We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed recently on a trip to Hobart in a 2 bedroom room. Room was spacious and quite well layed out and everything was neat and tidy. Staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast had a good range of freshly prepared items. Location was great with only a short walk to some good restaurants and the waterfront. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greensnottyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights as we were attending a wedding in the area. The apartment we had was a good size and clean. The hotel is quite big so we had to walk for quite a while from reception to find our room, which was the only draw back.

Housekeeping did not come in the morning and we were back in the room in the afternoon so our room did not get cleaned. Not a massive problem as we were only there for two nights.

Reasonable location, short walk to the pier for restaurants, a bit further from Salamanca which is where all the nice restaurants and bars and shopping is. The shopping area near the hotel isn't great so worth the trip a bit further along the marina.

Friendly receptionist, stored our bags for us on our last day. I think probably overall it was a bit overpriced for what it is, considering we got a favourable rate because of the wedding I would have expected it to be slightly cheaper for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharChelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of March, just as it was getting a little cooler, we'd been in Alice Springs before this side trip and the change in temp. Culture and ambiance could hardly have been greater.
This hotel was a delight, easy to find, really welcoming and helpful.
When we decided we'd like to stay an extra night, they found us another, better room( the one we were in was excellent anyway).
The hotel is close enough to everything to be able to get out and about quite easily.
If you have dinner in the 'interesting' restaurant, be prepared to wait, 'cos although the food is super, it takes a while to arrive!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a great 3 night stay at The Old Woolstore. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The rooms are large and quiet, the beds are comfortable and the air-con worked well. It may not be the newest hotel but I was really impressed by the friendly staff and cleanliness of both public areas and guest rooms. The hotel is centrally located about a 5-10 minute walk to Salamanca place and market. It is also across the road from Gasworks where you can try some great Tassie wines. The bar in the hotel is friendly and fun, there is also complimentary parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: If you have older travellers ask for a room closer to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peteonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

2nd time staying here. I stayed in a smaller studio room this time (1st stay was in a 1 bedroom apartment - perfect) and have not complaints at all. Very quiet room, comfortable bed, clean, minibar, complimentary aromatherapy toiletries and on site restaurant/bar. Very central to the CBD and walking distance to most attractions.
If you are looking for a fantastic hotel in Hobart then this is it. Prices may seem a bit at times but they are always offering deals and packages and are worth the rates.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This apartment style hotel had everything we needed. Very large room with Queen Bed, well equipped kitchen, kitchen table, office desk, large bathroom with a laundry section that featured washer and dryer, a big flat screen TV with plenty of channels and plenty of parking spaces. Located near the docks and within comfortable walking distance of the CBD it was perfectly placed.
Good bar and restaurant. Service was friendly and efficient. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
FOR:
Clean and well maintained
Close to Hobart centre and docks
Fully self contained apartment
Plenty of space
AGAINST:
No negatives that we can think of.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taringha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a parents weekend off here and used a serviced apartment. It was very clean and well maintained throughout our stay. When we first got into our room, we noticed a light was flickering in the bathroom - this was changed straight away. Beds were very comfortable and the room was a great size. Staff were always friendly and helpful and were able to give us some recommendations on car hire etc. Overall - we were very satisfied with our stay here and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $103 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing