We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$94
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$189
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$188
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$164
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$207
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Central Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$96
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Customs House Waterfront Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$128
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveler rating
660
763
187
43
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
763
187
43
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswool storegreat locationseparate toiletwasher and dryerfree parkingfull buffetfull kitchenconstitution dockstay there againshort walksalamanca placesalamanca marketsan easy walkrooms are largewharf areacentral hobartbuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although this accomm is looking a little tired, it is still a good stay in Hobart. We prefer the IXL apartments, which are about the same price but more spacious and modern, but only do a minimum 2 night stay. The rooms are large and beds comfortable and the location is great. The Woolstore has breakfast if you order the night before but don't seem to have a cafe or restaurant that opens for breakfast, which is a bit difficult when you arrive late as we did. But Jam Packed is a good place to go for breakfast, just across the road and the Grand Chancellor is right next door too. The check in service was a little grumpy but the checkout was friendly, and the reservations person was terrific.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk through the buildings and there is not much signage, so check if you are not able to walk far.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Hi Charlielibra,

Glad you found our rooms to be large, beds comfortable and location great!

There does however seem to be some confusion about our food and beverage service - we do infact have an onsite restaurant -STOCKMANS RESTAURANT- which is located on the ground floor, entry is via the double doors just to the right of our reception desk. Stockmans opens for buffet breakfast daily from 6.30-10am and a la carte dinner service from 6-9.30pm. Room service operates 24 hours and includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizza and snack options depending onthe time of day. Our Baaa Bar can be accessed via the restaurant or our foyer, a little further to the right along from the restaurant and is open from 4pm daily.

Sincere apologies that this was not explained upon arrival, we will follow up with reception staff and look forward to welcoming you to The Old Woolstore once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

No views of the sea, not in CBD, not in Salamanca, not next to restaurants etc but still in walking distance from all of these!

Nothing extraordinary about the studio apartment but quite functional with quick check in/check out and good servicing, it actually ends up as a pretty good place which is ideally located.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street - you only see the the back of Grand Chancellor. The ones at the back have views of the hills
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Hi Melblore and thanks for your review of our hotel.

I just wanted to clarify a couple of points:
- Whilst Hobart's CBD isn't particularly large, we are actually located within its boundary.
- Also we offer our own restaurant - Stockmans Restaurant, there are two restaurants just across the road from us, and several more within a couple of minutes' walk from the Hotel including some of Hobart's best seafod dining options along the waterfront (one block away).

With two buildings (one of which is a very unique shape), each of our rooms offer a different outlook, varying from city to mountain, docks, courtyard, rose garden and carpark. We do not sell our property based on the view from our rooms, however are happy to try and meet requests where possible.

We do hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are at the far end of Macquarie st and want somewhere that is functional, clean and comfortable then this is the place. Decent size rooms with small kitchen so easy to stay here for a couple of nights. Lacked any friendliness or people contact which was ok for business trip. Comfortable bed. Decent location. Nothing to co p,an about and nothing to sell the place,

Room Tip: We ended up with a bathroom suited for disabled person, not sure this is normal for the rooms, it was fine. Shower was pretty poor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seawall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

very frendly place, they were undergoing some renovations at the time of my stay and even the builders were friendly and helpfull to guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay! For the benefit of others, our ‘renovations’ refer to the installation of a new guest lift (in the historic brick building side of our property) which will feature a glass front and back allowing guests an internal view of the hotel and also out along Evans Street down towards the waterfront. This project is due for completion in early July and in the mean time all other hotel lifts are still in full operation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Old Woolstore for 3 nights in April 2012, just for a short getaway.

The hotel is clean and well laid out. Checkout was quick and easy and the front desk staff friendly. Parking is limited but we found a spot easily towards the rear of the carpark.

We had booked the Indulgence Package, which included a la carte breakfast for our stay and a complimentary bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit platter. Something definitely worth getting.

The room was large and well appointed – flat screen TV, another one in the bedroom, two comfortable lounges, well stocked kitchen, large bathroom with the all important shower with good water pressure, internal laundry and separate toilet. The only issue was the bed. We like a firm mattress but we found this one very hard indeed.

The hotel is located within an easy walk to both Constitution Dock (5 mins) and Salamanca Markets (10 – 15mins) with the Hobart CBD a short stroll away (approx 10mins)

We would recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney2for2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews