We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly designed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here twice for work. Its central, but the rooms are really cheaply desined and they could have dne so much better using the existing "old" charm of the warehouse. Be prpared to walk a long way from the car park to your room, that is, if you can get a parking spot.

Room Tip: Dont expect too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you found our hotel to be central but disappointed you did not like the design. The exterior of the historic building is heritage listed and therefore we are unable to alter this in any way – rather we have had to fit the apartments into the existing structure. Often the more quirkily shaped apartments and the unique layout of rooms are appreciated by our guests as they offer something different from a standard apartment block. We do understand however that this isn’t always to everyone’s liking- perhaps one of our Studio, 1BD or Executive Spa Apartments in our newer building would be better suited for future stays.

Parking is complimentary for all of our in-house guests, which is quite rare for CBD properties as I'm sure you can appreciate! Parking is either onsite (140 spaces) or at the nearby Market Place Car Park (you can collect a pass from reception at any time- to be presented upon exiting the car park in lieu of payment).

Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

My Old Woolstore Hotel experience was great. We stayed in a standard room. The room and the bathroom was very neat and clean. What I also liked about it is its big space and very comfortable bed. In addition, the bed had an electric blanket to keep you warm.
Also, the food that we ordered through room service and which was served promptly was very delicious.
Lastly, the staff were very friendly and nice. They let us have an early check-in around 12nn when rooms were availble asap.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Old Woolstores in a 1 bed apartment. Whilst not the most modern it was more than comfortable, clean as a whistle with fantastic heating. The hotel was not too busy, no long waits for the lifts, no noise whatsoever, everything worked perfectly. We even had dinner from room service both nights, it was great and didnt take long at all. The bed that we had was a King, with a huge mattress topper it was like sleeping on feathers it was the most beautiful bed I have ever slept in. The TV could be moved around to view from all areas of the apartment. The view of the mountain and the city backdrop was stunning. I thought the parking was great, no multi storey nightmare and first in best dressed so you werent forced to return to the same spot each time you parked. We were on the 10th floor. If I could change one thing it would be only the provision of an expresso machine in the restaurant/breakfast room. I notice there was only plunger coffee. Dont hesitate to book here!! Great hairdryer and toiletries also.

Room Tip: We chose a 1 bed apartment, and we overlooked the mountain. no street noise whatsoever and it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thanks for the review, we’re pleased you enjoyed our hotel! We do actually offer an automatic espresso machine as part of our breakfast buffet so guests can enjoy coffees and hot chocolates during breakfast service at the push of a button – this is included in both the Continental ($12.00) and Full Hot ($19) buffet breakfast options. A selection of teas and instant coffee is also available if preferred. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed at the Old Woolstores Apartment Hotel in Hobart for 3 weeks after relocating with work. I had a self contained one bedroom apartment away from the road side and in the newer part of the complex. A friend had previously stayed in the original section but didn't rate it highly. My apartment was comfortable, warm and had everything I needed. The staff were very helpful and I had one female housekeeping staff member named Jo who was so pleasant and cheerful and did an excellent job with my room.The only negative i experienced was that perhaps the gym could be upgraded and have more room and equipment and one night I had a noisy neighbour and could actually hear him snoring! When i mentioned it to front desk in passing they were wanting to move me, no trouble, just eager to make my stay pleasant. I can't comment on restaurants etc as I self catered. It is in an ideal location, Salamaca Markets a short walk away as is the harbour and restaurants and a short walk into the centre of the city and Woolworths for food shopping. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: In the new section and away from the road. Gets lovely afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. As a side note, our gym has been scheduled for a refurbishment and upgrade of equipment during the next six months. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms were nice, but car parking was a real pain in the butt, especially since the buildings are spread out with only a few entry points. Not fun lugging baggage around the building especially when the weather is bad.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Hi SimonQLD,

Glad you liked your room! Please accept our apologies that you found parking difficult. For future stays, the best option is to park in the 'five minute parking' zone outside of reception (enter through the main entrace off Macquarie Street - it's on the left), check-in -collecting your parking permit, take your bags to your room and then park your car.

The five minute zone leads to our main carpark, plus there is an overflow carpark which can be accessed through the rear of the main parking area via Creswell's row. In the event that both parking areas are full, our front office staff can issue complimentary parking vouchers for the 24-hour Market Place Car Park -around the corner in Market Place, approximately 200 metres from Reception.

Whilst we appreciate this is not always an ideal situation for our guests, we do make every effort to monitor onsite parking and ensure our guests do not have to pay for their parking whilst staying with us. We are also happy to assist with luggage, please feel free to ask our reception desk if required.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Mind you we were only here for one night, so I really cannot speak to the "long-term" aspects of staying here. For that you can checkout my review of the Meriton in Sydney on Kent, but I digress. We had been toodling around Tassie for a couple of days and were planning to fly out of Hobart the next day. We first tried the convention center across the street but they were full, and we are so glad that they were. We found the Woolstore much more to our taste. The rooms were very clean and modern, and while they lacked "pizzazz", they were certainly nice for hotel rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were very glad to find that they offered Internet service and had we needed it, they also had an airport shuttle. Situated in the heart of downtown and walking distance to the wharf, if we find ourselves in Tassie again (and I truly hope we do) we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thanks for your review- we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you make it back to Tassie soon – we’d love to look after you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom apartment for $202.00/night. The room was spacious and clean. Parking was free but not always easy to find. It is a 10 min walk to lots of good restaurants at Salamanca Place. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It's not a luxury hotel but it was more than adequate for our four night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thanks for your review Jaffa92!

For future stays, we have one main carpark (via the main entrance off Macquarie Street) plus a smaller overflow carpark which can be accessed through the rear of the main parking area via Creswell's row. In the event that both parking areas are full, our front office staff can issue complimentary parking vouchers for the 24-hour Market Place Car Park -around the corner in Market Place, approximately 200 metres from Reception. Whilst we appreciate this is not always an ideal situation for our guests, we do make every effort to monitor onsite parking and ensure our guests do not have to pay for their parking whilst staying with us.

We pride ourselves on our friendly service, spacious (clean!) accommodation, convenient location and affordable offerings- I am glad you found this to be the case and I do hope you will join us again soon at The Old Woolstore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $97 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing