We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$317
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$357
$227
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woolmers Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$127
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Customs House Waterfront Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$110
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
105
72
12
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
72
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrooker highwayironing board and ironcontinental breakfastsmall problemshort driveclean roomshobart areaservice at receptionnice showerbasic amenitiesgreat place to stayunder coverexecutive roommain roadtea and coffeestayed two nightsmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 195 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

At the end of our Tasmanian holiday we booked for five nights.
The room was one of the refurbished suites and it was excellent. It would have to be one of the best value rooms in any Australian Capital city at $119 P.N.
Even though Glenorchy is about 5 kms from the Hobart CBD, it is a pretty quick trip in a car on the Brooker Highway, although I am not so sure how good public transport is in Hobart, as there are no suburban trains and buses may make the trip a little long.
A great feature is the free high speed wi fi, and clean rooms. The shower head was the best of any hotel I have stayed in Australia.
We did not eat in the restaurant as we had friends in Hobart and either went to their home our out to eat with them most days.
The one disappointment was that the room did not have a micro wave or toaster.
The car park was bit of a lottery to find other vehicles, especially tour coaches taking up the spaces.
Overall I would recommend it to others and return myself.

Room Tip: Request a room well away from the restaurant and highway. We had smells and noise due to our room being above the restaurant.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It was very pleasing to know that you were happy with your stay at our property. We take pride in our cleanliness and facilities, the staff and myself try to exceed the guests expectations and hope to see you again when next in Hobart.

Regards,
Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location only a short drive to the city the staff were friendly and helpful. The motel was clean and quiet, I feel this motel offers great value for money and we would stay here again if ever back in Hobart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

It was lovely meeting you on your recent stay and thank you so much for your kind words. We would love to see you again when back in Hobart and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards,
Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A surprise package for us, our first stay at a Motor Inn.
Wow what a refreshing warm experience, such a difference from the large Motels we usually choose.
Nothing against the larger Motels but their staff are trained to be super efficient and polite with just the required amount of emotion...
Not here, everyone has a genuine smile, and a happy helpful attitude, the staff are not all 21 year olds and their life experience is an asset.
We were surprised by the quality of the room, equal to the 5 star rooms of the larger Motels, pristine clean, king bed, generous sized room, beautifully furnished, free internet, NO road noise.
As my friend was unwell we ordered room service from their restaurant, another surprise, equal to the best restaurants in Hobart...
Another surprise, all this for half the price we usually pay for accommodation.
A surprise experience, you will not be disappointed ...
Jac and Tim

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Owner at Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for the very kind words you expressed in your review of our Motel. We very much try to make the guests stay a memorable and enjoyable one and treat every guest as we would like to be treated. We are very lucky our staff are nearly all long term and they enjoy their job and we enjoy them working for us. Again I am so pleased you enjoyed your staff and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is by far the best overall accommodation venue we have stayed at in Hobart.
Situated just a 6 minute drive from our family in Claremont, our room was perfect.
There was no road noise, and THE BALMORAL is located right on the Brooker Highway.
We parked right outside our door (Number 8) on the ground floor, and under cover!
We were upgraded to a king bed room, everything is lovely and modern, decent sized TV,
all the luxuries to make us feel at home. The staff are friendly and efficient, their Restaurant prices look tremendous, and we will try the Restaurant on our next stay!
Nothing was any trouble, staff were ready to assist in any way they could.
The latest shower system and walk in shower were perfect. .Well done at THE BALMORAL!!

Room Tip: Ground floor for sure, definitely quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sianjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting both of you and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hobart.
Regards,
Jean and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This may not be the newest motel in Hobart but it is one of the nicest places to stay. Being out at Glenorchy it is very quiet, all rooms have the usual TV, coffee and tea facilities (a nice little welcome biscuit as well) an ensuite with a great shower and plenty of water pressure which is a very nice bonus.

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights while we did some touring of the area. Most importantly we were there on Christmas Day (2013). The motel is clean and if you happen to notice something that is not as it should be, they'll fix it, immediately and I mean immediately.

The restaurant, while small is excellent a very intimate dining experience with superb hosts that are well in control of everything. Christmas dinner (lunch) was one of the best I have ever
had aside from my mothers cooking. The room was exquisitely decorated with Christmas decorations as well, I mention this because I wish to express just how much these people attend to detail.

Internet is freely available from the guests utility room and at a small charge, there is a washing machine and dryer with soap powder available for guests as well.

If you are looking for resort style accommodation this is not it but if you are looking for a comfortably clean stay with absolutely excellent meals then this motel is where you should be. You will enjoy your stay and it will not cost you the earth.

Room Tip: If you're touring then this is the place for you
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blujinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words you wrote in your review of your stay with us. We all (staff and management) work very hard to make the guest have best experience possible. Hopefully we will see you again in the future and our best wishes for 2014

Regards.
Jean and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews