We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and huge rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location and huge rooms!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip and it was great. The rooms are huge and have everything you could want! You could happily stay here for an extended period and be quite self sufficient. As a young father in would absolutely stay here with my wife and son as the rooms are huge ad the one bedroom apartment had a full kitchen, separate laundry, huge bathroom and a second toilet! Furthermore there were two couches and a large dining table. It was very well fitted out!
Although wifi was cheap ($5 per 24 hours) it was frustrating as it only worked on one device at once...

Overall, excellent and some fun character. I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    698
    174
    42
    12
See reviews for
269
635
70
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner & I recently spent 3 nights in a 1BR apartment. It proved a great choice, the location is excellent, close to Constitution Dock, Salamanca with heaps of restaurants etc a few minutes walk away. The apartment was great, had everything we needed for a short stay. We enjoyed the fine dining in the restaurant on our last evening. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Hobart.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great place to stay. Quiet rooms with excellent amenities and the rooms are really well set out. The queens suite was huge with modern décor. Friendly staff and close to Salamanca and the wharf area with heaps of restaurants and eateries close by. The rooms are very clean and well presented. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Picked this pace due to the history and location. A short stroll to the heart of Hobart even though that would be the case anywhere. Super fresh rooms, hallways and loved the small history and information regarding the woolshed through out the hotel. The biggest issue was the sheets as they were like stiff plastic and so loud with every movement during the night. Need some fabric softner maybe...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0dDyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at The Old Woolstore several times with groups of friends and would like to recommend it to anyone wanting a great place to stay in easy walking distance of all the attractions of Hobart. The rooms are great. A bonus for travellers being the kitchen and laundry facilities in every room. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillimur3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed at this location on more than one occasion and would give it a similarly high rating each time. Very pleasant experiences each time and close to Salamanca Wharf, CBD and central business locations. The beds are super comforatble, too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the moment we stepped inside this fantastic location we were delighted by the decor, which is very woolstore-centric as the name suggests. The staff at the counter were friendly and they had someone to help us with our bags to our rooms. It is a great location within minutes to mostly everything you want to see. The room we were in had a mezzanine floor with a single bed. It was also fully decked out with a kitchen and cooking utensils. Very comfortable and somewhere I would definately recommend someone to stay. The ONLY problem I had was the parking as it was hard to find a spot to park my hire car but that didn't matter in the long run.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotchip83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi hotchip83,

Thank-you for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding our free parking, we have main and overflow carparks and in the event that they are both full we offer complimentary access to Market Place Carpark which is only minutes walk from us. Market Place Carpark is a council-operated multi-storey facility and like us operates 24-hours.

We hope to see you at The Old Woolstore next time you travel over from Perth.

Thanks,
Woolstore Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing