We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful idea, great spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful idea, great spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night, we were expecting a stock standard experience but the hotel was excellent. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was massive, the whole place had a great atmosphere as well. Glass elevator, comfortable rooms, old machines from when it was a woolstore in the halls, spiral staircase. Absolute awesome!the beds and furniture is comfy (not fashionable but that's not what we came for) and the fully functional kitchen would have been ace if we stayed longer.

The staff were great, we were in a hurry to get to the ferry for mona and they gave us a map planned out for us which was lovely!

Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    677
    170
    38
    12
See reviews for
261
614
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was there for two nights, the place is enormous. My room was large, very very clean and the furniture was nice. I would stay there again if on business. Staff were friendly and efficieint. Internet was fast and rooms were quite so you can get great nights sleep. Loads of nice restaurants around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taste_Probar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My 9th floor suite (a little confusing as it was on the 4th floor) was spacious and tidy. All you could hope for and more.The view was good out to the sea but the balcony was so small as to be practically non existent.
The restaurant served a standard breakfast. No qualms there.
Location is one street back from the dock but don't let that put you off, Hobart is worthy of a walk and small enough to walk around with pleasure.
A great 4 night stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The old Woolstore Apartment Hotel is very conveniently located mere steps from the Franklin Wharf and a few minutes from the Salamanca Markets. Being on a one-way street, we did turn onto the thorofare too far up and so had to circle the block. The drive-in entrance is a bit confusing - but go for it. We pulled over just inside the parking area to check-in and no one bothered us.

We presented ourselves about 11:30am and were told our room wasn't ready. Not a worry, but it was annoying to be quoted the check-in rules by hotel desk. They did offer to let us know by text message if the room was ready early - which would have been impressive had it actually happened.

If you do drive, hotel parking is tight; especially during events. Turn right at the end of the entrance aisle for more parking - left takes you out of the lot. You can purportedly ask for parking assistance at the front desk but we didn't need to do that.

We got a one-bedroom accommodation in the level 5-10 building, and upon opening the door a completely Functional room was revealed. Very clean. Nothing extraneous. Nothing to ease the starkness. Also, not really a problem as we were there to sightsee. The bed was exceedingly comfortable, the bathroom large with plenty of towels under the sink. Bathroom amenities were nice. Sadly, the shower water pressure left a lot to be desired. Internet access was fee based, but at $5 for 24-hours (as of this writing) the best bargain I'd ever found in Australia. The standard free amenities for making tea & instant coffee were in the kitchen. Anything else, other than mentioned, you paid for.

The desk staff was friendly; and when I left a note letting them know that there were three minor repairs needed in the room, a service manager came up about rectifying them later in the day. Showing they do care about making your stay the best it can be.

Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Do we really have to pay for the tourist magazines on the coffee table too?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommy5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Tommy5061,

Thank-you for your feedback and we are glad to hear that you slept well at our hotel and enjoyed our convenient location.

We appreciate your comments about check-in and have discussed this with our Front Office staff. While check-in time is 2:00pm we are always happy to make a room available prior to then subject to availability.

Upkeep of the rooms are a priority for us and we are pleased to hear that your minor maintenance issues were dealt with promptly. Water pressure has been addressed with a recent upgrade to our delivery system.

During peak times parking is in high demand, but please be aware that we offer complimentary overflow parking at Market Place Carpark which is a 5-minute walk from us. Passes are available at Hotel Reception (24-hours).

We always look to offer great value and while our WIFI isn't free, it is amongst the cheapest as you have referenced. Unfortunately magazines are popular and attract a cost-equivalent charge which we have no margin on.

We hope to see you again here at The Old Woolstore.

Thanks,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose this hotel looking for proximity to the theatre and free parking. Both of course were provided, but much more also - the hotel,has great character, room was excellent (although I would have liked Earl Grey tea), and despite being very close to roads it was silent.
However very first impressions were extremely bad due to rude and unhelpful receptionist. I would go back, but if I received the same treatment in reception I would make a complaint.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great place to stay. Often when two girls travel together (or more) it's very hard to find appropriate accommodation but at the Old Woolstore we booked a room with two queen beds...hurray!!! Very comfortable rooms. Service at the check in desk was friendly and quick. They were also very helpful with any queries we had. The Hotel was also close to everything we needed or anywhere we wanted to go. The only complaint is the fee for the internet. I really think hotels in Australia need to get with the program and have free internet like so many places overseas. But overall, I would definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked a two bedroom apartment for our first visit to Hobart. Great sized apartment and great location as you can walk to Salamanca place in 5 mins. The hotel restaurant is pleasant and internet was $10 for 48hrs which is really reasonable but only can be used on one device at a time. Salamanca place has lovely little cafes and a lovely old fashioned bookshop called Hobart bookshop which is situated behind these cafes where the assistant gave great advice on children's books. The hotel is situated with great access to main rds so makes day trips to Port Arthur etc easy.Only criticism is we were on top floor and the floor seemed to carry noise below which is difficult when traveling with kids who want to play inside.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing