We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old Hobart friend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An old Hobart friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Old Woolstore has been my regular when in Hobart for the last three years, and it has become like an old friend. The hotel is comfortable, the staff friendly and efficient and everything works as it should. This is despite the hotel being very popular and the potential for booking misadventures to be correspondingly high, especially at busy times in town; things always tick along just as they should.

I like the location - an easy walk into town or the waterfront and, despite being on a main road, little of the ambient noise gets into the rooms. The rooms are large, spacious and comfortable and the kitchens are both a good size and well equipped. The living area is also a decent size, so you have room to spread out if you wish.

There's plenty of car parking available and easy access to and from the arterial routes. Even if you're late home on a busy day, there still seems to be a space just for you.

I've always enjoyed my time here; there's never been a bother on any front. I'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone who is spending time in Hobart.

Room Tip: Haven't had a dud anywhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review Road_Kiwi, it's lovely to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hobart.

Sincerely, your old friend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    666
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
255
606
66
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nordegg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our room was fine . Location is the best thing about Woolstore as it is close to Harbour, Salamanca and CBD.We would like to have stayed longer but made last minute reservations and hotel was full for the Wooden Boat Festival.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to Entrance. Some rooms can be a long way from where your car is parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuweid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review Studweid, sorry we couldn't accommodate you for the extra nights this time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Large, very clean modern rooms. The only thing historic is the facade and a small display near the gym. Very quiet and in a great location to access the waterfront district. Small gripes: perfunctory greeting on check in by sour-faced staff at front desk, hotel clearly not busy but given room on 2nd floor with less than delightful view to rear of building, no feel of the history of the place. Would be great to see prints of old photos used to decorate rooms, just to give it a bit more "character".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to get any chance of a decent view, ie not of the parking lot or bins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Joanne S,

We are currently working on improving our historic displays and information, however there are actually several pieces of machinery throughout the hotel as well as wool samples and many photos of the property and local area from times gone by. Our reception, restaurant and bar areas also feature a heritage-listed brick wall, circa 1850 and containing convict made bricks. Hopefully our upcoming project will make it easier for guests to enjoy the history our hotel offers.

With regards to check-in, I am sorry you found your greeting to be 'perfunctory'. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and the front desk team has been addressed.

Whilst the hotel may not have seemed busy, we were indeed full or very close for many nights throughout April. As we offer eight different room types and there are many different bedding configurations we are somewhat limited by which rooms we can allocate to which guests, but are of course more than happy to accommodate requests for higher floors wherever possible.

Thank you very much for your feedback Joanne, we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old Woolstore. We booked a studio apartment which was perfect for our needs. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the hotel overall was extremely quiet.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a great location, only a few minutes walk to the waterfront with many great restaurants very close by. Parking can be a little tricky but we always managed to find one. The only negative would be the small size of the balcony and limited view, however this is a very minor thing. We will return to The Old Woolstore next time we visit Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments Fiona W, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hobart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first stop on a week-long holiday in Tasmania. My husband and I stayed for four nights in a standard room for two adults. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay, and we were pleasantly surprised to discover that our booking also included complimentary breakfast for three of the mornings. While we didn't really have a view from our room, the hotel is situated close to town, making finding your way around relatively easy. The room included a decent television, washer and dryer, and kitchen facilities. We ordered room service twice and found it to be good value for money. My husband also took advantage of the free passes to the Aquatic Centre. It was relatively busy during our stay, and it was sometimes difficult to find a parking spot within the hotel's car park, although this was only a minor issue. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for your feedback lukeandlisa- come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I nervously booked a "mystery deal" on lastminute for our recent weekend away to Hobart. Turns out I had nothing to be nervous about - our mystery location ended up being The Old Wool Store, and it was perfect! We had a one bedroom apartment between three adults and there was more than enough room for everyone! Our apartment was spotless, it had a big bathroom complete with washer and dryer, and full kitchen facilities. Conveniently located - an easy walk to the market and many delicious seafood restaurants! I look forward to staying here again, hopefully in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Jessica, we hope you don't leave it too long to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed five nights and we will not look elsewhere when we return to Hobart. The location is great - just a short walk to CBE, waterfront, markets. The staff at the desk are helpful and courteous and the restaurant is good. We had a studio room with everything we needed, including washer and dryer. It was clean, air conditioned and spacious. The toiletries were a bonus. Parking is problematic and when the overflow fills up, you are directed to a multi-storey carpark a couple of blocks away. But overall, great value for money, comfortable and central. A great makeover of a woolshed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks SydneyHarriet, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. And of course we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Hobart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing