We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay - it's not worth your while.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Firstly, if I could have given this hotel zero stars I would have done.

Secondly, my advice is unambiguous - don't stay at this hotel. At first glimpse the hotel looks fine. It's clean, just outside the centre of town and has everything you'd expect in a hotel for a long weekend away.

Sadly it's the staff that let it down. They are rude, ignorant and have absolutely no common courtesy. The details are somewhat irrelevant, however the staff (especially the front of house staff and management) managed to turn what should have been a very pleasant stay into a rather unpleaseant encounter. They should frankly be ashamed of their behaviour as this could be a good hotel. In review - DON'T STAY HERE. EVER.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank BYM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
There are newer reviews for The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

The reception staff were great.
We stayed in the older part but it was great value for money.
Very quiet at night
Would recommend any time

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertA1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Room clean and tidy and place is only a short walk to most key city land marks. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Slight issue with hot water (we had none for the 1st morning) but this was acknowledged by staff with complimentary drinks at bar that evening.
Breakfast was good.
Had tip that car parking was an issue however we stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and had no problems.
If you can use the stairs as the lift can be a bit slow at times.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Insect_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at a double room in the hotel part of the property. Our double queen bed room ($199 pn) looked quite clean & spacious with tea making facility, a small old-fashioned TV & fridge. The furnishings & décor looked dated and the room felt like a motel. It was quite dark in the room without internal lights, even during sunny days.

Car parking facility was available to guests with no extra charge. Although it was a large car park, we regularly found it difficult to find a free parking bay.

The hotel restaurant (Stockman Restaurant) was quite bare and dingy. It had a small window facing the road. We only ate there once for breakfast (to save time as we needed to leave early) at $17 pp and was not that good. It felt like a cafeteria – food and ambience. We have looked into the Restaurant from the roadside window some nights and the place looked just as dreadful as it was in the morning.

Hotel staff was generally friendly & helpful. Like most hotels in Hobart, this hotel was within easy walking distance to most shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed at the Old Woolstore for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and I must say I was pretty impressed. The staff at reception were helpful and courteous when checking in. Our room was not ready as we arrived earlier than check in time so they stored our bags whilst we wandered the city. Our apartment was great. It was spacious and clean. It had 2 bathrooms however only 1 had a shower. Shame as the second bathroom only consisted of toilet and faucet. We also had a laundry and the kitchen was fully equipped. Even though we stayed in an apartment the room was serviced every day which was fantastic. Due to the location of our room you could hear the cars at night however it didn't seem to bother me in the slightest. The location of the apartment was great as it was on a few mins away from the pier and about 15 mins away from the supermarket and the city centre. I would definitely return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed here for one night on a quick trip to Hobart, in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was in immaculate condition - spacious, very clean and nicely furnished. Both the bedrooms were very big, beds comfortable, bathroom and kitchen spotless. Broadband internet access is reliable and only cost $5.00 for 24 hours. There is a 50mb download limit however. I was particularly impressed that they provide complimentary passes to the Hobart Aquatic Centre - loved this!

We ordered room service for dinner and the food was very nice. I didn't feel it was overpriced. The service by both the reception staff and room service staff was excellent; they were very professional and welcoming.

Another big plus for the Old Woolstore is the location. Everything I needed was within a ten minute walk.

Can't really fault this one... it's not luxurious by any means but it is very comfortable and the customer service provided was above average. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Should have stayed in this hotel for a week but checked out after two nights. On arrival, no parking space because th hotel was hosting a kind of party. No help from staff to find a parking space, rather than just look around. First received a room, 201, which was smelling humidity and gave the impression it did not get fresh air for several weeks. In addition, room was very small and internet was not working. Got changed the same night to another room with a NZD 30 surcharge. No help to move the luggages at midnight. Other room was in the apprtement side and was better but internet was still not working. Breakfast was one of the worst I have seen for a long long time. finally, on check out day, was called by reception staff two times to remind me to check out at 11 am ... At the end of the day, a very unpleasant expenrience.

On a side note, after channeling the complain through our host company, we got a nice letter of excuse from the hotel and some nice gifts. At least, the customer care took its job seriously.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $121 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing