We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Branxton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really enjoyed staying in this historic hotel. The rooms are large, modern and well appointed with everything you need including a washing machine and dryer. Thoroughly enjoyed our time staying there. Location was great as you can walk everywhere. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of car parking available to at no charge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi heavenlyhunter,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

It sounds like you had a fabulous stay and we hope that your experience with us was matched by your experience in Hobart.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    681
    170
    39
    12
See reviews for
262
618
69
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Booked this hotel as a mystery hotel on Wotif... fantastic experience.... right from the time we checked in - the friendly welcoming and helpful staff at reception. It was our first time in Hobart and Kath at reception was so very helpful with her advise on going around. They have free wifi which was great - not many other hotels in Tasmania had free wifi. The rooms were neat and clean and had everything we needed.
The location is great and within walking distance of most Hobart landmarks like the Waterfront, Salamanca Place and Elizabeth street Mall....
Ample free parking and on the one occasion that it was full the hotel organized parking in a nearby car park...
A great experience... will be our first choice for any future trip to Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Chris D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We introduced free WIFI in December for all rooms and public areas and it has proven very popular. Great that you found our rooms clean and functional, enjoyed exploring Hobart from our convenient location and that parking was organized for you.

We always like to hear when visitors enjoy their trip to Hobart and our staff are only too happy to help make this happen.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Hobart.
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Omg....... Next time I will go further back in the reviews and see what others say! I paid $300 a night to have my bedroom rattle as the trucks zoomed past. The first time it happened I wasn't sure what it was - then it continued and continued and continued. The rooms are large but dull and dark with small windows ( to maintain heritage of old building) - never ever again, Chris

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room at back of hotel - or just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris60V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Chris60V,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

You are correct in saying that the facade of (part of) our property is heritage listed and approximately 120 of our rooms are built within. All but two of these rooms are set back from Macquarie Street which generally offers a quiet experience. I would be interested to hear from you at your discretion and we can have a look at which room you were in.

While of no comfort to you now, our friendly front desk staff are available 24-hours. I am not sure if you contacted them, but unless we were fully-booked we could have moved you to a different room?

Again, apologies that you had a poor sleep and please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au if you would like to discuss further.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Been to hobart several times, first time at the Old Woolstore and it is excellent. Spacious rooms, great service, clean and good location. Don't normally get room service but the pizza was probably one of the best i ever had, and the small bottle of wine in the room was fairly priced.

Definetly would stay there again, easily surpassed the grandiose front of the Chancellor, which disappointed me.

Got discounted rate aswell, excellent stay.

Room Tip: On sit parking and overflow available, check in at reception on arrival, theyll organise a parking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfcjb002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi jfcjb002,

Thank you for reviewing The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

Great to hear that you would stay with us again and our kitchen team appreciated your comments regarding room-service.

Regarding parking, yes, overflow parking is available free of charge at Market Place carpark which is only a few minutes walk away. Vouchers are available at Reception should both onsite carparks be full.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

As other reviewers have said these apartments are very clean and spacious and well located. We were very happy and comfortable here and found the staff very helpful. Yes, the traffic noise from our Macquarie St side apartment was noticeable, especially with the windows open. However,even though we are light sleepers, we slept well with windows closed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Lyndalew,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay wiht us.

Being so close to the CBD the noise of the city is unavoidable however we are very glad to know that you slept well.

Thank you especially for mentioning our helpful staff.

We trust that you enjoyed your time in Hobart and we hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanban
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the old Woolstore as a returning traveller and really noticed this time that it is in need of a makeover if it wishes to keep charging premium prices.
We had significant problems with our booking however when we stayed at the hotel all staff we pleasant. It is always very clean and the location is fabulous!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrspmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Mrspmagoo,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found our rooms very clean and our location fabulous. I am sorry to hear however that you found us a little tired. We work hard here at the hotel to maintain our standards and have ongoing programs for room upkeep and maintenance.

Please feel free to contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au to provide some more detail and we can take a closer look.

You have also mentioned problems with your booking which you may wish to expand on by email? Great to hear though that the staff were pleasant during your stay.

I trust that you enjoyed your time in Hobart and I look forward to hearing from you at your discretion.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for five nights in a two bedroom apartment which was fully equipped and very spacious. Although the apartment was starting to show its age just a bit, the beds were excellent, the water hot and the towels plentiful (my wife's personal bugbear). 15 minute walk to Salamanca but plenty to see along the way as well as other restaurants around the docks. Great location if you have a car as it is easy to get out of Hobart from here as well a 2 minute drive to the restaurants at North Hobart. Highly recommend it and we will be staying here again on our next visit to Hobart. We had room service and the food was delicious if a little pricey. All the staff with whom we dealt were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfThree O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi FamilyOfThree O,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel and wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Great that you took advantage of our location in terms of walking and driving and well done for checking-out the North Hobart restaurants! Please to hear that you found our room-service delicious and staff friendly as well.

You mention plentiful towels, excellent beds & hot water which form part of the basic offering of a hotel, and as such are an important part of our service delivery.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Woolstore next time you visit Hobart. Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing