We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not distinctive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The Woolstore is a decent apartment hotel on the edge of central downtown of Hobart. We were located in the newer section (floors 5 - 10) of the Woolstore. Our apartment consisted of one large room being a kitchen, dining, living and bedroom with an attached bathroom. The bathroom did not have a tub, only a shower. It did have a washer and dryer, a definite plus. Standard hotel toiletries were supplied however I would like to see the water pressure in the shower increased. I do not feel that clean after a wash in the mist produced by our shower.

We did not take advantage of the kitchen which is a shame as this would be one of the more significant reasons for staying at the Woolstore. I have not mentioned the balcony since there was nothing to see other than to check out the wedding partiers on Saturday night. You could also hear them in the hallway. The doors could use more sound insulation.

The staff were efficient but not particularly interesting; much like the view from the balcony. There is a bar and restaurant although we did not venture into them. Parking appeared sufficient and it definitely was easy to get in and out of with a car.

Overall a satisfactory hotel but not particularly distinctive in any respect for those staying in the newer section.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed with my partner at the Old Woolstore for 3 nights over Christmas and had a very comfortable stay. We were greeted pleasantly on arrival at the hotel on Christmas Eve and promptly advised of the services that would be available over the Christmas period e.g. room service on Christmas Day.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was clean and modern with full kitchen amenities. As well as digital tv channels there were plenty of current movies shown several times throughout the day. All in all we had a great Christmas Day just chillaxing in our apartment, cooking our own Christmas dinner in complete comfort!!
The location of the hotel is excellent, just a short stroll to the harbour and Battery Point and city shopping area.
The only thing we could find to criticise was the slightly cramped car park, although we were always able to find a space.
Would definitely come back to stay on our next trip to Hobart!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We found this a comfortable hotel with very friendly & helpful staff except when it came to damage to our car which was parked overnight in the hotel carpark. This hotel appears to have many wedding receptions with many intoxicated guests some arriving for the function already very obviously "under the weather". Our borrowed car was damaged by someone driving into or out of the adjacent part and didn't leave a phone number or registration. Even though the hotel has CCT cameras they were not able to give us information on who did the damage- $1,000.00 's worth. DO NOT PARK YOUR CAR IN THE HOTEL CARPARK!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed in a well appointed hotel room with a large comfortable bed and a nice clean bathroom for just one night. The reception staff were very congenial and helpful and it was no trouble to leave our baggage there after checking out in the morning and not leaving until the evening plane. Also I had left my cap on the counter when checking out in the morning and fortunately, later in the day, they were able to retrieve it from their lost property box - I was very pleased they took the time to look for it as it would be quite easy to say they hadn't seen it.
We felt it was good value as we got a great rate through Wotif but I wouldn't want to stay there for 3 or 4 nights because our hotel room, in the building across from reception, lacked any outlook - just a small window overlooking a parking area. The hotel itself didn't have much atmosphere. It was modern inside but its facade is of the Old Woolstore building from yesteryear and is obviously heritage listed so kind of lacks the excitement of a lovely entrance and spacious foyer, gardens, etc. etc.
For us the location was great, just one street back from the Hobart waterfront and within good walking distance of where the yachts docked at the conclusion of the big yacht races and best of all, close to Mures, a restaurant which serves the best oysters - yummmmmm -We were there for the last days of the Taste Festival which is a great event, not to be missed over the Xmas/New Year period. - plenty of food, wine and music. Salamanca Place is only a block or two away and is a place not to be missed for sidewalk dining and people watching.
By the way, the Airporter bus stops right outside the hotel so is very convenient to get to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Our stay here got off to a bad start when we arrived at 3pm and were told that our room was not yet ready. We were invited to sit in the large foyer and read magazines, but after a while we asked if they could hold on to our bags for us so we could explore the city, which they did.

The rooms are big, clean and relatively new, with comfortable beds. There is a small gym for your use, as well as cable TV in-room. 24 hours of very fast wireless internet can be purchased for $5. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel. Its location is relatively close to the (very scenic) docks, but not to anything else. Be prepared to walk.

We enjoyed our stay here overall, but for $220 a night, it is not good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Had one night going into Port Arthur and stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment (1016) at the back of the building. Even though in the centre of town it was lovely and quiet - king size beds and apartments beautiful. Came back for a 2nd night prior to flying home and requested an apartment at the front of the building even though on a main street it was lovely and quiet. Was upgraded to a spa room and was magical. At this stage the tennis was on in town and even though it was extremely busy with all the tennis players staying here as well - the staff was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Yes the bar fridge is very cheap compared to other hotels and so is the internet (very cheap at $5 for 24 hours) but I would not venture back to this hotel. I was travelling solo on this trip and had many bags but not once was a staff member prepared to provide assistance or even a trolley for the bags upon arrival. I must admit on the morning that I left that a senior staff member who only saw me in the hall way did offer to assist with the baggage.

The rooms are offered with a balcony and this is what appealed to me when booking. Unfortunately the balcony is tiny.

The beds have blankets (not doonahs) The pillows are most uncomfortable.

From memory the hotel website reflects a taxi ride of $35 from the airport when it is really $50 plus.

On a positive note the rooms are clean but I won't be returning.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $121 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing