We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Savoy(Hobart)
View Hotel
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
391
407
158
71
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
407
158
71
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom downstairsgreat locationloft stylebalcony roommezzanine floormona ferryfish frenzysplit levelsalamanca placesalamanca marketswashing machine and dryersmall balconyrestaurants and barsliving areaguest loungesecond bedroomdown stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The location is great and the staff were very helpful, however the design of the rooms meant that the place gets pretty hot and stuffy. (All the heat rises to the loft which is where the bed is. They're very practical apartments, but I wouldn't stay here if you want a romantic evening. The noise is pretty full on, but we were warned by staff about a beer-festival when we stayed. Also, the bed wasn't overly comfortable. Positives are the location, views, and staff. Negatives are the layout of the rooms, the lack of fresh air, and the bed itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillybeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great view and location. Smooth checkin. Beds - twins on open mezzanine and another in windowless room which got very hot. Nice balcony. Small kitchen. A bit noisy from parties in restaurants below. Close to boats which go to Mona etc. checkout way too early at 10am.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed our visit. All staff encountered were friendly, polite and welcoming. The location is amazing, definitley right on the pier. I would highly recommend choosing a room with a balcony, it is only a few $$ extra. The room itself was nice, comfortable but not totally amazing. I always love a seperate shower to the bath and as the room was in a loft upstairs it was quite warm and I could imagine in the middle of Summer it would get even hotter. Car parking could be testing if it was busy as there is only limited spaces.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear boats01,

Thanks very much for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Glad you enjoyed the balcony apartment. We also recommend a balcony apartment as they are north facing and provide a great space to take in the fabulous views (the non-balcony apartments also have great views!).

Sorry if you found your apartment a bit warm. We do have some challenges keeping loft style apartments cool as heat does rise. We installed ceilling fans about 12 months ago and found that this has made a big difference.

With regards to parking we do only have limited spaces due to our unique location, however, guests can overflow to the public parking and there are no charges in these spots from 6pm - 10.30am.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in what was supposed to be a two bedroom/2 bathroom appartment.The bedrooms are loft style accommidation.One room was fully enclosed with a queen bed & the second one was an open plane with 2 single beds & no privacy. Better suited for a single family with 2 kids not two couples.We did however have 2 bathrooms.The small ensuit upstairs and a larger one downstairs that included a washing machine & dryer.The rest of the appartment was well appointed including a kitchen & good sized living area.The view from our room was excellent & the location was right in the middle of eveything including a 3 minute walk to Salamanca Markets.Due to the location there was some street noise but this did not cause any problem.Parking is a bit of a problem.We did manage to get a spot everyt time however we did have to walk 100 meters to the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHOOTERGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear SHOOTERGAZ,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier.

Apologies you experienced some traffic noise during your stay. Somerst on the Pier is in the middle of Hobart and in one of the main tourist areas on the waterfront. As such we are in quite a vibrant and busy environment. Whilst mostly a quiet location we do from time to time experience noise disturbances.

With regards to parking we do offer limited parking due to our location, however, guests can overflow to the pay and display public parking. Whilst there are charges during the day for public parking there are no charges from 6pm until 10.30am.

Again thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This has a beautiful view and lovely to stay in but there were stairs to climb to get to the bedroom and the toilet was downstairs which is bad of a night time. The kitchen was great as it had a stove,microwave and dishwasher.It was also close to shops and restaurants. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Julie H,

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Somerset on the Pier.

Our apartments are all loft style with about 15 stairs. The sleeping areas are upstairs in all apartments and our one bedrooms have the bathroom downstairs. Our larger family/two bedroom apartments do have a bathroom upstairs and one downstairs.

For future reference if you are after an apartment without stairs please consider our Somerset on Salamanca property which has single level apartments and an unbeatable location on Salamanca Place.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews