We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel in central Hobart” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in central Hobart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. I thought it was very economically priced. It is handy for the tourist or business traveller, being a short and not too hilly walk to most parts of central Hobart including the waterfront. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant with my work colleague and it was quite nice - much nicer than I'd expected it to be actually.

The building is - as the name implies - partly a converted woolstore, and I think it's very interesting how they have left all sorts of wool equipment around the place.

The room was very spacious but fairly basic in terms of decoration.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    666
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
255
606
66
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Regular customers stay atleast
Once a month. Great hotel stockmans restaurant excellent!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaznGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here in April, reviewed then and said I would be happy to return. Well we did, after having three nights at Hotel Collins, on our return couldn't get into the Collins so went back to the Woolstore and on this trip were underwhelmed. This time everything looking a little tired. The room had two huge king beds, no aspect, rather gloomy and a noisy fridge. Bed comfortable, bathroom lacking sufficient counter space for toiletries, and wehad some difficulty finding parking, finally parking on the st, luckily weekend so no parking restrictions. Interesting the difference over 6 months, would describe as perfectly adequate but the Collins will give it some brisk competition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed in an Executive Studio Spa Apartment on floor number 10 in the new section of this hotel. It was very good, the only down side was the water pressure in the shower and bath was very low. I loved the spa bath and the washing machine and dryer was put to good use. There was a kitchen also but we didnt use it. The Woolstore is in a fantastic location, close to the CBD and waterfront. Parking can be an issue. We got there early in the day and had no problems securing a park, however, we later had to go out and only just managed to secure a park when we returned. We ordered room service pizza one night and it was great. Prompt delivery, hot and tasty. I would stay here again if the price was still good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlomeshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've stayed here several times this year, last night in a hotel studio style room, previously I have stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment a few times, and a 2 bedroom apartment once.

The apartments are great, large rooms, a good kitchenette etc. The hotel room is smaller and the one I was in had no kitchenette, just tea & coffee jug and a toaster.

We receive a good corporate rate here but next time I will ask for a 1 bedroom instead of a studio.

The Old Woolstore is easy walking distance to the city and almost across the road from the waterfront, so it's very convenient as a location. There is a convenience store just across the rad, next to the Hogs Breath Cafe.

Overall it's good value for money, not flash, but clean and really conveniently located.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the same building as Reception and the restaurant overlooking the carpark, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have just spent three nights at the Old Woolstore, and have been inspired to write a review based on my positive impressions of this accommodation. The one bedroom spa suite is huge - very spacious with every commodity one could need. Full kitchen, bath, laundry powder and milk all made my stay that much more enjoyable! The staff are so very friendly and helpful and want to assist in any way they can. The check in / check out is super efficient - you won't be there for more than five mintues as they have enough staff on all shifts to whip you in and out! Although not luxuriously appointed, the room and hotel had everything I needed during my stay (including quite a good hotel gym) and I was particularly impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail in the room servicing. Definitely highly recommended for a business trip stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Woolstore Apartment this past weekend. We stayed in a standard hotel room which was furnished with the essentials, including a dvd player and a mini kitchenette! The room itself was very modern, clean and comfortable, and the location was just perfect - nice stroll to the marina and Salamanca Place. Staff were polite and friendly, and the breakfast/dinner menu at Stockmans Restaurant were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nianee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing