We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and centrally located”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed with our 2 teenage children in a loft apartment. While furnished in a fairly basic fashion, the apartment was clean and well maintained. As it's in a converted warehouse the windows were quite small and while it is NEAR the waterfront, it's located behind another hotel so no chance of views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howzat_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    676
    170
    38
    12
See reviews for
260
614
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed there over Easter, there were 3 of us. Had a 2 bed room, 1.5 bathroom apartment, in the old section (stage 1). The room was disappointing as the view was a brick wall, on the ground floor, the bench top had holes in it and the room upstairs contained 3 children that ran around and created a lot of noise in our room that evening and at 4.30am the following morning. Because the contraction on these room is floor boards and plaster, not concrete. We could hear noise from the lifts and other was like living in a drum! We have all stayed there before and would stay there again, but not in stage 1 rooms (the actual wool shed bit).

Room Tip: Ask for a room, that is not in stage 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanr11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed in a hotel room in the Woolstore for the last night of our holiday in Tasmania, having driven from Strahan. I had stayed there some years ago and recalled its spacious, quiet rooms, though it is a bit of a walk to the heart of things. Our hotel room was consistent with the positive TripAdvisor reviews. The purpose of this review is to congratulate the staff on their response to a problem we had - being trapped in the lift about 8pm, on our way back to our room after dinner.
We were stuck for just over half an hour, which is never a pleasant experience. The emergency phone line in the lift was inoperative but luckily we had a mobile. When we were finally free, a letter of apology was sent to our room, with a nice bottle of Tasmanian wine. On request from my husband for a discount, the hotel refunded the full night's room charge, less the small Wotif fee. Promptly the next day, we had calls from the hotel and Wotif confirming the processing of the refund.
For us the experience proves the immense importance of good customer relations. Even if one feels inconvenienced and hardly done by as a result of something going wrong during a stay, if the staff acknowledge what has happened and do their best to set things right, it makes a world of difference as to how one feels about the place. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
961 reviews
405 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel was cheaper and nicer than the first hotel we stayed in Hobart, they didn’t have room and recommended this hotel. Spacious with 2 queen size beds, large closet space and color coordinated and well decorated. Good linens and towels. The room had a flat screen TV, refrigerator, toaster, wine glasses and coffee service, iron and ironing board. Mini bar was expensive and our lap top could not connect with the Wireless network which was reasonably price at $5.00 per 24 hours. Easy walk to Salamanca market.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff NSW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Spacious room, delicious late night meal in the restaurant, amiable helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassin-la-Demi-Lune, France
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at The Old Woolstore for the first time in January and I was very impressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially considering I left it to the last minute to book accomodation! The room i stayed in was immaculate and very well priced. I reccomend eating in the Stockmans Restaurant, I had the Bruny Island Oysters-superb! It was handy being so close to the city centre and I walked to most of my destinations. Over all a wonderful experience and a great way to start my Tasmanian trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

The Woolstore is a decent apartment hotel on the edge of central downtown of Hobart. We were located in the newer section (floors 5 - 10) of the Woolstore. Our apartment consisted of one large room being a kitchen, dining, living and bedroom with an attached bathroom. The bathroom did not have a tub, only a shower. It did have a washer and dryer, a definite plus. Standard hotel toiletries were supplied however I would like to see the water pressure in the shower increased. I do not feel that clean after a wash in the mist produced by our shower.

We did not take advantage of the kitchen which is a shame as this would be one of the more significant reasons for staying at the Woolstore. I have not mentioned the balcony since there was nothing to see other than to check out the wedding partiers on Saturday night. You could also hear them in the hallway. The doors could use more sound insulation.

The staff were efficient but not particularly interesting; much like the view from the balcony. There is a bar and restaurant although we did not venture into them. Parking appeared sufficient and it definitely was easy to get in and out of with a car.

Overall a satisfactory hotel but not particularly distinctive in any respect for those staying in the newer section.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing