We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in 2 months!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Twice in 2 months!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

In July I stayed here with my family (2A, 2C) in a 2 bed apartment (which was fantastic). So when I had to return to Hobart this week for business, I decided to stay here again, rather than the usual places I stay.

This time I choose a hotel room which suited me perfectly.

Good points:
- king bed
- free wifi
- free parking
- nice toiletries
- a bath (it is hard to find places with a bath so this is a huge plus for me!)

Bad points:
- had to switch the aircon off as it was a little noisy (but I am a light sleeper)

Had dinner in the restaurant - yummy, and also breakfast which was pretty standard for a hotel (but at least the poached eggs were soft - something that it nearly impossible to find at a hotel buffet!)

Overall, great value for money and I'll be back if visiting Hobart again. Previously I have stayed at the Lenna and the Davey Zero.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require a bit of a walk to get to, so if you have lots of luggage use a trolley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi malomax,
Thanks for your review that you've posted after you two visits with us for leisure and business. Always nice to hear from return guests.
Our free Wi-Fi and parking are certainly handy for those like yourself that are travelling on business. Note your comments regarding the noise of the air-conditioning and have passed this onto management for review.
Great to know you enjoyed our Stockmans Restaurant during your stay, and good to know you would not hesitate to stay with us again.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    698
    174
    42
    12
See reviews for
269
635
70
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

First time staying in Hobart and the woolstore was close to everything we wanted to see. Very handy. The room we had was heading toward the dated side of things bit still very comfortable and spacious with a lovely view.
We asked a staff member (jessica I think) for a recommendation on where to go in a Friday night and her suggestions were spot on! We had an excellent evening but unfortunately didn't get to thank her. She is an asset.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lauramaree11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi lauramaree11,
Hope you had a memorable time as your first visit to Hobart, we’d love to have you back!
We certainly note your comments regarding the rooms and understand each guest have their own view. Glad you found the rooms spacious and enjoyed the outlook.
Our front of house staff are very knowledgeable regarding local places to enjoy a night out, I will be sure to pass these comments onto Jess!
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Walking distance to everything and yet quiet and peaceful, what more could you want? The hotel is beautiful and retains it's historical past. The breakfast was amazing and staff were fantastic . We booked through another website who accidently cancelled our booking. Because of the mess up, the staff upgraded us to a one bedroom apartment and couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozeahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Ozeahmed, thanks for the review of your recent stay with us. Great to see you gave us a 5/5 score and notably mentioned our central location and great accommodation.
It is also pleasing to know our staff were able to accommodate you after your slight mix-ups that occurred re websites. Hope you enjoyed the upgrade.
We’d love to see you back to spend more time exploring our lovely city.
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel! The room was large and comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. The shower was amazing, so good I took 2 daily! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in room. Climate control was quiet and worked well. The building is interesting with reminders of the history including a giant ball of wool and various old machinery. The location is very good with short walks to the harbor, the maritime museum, the botanical gardens, the Sat market, etc. I strongly recommend this hotel and would return if I ever go back to Hobart.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Val0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi 0Val0,
Wow what a fabulous review! Great to read you found the spacious room was comfortable.
Our friendly staff often get mentioned in reviews, and it is good to know you enjoyed the service and friendly hospitality they offered.
I have no doubt you had the chance to explore the lovely surrounds of Hobart from our central location. We would look forward to having you stay again should you return to Tasmania.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at The Old Woolstore Apartments and we cannot rate highly enough. From the booking to checking out the hotel staff are more than happy to assist you in any way; Roxanne in reservations is amazing and will ensure your room is exactly what you are after. Withing short walking distance to central Hobart and mostly easy walking (our 6 and 4 year old had no problems with the walking.)
We will be staying again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Shanz80,
Thanks for the review! Always lovely to read from guests that have stayed with us more than once. Roxanne is an asset to our team, I will certainly pass your comments on. I know how important it is to ensure your room is exactly what you expect after booking and I am glad you were not let down!
Glad your family enjoyed the stay and nice the little ones managed the short walks.
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Very spacious lounge and bedroom with super king bed separate toilet and bathroom, spotlessly clean and well equipped even provided milk and tea bags, the staff were friendly and helpful,free wifi, good location,what more could you want. It's not the nicest looking building from the outside but don't be put off, would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Elaine,
Thanks for the 5/5 review. It sounds like your stay with in a One Bedroom Apartment was perfect. Our facilities such as tea and coffee making facilities are well received by guests, lovely to know you found these a welcoming touch.
The heritage listed Old Woolstore is built from the original wool store facilities that once occupied the area. Glad you were surprised when you stepped into our venue and would not hesitate to stay again.
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good location, big room with tiny balcony, great staff made for an excellent long weekend's stay.
Vert comfortable bed, spotlessly clean with the added advantage of a well supplied kitchenette.
Used room service one night, the Bistro another. Good, well priced fare, excellent friendly service. The Baa Bar was very welcoming. Would recommend the Woolstore highly. Will stay again, next visit to Hobart.

Room Tip: Smokers would find the studio apartment with balcony extremely convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexG_3CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for the great review!
Pleasing to read you found the location, room and friendly staff made your long weekend in Hobart an enjoyable one.
Sounds like you enjoyed all facilities on offer and had the opportunity to see the surrounding area whilst here.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing