We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Quest Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Savoy
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was hard to find accommodation in Hobart in the first few days of Jan with the Sydney to Hobart and Taste of Tasmania food festival on, however I managed to find these apartments for my two night stay. Whilst not in the main section of the hotel, it is just across the mall, and only 100m from the water. It was exceptionally clean and had all the facilites of a hotel, just minus room service or movies, but with so much going on in Hobart, I was not in my room much at all to need these things. There is a large kitchen and a dining table and despite my room facing the main street and the bus stop, was very quiet. The staff were exceptionally friendly when I checked in, and when I needed a spare key. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurenD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear LaurenD80
Just a quick note to say thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.
We would have to agree that the rooms are very quiet, clean and comfortable! I am pleased to hear the great comments on our staff and that you would recommend to others.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Sally Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 387 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed in 1 bed apt across in Annex. Very clean, great location and so central. Staff were amazing as had to find accom over Christmas with yacht race and Taste going on. Extremely helpful and upgraded last night for us in suite. Was an emotional time with family death and Sally the reception manager was just fabulous. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: One bed apart very handy just remember no lift to bags up the stairs. Staff did advise this when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Gill D
Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your experience with us at Quest Savoy. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was amazing. We get a great deal of satisfaction looking after all our guests.
It can be difficult to find last minute accommodation over these busy periods, we are glad to have been of assistance albeit through a difficult and emotional time.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warm Regards,
Sally Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Perfectly located walking distance to all Hobart has to offer. Suites are generously sized and comfortable. Charging for wifi is over the top....enjoy this rip-off while you can guys, otherwise recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDTaylor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear CDTaylor80
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Quest Savoy. The hotel is in an excellent location for visitors to Hobart....walking distance to the market and waterfront attractions.
The wifi is a service we provide for our guests at a low price, however we are offering more packages which includes wifi access free of charge.
Please contact us directly if returning to Hobart and we will look after you as a return guest with some extra inclusions such as wifi.
Kind Regards,
Sally Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed "across the road" in the Annex in the 1-bedroom apartment.

This room was not located in the main building (which is clearly nicer and higher quality accommodation).
The location is fantastic right in the heart of the city, only a 50metre walk to the mall.

The rooms were big enough, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The entrance to the annex building is a door in front of a busy bus stop and parking is a couple of blocks away. The window of our rooms overlooked a stairwell which blocked out alot of the natural light making the rooms a bit dingy.

If you are after luxury accommodation pay a few $$ more on the rooms in the main quest building. However if you are just after budget accommodation that is right in the middle of the city this is a great way to go.

Room Tip: If you want a cheap place to sleep in the middle of the city the ANNEX buget accommodation is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi Peter W
Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your stay with us, we do offer both Budget style and Luxury accommodation at Quest Savoy. Our rooms located in our Annex building are large rooms and offer inner city Budget style accommodation and we appreciate your positive comments as to what these budget rooms offer to the discerning guest.
Thank you for the comment about our friendly and helpful staff, we are happy to have assisted in making your stay enjoyable!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only 1 bed aptmt very drap and depressing had to lug our luggage up 2 flights stairs across the road, park two blocks down, too far away. Would preferred somewhere nicer for our last night in Hobart

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi SCfar
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with Quest Savoy in our budget accommodation. We do offer two standards of accommodation. Our budget style accommodation building offers spacious one bedroom and studio apartments which are situated in our annex building across the road from the main building. We attempt to be descriptive as possible on all third party sites about the standard of these rooms, and when we are direct selling. We would have been happy to upgrade you if we had had the availability, however I apologize if this option was not available to you.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I would like to recommend the Quest Savoy in Hobart. From the moment of checking in to the check out, my experience with this hotel was one of the best I have had (world class). The staff were professional yet very caring, the rooms and facilities of the highest standard and the location to Hobart city very central. Thanks to the staff for making my stay perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear KNduo
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we do aim to provide professional service and a legitimate care factor with all requirements of our guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team.
Thank you again for taking the time to post regarding your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

While the prices are cheap, so is the clientele. If you don't mind people slamming doors, or the hum of air conditioners, or loud conversations - go for it. Otherwise, you might consider paying a few dollars more to get a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustralienSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear AustralienSydney
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that your recent stay with us was disrupted by the goings on of other guests staying in the hotel. We are a small intimate hotel and would like to think we attract a certain standard of clientele. We pride ourselves on the service we provide, however our hands are tied ensuring all guests are respectful to others.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Savoy

Address: 38 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Savoy Hobart)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hobart
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $99 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Savoy Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Savoy Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing