We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff but noisy!!”
Review of Quest Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Savoy
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly staff but noisy!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

great location,clean and spacious rooms.but on the negative side there is a pub across the road which is frequented by students. We spent 2 nts and both the nights the pub was open past mid night till 2am. there was loud music playing. so we did not get sound sleep. the hotel has limited parking space. so we had to park the car on the street. there is free parking from 9pm-9am but after 9am it is quiet expensive. make sure you get a parking slot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaw2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good afternoon - We appreciate your time taken to write a review regarding your stay with us at Quest Savoy. We have recently addressed the street level noise by adding double glazing to some of the windows in the Studio Deluxe Apartments. We also have approached the appropriate governing bodies regarding street level noise from the Pedestrian crossing. We pride ourselves as attempting to provide a pleasurable stay at all times and will do our best for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    161
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
55
120
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff here were first class, nothing was a problem, The rooms were more than adequate in size comfort and cleanliness. The air condition was a little tricky, but once advised, all ok. We had to be catered for with a party of four, and this was not a problem ... All in all, a pleasant and friendly stay ............ Altho "the golf wasnt that good " LOL

Room Tip: Talk to any of the friendly staff, although one who we would highly recommend is "Vicki" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Savoy.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Moore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Quest Savoy serviced apartments on business over the last 3 months of 2012 and the staff there were fantastic. Nothing was a bother to them. Compared to other hotels in the heart of Hobart this place was quite reasonable. The location is right in the Heart of Hobart CBD and is close to the sensational fish restaurants and Salamanca

The building is old but the rooms are well maintained and very clean.

Room 303 has a bedroom with no window so it's dark and very quiet and every time I booked I was just automatically given this room!

Room Tip: Request an internal room for the best nights sleep. Or request a room on Elizabeth St
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Savoy.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Moore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Received a friendly welcome on arrival and was very happy with the spacious room I was provided with. For me the location was perfect, I had no issues with noise as mentioned by other reviewers, and enjoyed walking around central Hobart. I'm surprised at some of the poor reviews this hotel has recently received as I found it overall to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Savoy.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Moore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Whilst we were generally happy with our room, for the price we were paying we had expected a room with less noise levels. The clicking of the pedestrian lights both day and night are not activated by people using them, they're automatic as the lights change so it was all we could hear at night and it was very loud. We complained to reception who were very obliging (we got the impression it's been an issue before for other guests) and moved us into another room one level up. We could still hear the clicking, but not as bad. Whilst discussing it with the reception staff, they said they had spoken to Council about it but the loud clicking was a requirement for vision impaired pedestrians and therefore Council could/would not do anything about it. This we understand, but what are Quest doing to improve/rectify the situation within the rooms??? I.e. heavier curtains etc. On a positive note, a great location, very central and staff were helpful. Room very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for your recent feedback regarding the noise factor experienced from the street level in the central CBD. We acknowledge the points you have raised and have actioned these accordingly. We have recently approached the appropriate Governing bodies to have the pedestrian crossing adjusted together with some double glazing of the Studio Deluxe Apartments.
I am very pleased that we were able to offer a room move for you. We will always endeavour to rectify any issue that is presented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Quest after seeing a deal on Travel Zoo and thought why not. And were pleased overall with the room. The only thing that was not great was the TV. The movie channels were there, but the free to air was not great, only two stations and not Digital.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, November 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Savoy.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sally Moore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked through Booking.com.au, to travel to a family wedding staying 5 nights, paid in advance.
Room was okay but nothing like the online description. Good location if you are a pedestrian but very dissapointing room for more than $200 a night. Your room is not cleaned on Sunday (maybe that is a Tassie thing) put the robe in the bath with the towels for cleaning and it never came back.Toiletries provided are not replaced when used so treat them like gold. Free in room movies excited me until I tuned them in. They must still have a VHS machine and old tapes.
I genuinely hope they enjoyed my money because they will not see another cent from me.

Room Tip: rooms in other hotels are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalTasmania, Front Office Manager at Quest Savoy, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
First and foremost thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry your stay was not at a pleasurable one. It is disturbing to learn that you have left disappointed and despondent about the standard provided at Quest Savoy.

I am very sorry that the housekeeping standard of the apartment did not meet with your satisfaction. It is a Quest Policy not to disturb our guests on Sundays or Public Holidays. The items you have raised in your feedback have been passed onto our Housekeeping Department. We attempt to keep a high standard in all areas and apologise again that these standards were not met. We endeavour to address all technical and maintenance issues as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Savoy

Property: Quest Savoy
Address: 38 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Savoy Hobart)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hobart
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Savoy Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Savoy Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing