is generally not a hot location experiencing only a few days a year over 30 degrees. Unfortunately our unique location prevents us from installing additional air conditioning units upstairs.

Again thanks for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The godod: I was very pleased by the quality if the accommodation, and the over the harbour. The apartment was nicely furnished and well equipped. The bad: at $220 a night I was surprised that there was no complimentary shampoo and conditioner (only an all in one body/hair gel) and that wireless was extra - $14 a day. The ugly: there was a function on one of the nights I was staying - fair enough, there was a leaflet under the door, but we did not receive this until we returned from dinner (not sure when it was put there) by which time we did not feel like going out again, so had to out up with loud music until just after midnight. Would have been nice to have been forewarned if not when booking, then at the desk as we left for the morning. Nice place - but I question the value for Monday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wello09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Wello09,

Thanks very much for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the stay.

We have recently changed globally to a dispensing system in the bathroom in order to reduce our carbon footprint (previously we were disposing of 1000's of small amenities bottles most of which were half full!). Whilst not to everyone's liking we do still have individual soap, conditione and moisturiser available on request from housekeeping and guest service 24 hours per day.

In relation to internet we installed wifi this year and halved our cost and doubled our download limits in response to guest feedback. Next year we are happy to advise that we will be offering complimentary internet to all guests from 1 January 2013.

Our apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced. We take a proactive response noise and try to advise guests as early as possible of any potential noise issues.

Again we thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The location is great and the staff were very helpful, however the design of the rooms meant that the place gets pretty hot and stuffy. (All the heat rises to the loft which is where the bed is. They're very practical apartments, but I wouldn't stay here if you want a romantic evening. The noise is pretty full on, but we were warned by staff about a beer-festival when we stayed. Also, the bed wasn't overly comfortable. Positives are the location, views, and staff. Negatives are the layout of the rooms, the lack of fresh air, and the bed itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillybeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great view and location. Smooth checkin. Beds - twins on open mezzanine and another in windowless room which got very hot. Nice balcony. Small kitchen. A bit noisy from parties in restaurants below. Close to boats which go to Mona etc. checkout way too early at 10am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing