We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“handy ,clean,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
cairns
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“handy ,clean,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

great location a clean large room with great kitchen,stayed 1 night in this studio room , with small balcony . nice bathroom, comfy but queen sized bed only tv and mocie channels. mini bar.
close to bottle shop, hogs breath ,a nd 5 min walk to salamacca place city and waterfront, quiet.

  • Liked — quiet, cheap and kitchen
  • Disliked — lack of parking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    668
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
256
606
66
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed in a studio apartment for 2 nights; room was quiet and clean with a view of Mount Wellington. Everything worked including the washing machine and dryer. Great location with car parking available. Great rates with wotif.com.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank echidnatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

We booked a two, double bedroomed apartment for three nights paying Aus $205 per night. The apartment was large, comfortable,functional and cleaned daily. I made use of the washing machine whilst there and just phoned down to reception for a clothes airer (I didn't want to use the tumble drier even though one was provided).

We organised breakfasts for ourselves but did have one excellent evening meal in the restaurant.

The position of the apartments is brilliant. If you pick up a car at the airport they'll give you directions, you'll need these as the hotel is on a one way system. Parking is included in the price.

My only criticism would be to say that the apartments need a bit of colour, ours was painted light grey throughout. A strange choice. Apart from that I would say that the apartments have everything you would need.

I'd definitely stay here again

  • Liked — The apartment had everything you could possibly need.
  • Disliked — The grey walls
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights in Hobart visiting family over Christmas. Because of some health issues we decided to stay in a serviced apartment and chose the Old Woolstore Apartments via their own internet booking site. We had some special requirements so we called the hotel to confirm that the internet booking we were making would provide all out requirements, and where assured that it would.

We arrived 21 Dec and the drama started straight away.
The girl checking us in was looking at the computer and making all those faces that say “somethings not right”. She then admitted that there were a “few issues and it wouldn’t be long”.

We finally got our key and headed to our room. The room looked great but the items we requested when not there. I returned to reception to be informed that they didn’t have out room. After some arguing and explaining how I had called in advance they offered us a few rooms that where very sub standard compared to what we paid.

We finally got into a room that has the facilities but was not of the standard of the original room. There was no apology etc, and the reception staff where rude and uncaring.
The room itself was just ok.

The daily cleaning was rushed and not well done, but it was Christmas. Food in restaurant and room service was ridiculously over priced and uninspiring.

Location is fantastic and within easy walking distance of Waterfront and CBD. My wife has a mobility problem and still managed to walk to city and waterfront restaurants and bars.
We love Hobart but will be staying somewhere else next time

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

I booked the accomodation through their website & received pretty immediate response regarding the extra bed & certain requirements we have. As we were staying for 3 days, we're also given a special deal.

The apartment we had was clean & comfortable. The only downside is there is no view. However since it is so near to the docks, the convenient walk there just makes up for it. Also, would be good if they provide clothes rack for those who does some washing of laundry in the apartment.

  • Liked — Clean & convenient
  • Disliked — No view out of window
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

My wife and I made a 4 night credit card internet booking on the hotel website for a 2 bedroom loft apartment, and received immediate email confirmation.
When we arrived at the hotel after a long flight at 10 pm despite a confirmed booking on my credit card, our room had been occupied by somebody else and the only room they could offer us was a lousy basic room on the ground floor.
The 'couldn't care less' attitude of the check in clerk was appalling and she told us that this happened all the time as their website could not handle bookings very well, and it was too bad.
She told us that the rooms didn't have any views and they were quite spacious but basic.
We left and found a great room just round the corner for the same price and would never consider this hotel again.
There's a lot better on offer in Hobart on the harbour for the same price in my opinion.

  • Liked — Close to the City
  • Disliked — Did not honour our internet booking, bad attitude.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

This is quite a good spot - pretty good value. I paid $AUS142 for a corner room with a kitchenette and laundry/dryer. Breakfast is very good value $16.50 for the full greasy, and $9 for "continental". Room was ok. Internet connection was fantasic value and fast at $5 per day - but no ipass.

Location is excellent - close to CBD, and dock.

Only quibble a couple I asked for an early check-in on day of arrival, and we were told that they would "try but no guarantee". But when we arrived to check in we were told that "no - we don't allow any checkins before 2pm". Very very annoying - especially when most flights come into Hobart in the early morning.

Second - the room was a bit "tired" and old. TV was a bit small. But hey - do you want for this bargain price !

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pommie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing