We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“location,location,location”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in what was supposed to be a two bedroom/2 bathroom appartment.The bedrooms are loft style accommidation.One room was fully enclosed with a queen bed & the second one was an open plane with 2 single beds & no privacy. Better suited for a single family with 2 kids not two couples.We did however have 2 bathrooms.The small ensuit upstairs and a larger one downstairs that included a washing machine & dryer.The rest of the appartment was well appointed including a kitchen & good sized living area.The view from our room was excellent & the location was right in the middle of eveything including a 3 minute walk to Salamanca Markets.Due to the location there was some street noise but this did not cause any problem.Parking is a bit of a problem.We did manage to get a spot everyt time however we did have to walk 100 meters to the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHOOTERGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear SHOOTERGAZ,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier.

Apologies you experienced some traffic noise during your stay. Somerst on the Pier is in the middle of Hobart and in one of the main tourist areas on the waterfront. As such we are in quite a vibrant and busy environment. Whilst mostly a quiet location we do from time to time experience noise disturbances.

With regards to parking we do offer limited parking due to our location, however, guests can overflow to the pay and display public parking. Whilst there are charges during the day for public parking there are no charges from 6pm until 10.30am.

Again thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    361
    142
    66
    32
See reviews for
169
428
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This has a beautiful view and lovely to stay in but there were stairs to climb to get to the bedroom and the toilet was downstairs which is bad of a night time. The kitchen was great as it had a stove,microwave and dishwasher.It was also close to shops and restaurants. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Julie H,

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Somerset on the Pier.

Our apartments are all loft style with about 15 stairs. The sleeping areas are upstairs in all apartments and our one bedrooms have the bathroom downstairs. Our larger family/two bedroom apartments do have a bathroom upstairs and one downstairs.

For future reference if you are after an apartment without stairs please consider our Somerset on Salamanca property which has single level apartments and an unbeatable location on Salamanca Place.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was open plan (plenty of space for 2) with modern furniture, a kitchenette that seemed well equipped, bathroom clean and with a washing machine and dryer.
The bedroom was loft style and about 14 - 15 stairs to get to (no view from the bed), bed comfortable and the linen good quality.

The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is just one floor above a few restaurants/cafe/bars and we were not affected by the noise on the Thursday night, however on Friday night it did get louder and the bar was open to around midnight and that would be the only negative about this hotel. If you don't mind the bar noise then this is fantastic place to stay.

It's approximately a 5 min flat walk to Salamanca Place with all it's restaurants, cafe's and bars and the Salamanca market on a Saturday.

The walk to the Mona ferry is 2 minutes away.

Will stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not directly above the Bar/restaurant/cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear CDs4,

Thanks very much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier!

Somerset on the PIer is in one of the main tourist areas of Hobart and the building has 4 restaurants/bars in it and a conference center. Whilst it is generally a quiet location from time to time there can be a bit more atmosphere around the waterfront.

We are also very lucky to be a short walk from the MONA ferry with MONA being one of the hottest attractions in Tasmania at the moment!

We look forward to seeing you again.

KInd Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Views of water, clean rooms, friendly staff, well designed. We were checking in at the end of a holiday to get ready for the flight out the next day. It served our needs well. Took the recommendation from locals. Well done guys.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Professor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Professor1950,

Thanks very much for the feedback.

We were glad that the recommendation from the "locals" was exactly what you were looking for.

We are very fortunate to have such a great product, location and team at Somerset on the Pier.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in these apartments for a hockey tournament as a group. Check-in was easy and the staff were friendly and accomodating. The 2 bedroom family rooms were excellent - roomy and well designed with all the amenities including washer and dryer in the bathroom. The rooms have beautiful views across the harbour, which delighted us for the entire stay.

Location-wise, the apartments are an easy stroll to breakfast in the plaza at Salamanca, or downstairs to Tavern 42 Degrees North for breakfast on the waterfront. There are many walk-able dining options around the hotel, but you could cook your own meal just as easily. Hobart has a branch of Woolworths within walking distance, or you could source your produce from the Salamanca markets!

Room Tip: The rooms above the tavern are very noisy at night, try for rooms closer to the reception area which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kenley52,

Thanks very much for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is a complete find! Glorious location with views to die for in an exceptionally well appointed apartment that has soooooo much space you could actually move in!

A kitchen, lounge, bathroom and mezzanine bedroom are completed with a small balcony which overlooks the beautiful marina.

I cannot say enough about this place. The staff are very friendly and the service second to none.

It exceeded my expectations in every way!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentfarmerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear kentfarmerKent

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

We are very proud of our product, customer service and location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our apartment with water views was well appointed, spacious and very clean. The loft bedroom was a little warm at first but it cooled down after turning on the fan in time for a very comfortable night's sleep. We had a small balcony overlooking the water with a small table and two chairs. It provided a great way to start the day with the sun shining while we ate our muesli. The location was perfect - a short walk to Salamanca Market on Saturday morning, lots of excellent restaurants within a short walk as well as the centre of town only a few blocks away. I also noticed that the shower screen leaked water onto the floor but this was a minor inconvenience. It was wonderful to have lots of bathroom cupboard and bench space and a huge mirror with excellent lighting which this apartment had. All in all a very positive experience and we would definitely stay there again as it ticked all the important boxes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Selma512

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We are very fortunate to have such wonderful apartments with amazing views. We are glad you made use of the balcony and when booking again remember to book a premier apartment to ensure you receive a balcony. They are a little more expensive but certianly well worth it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing