We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for the MoFO festival and it was great to be close to the action. Our 2br apartment was perfect for our group of 3 friends but the apartment's walls are paper thin and ventilation in the bathroom could have been better. Overall, clean but dated... But for the price, can't complain.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank jojopiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Jojopiz, glad you enjoyed the location and that the 2BD apartment was perfect for you and your friends. We are actually undertaking a refurbishment program now with kitchens and bathrooms the main focus. Hopefully you will return for Dark MOFO in June or again in Jaunary next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located in walking distance to Salamanca and the city, this offers a good restaurant and bar area for the evening.
With many local attractions within 10 mins from the hotel, lots of good restaurants, local shops are close by, with many gift and antiques as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your feedback Lee H - we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stopped by for a one night stay in early January having driven from Strahan. We were heading to the east coast and wanted to break up the drive. We were a party of 4,2 adults, 2 teenagers and this place suited our needs perfectly. We opted for the two room apartment which had a mezzanine floor above the lounge for the kids. It was quaint but fine.We had no problems parking but got in quite early.These apartments are perhaps a little bit dated but perfectly adequate and in a very interesting building. The position was just fantastic. A minute or two by foot to the docks, to an array of restaurants and a few minutes more to Salamanca and Battery Point. A very good base to explore Hobart on foot. Price seemed okay to me given there were 4 of us.
Mike, Melbourne,Vic

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for your review Mike T, we hope to see you and your famly back in Hobart again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel/apts. were nice, but nothing special. Some of the selling points is it has a washer/dryer, it is in a good location within walking distance to the harbour and the fun Salamanca district. The staff are very nice and helpful; when I checked in they said there was a charge for the 3rd person, when I showed them my reservation showing 3 people and the total price, they said the agency made a mistake. The women at the desk said she would have to check with her manager and she left us a note saying they would not charge us the additional fee. No arguments, to hassle, they just did the right thing---it was greatly appreciated. I would recommend this place if you want a no frills, basic accomodation, with all the aforementioned pluses with a good staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyrioInNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks for the review luckyriolnNV, I am pleased our location, staff and laundry facilities were appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment had many good points such as two lounges, good kitchen and a lovely king bed. It was clean and comfortable but on the other side I have stayed at much more modern establishments for the price of this apartment. In fact better apartments with a breakfast included. The worst thing was whilst the television had Foxtel etc the picture was atrocious and looked like snow on the top of Mt Wellington. I don't sit and watch TV but when I do watch the news etc I do like to see what I'm watching.
The staff were friendly and this place is very clean and professional so I'm not complaining. It is in a good location but if you wish to be near Salamanca Place you have a long walk ahead of you.

Room Tip: Have a look before unpacking your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Phil and Cathy,

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you found the apartment clean and comfortable. Please accept our apologies that you had issues with your television reception during your stay - this is certainly not usual. Occaisionally guests do 'adjust' settings inadvertantly but this is something which can be easily fixed by one of our team members; for future stays please feel free to contact reception 24/7 with any questions/issues and we will do our best to assist right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our last stop on a wonderful first trip to Tassie.

Based on the price, and the location (two streets away from the gorgeous Salamanca Bay), I was pretty happy with this hotel for one night. The free parking is also a bonus.

For those who can afford more, I would recommend looking elsewhere, as the rooms themselves are a bit tired.

That said however, the interior of the hotel is pretty interesting, we liked all the historical simulations around the lobby and hallways.

Also, being in the centre of the city, you still manage to get a great, quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We're pleased you enjoyed the location, free parking and history our hotel offered - and of course that you got a quiet, good night's sleep!

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program to lift the look and feel of our apartments, hopefully you will choose to stay with us again so you can provide your feedback on these changes when you next return to Hobart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great location but hotel was very disappointing. Chose it based on reviews of friendly helpful staff and lots of parking - found both to not be the case. Friendly staff must have been on holidays because the staff we encountered simply couldn't be bothered helping us at all. Parking OK if you get back early to ensure a spot. Restaurant extremely poor - nil service and poor quality of food. When we arrived at 4pm there was rubbish and dirty glass outside our room. Whole place looked neglected. After such a great trip around Tassie, this was a disappointing end. Over priced too - look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 746ballfamily746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear 746ballfamily746,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. If I could address each issue individually:

Staff - The first two weeks in January is perhaps the busiest time of the year for us but this is absolutely no excuse for unfriendly service. Please accept our sincere apologies. I would really appreciate further details of your experience so I can address your concerns with our team. If this is not too much trouble, I can be contacted on 03 6235 5355 (please ask for Kelly) or by email: k.luck@oldwoolstore.com.au.

Parking - Firstly, it's important to note we offer parking free of charge to all in-house guests. With 140 car spaces we have more onsite parking than any other CBD hotel, however we do not have enough spaces onsite if every room is occupied and each is travelling with a vehicle (which has never happened!) To combat this, we offer our guests parking vouchers to the near by Market Place Car Park at no charge. So even if both of our onsite car parks are full, our guests will always be able to enjoy complimentary parking.

Restaurant - again, if you would be kind enough to provide further information I can address with both our Food & Beverage Supervisor and Chef.

Glass outside room - Room Service operates 24 hours a day at The Old Woolstore and whilst regualr tray runs are conducted, we can not control when a guest will choose to place trays/empties in hallways once they are finished (I can only presume this was left by a neighbouring room).

746ballfamily746, I hope you will choose to contact me so we can improve on your experience for future guests.

Kind regards,
Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $99 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing