We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to North Hobart, Elizabeth Street restaurants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to North Hobart, Elizabeth Street restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Rydges Hotel is a good 20 to 30 minutes walk to the city, but about 2 to 3 blocks away from North Hobarts' restaurant strip on Elizabeth Street. Here there are plenty of really good shops and restaurants. The hotel is very olde worlde, built in 1914 approx, the exterior has a likeness to Harry Potters boarding school, all red brick and topiary roses in the garden. We stayed in the Antique Room, which had large high ceilinged rooms, a bedroom/lounge, a kitchen with full stove and sink, and a large bathroom with a bath/shower. Complimentary robes for 2, and an antique bed with a canopy, antique cupboard and table and chairs, a small double lounge and chair, flat screen tv. The bed, being antique and made when people were shorter, I guess, was too short for a 6ft 2 in man but that was about the only drawback. The room was clean, immaculately made up and roomy. Staff helpful as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfortwoCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrqntTrvlrAustralia, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Thank you for your response. The hotel is situated very close to the "trendy" cafe and restaurant strip of North Hobart. We are glad you enjoyed our antique rooms and hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    237
    159
    83
    100
See reviews for
151
242
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

The hotel looks nice enough from out side and was a long way out of the city centre. It has all the amenities one expects form a 4 star.
The first thing i noticed was there was hardly any cars in the carpark and also not many guests in the hotel at all, the bar and restaurant were all empty even at breakfast time.
The hotel has a nice view of the oval , But a eerie vibe.
Beleive what you like , But at 440am i awake to what i thought was the sound of Kids playing in the room next door thumping a ball against the wall and laughing , And also a adult telling them to be quiet in an angry voice, I was sitting up in bed by this time and was about to open the door and aske the people next door to be quiet please , Then my bed started to shake violently i heard the door slam and it felt like a cat was crawling over my sheets , The sheets were crumpling over my legs but i couldent see anything moving. I really freaked out and got up and ran to the light switch , I switched on all the lights and took a shower cause i thought i might have been dreaming but i was well awake , I turned on the TV and Sat until it was light enough outside to go for a walk.
At 730 am after eating breakfast in the empty Buffet i checked out.
The experience freaked me right out!!!
The history of the hotel is pretty vague there is a breif mention of it being at one time or another a dormitory of some kind , But it think it was a school at some stage.
any ways i would not recommend this place to anyone as it scared the hell out of me , I got to the airport 3 hours early just to get away from the place. Freaky!!
They are giving away movie tickets so they can get guests to stay here , Maybe they know something is up , i didnt mention anything to the reception staff.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
24 Thank SDAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrqntTrvlrAustralia, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Thank you for your response and we certainly enjoy hearing traveller's experiences. Rydges Hobart is rich in history with buildings dating back to the early 1900's. The hotel now maintains several Heritage Listed buildings, some of which are available for guests who wish to enjoy the charm of yester-year.

Regards, Rydges Hobart General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

We booked our reservation over the internet through the entertainment card website. I also rang to confirm our booking, which was confirmed. The hotel charged my credit card three weeks prior to our arrival which I thought was a bit odd. Anyway, on arrival we were told that we had accidentally been booked in the month earlier, and as we didnt turn up, they charged us for the room. The day we had actually booked for wasnt entered correctly, and so we had no where to stay. I had the proof that it was their mistake, as it was printed out from my email. The receptionist spent over an hour trying to find us somehwere to stay but everwhere was booked out. In the end we drove an hour and a half out of hobart and and had to pay a fortune for accomodation elsewhere. Rydges refunded us the money they had previously charged us but were unable to offer us anything else for the inconvenience they caused us, the extra costs we suffered and the stress we indured. We are a family of two adults with 3yr old twins. At one stage I thought we would be sleeping in the car. I am disgusted that they cant even offer us free accommodation in their hotel at a later date as a courtesy apology. I would never recommend them to anyone.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank AdelaideSmartchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRydgesHobart, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, March 16, 2008
Thankyou for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Firstly I am very sorry that you feel that the team at Rydges Hobart did not provide you with a suitable out come. We do go out of our way to ensure that all guests are treated as a priority. We do sometimes get it wrong as was apparent with your booking on this occasion. I can fully understand your frustration with the situation as the City of Hobart was fully booked the weekend you were to be staying with us. I will be making phone contact with you personally in the next 24hours to personally appologise for the inconvience of having to stay with friends on your family holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

The motel is a bit out of Hobart. The front of house were very friendly and helpful however The hotel is a bit outdated being refurbished in 1989, but the brown of the tiles in the bathroom reminded me of the 1970's. A sign in the bathroom read that you could not have a shower with the door open as the fire alarm would be activated. The spa was not operational which was a bit disappointing. We got a good family deal where the "kids ate free" on wotif (same deal availble on the hotel website but when I tried to book though the website it didn't let me) which also included a buffet brekky. We took up the offer of the kids eating free for dinner in their restraunt, however, we were the only people eating there that Friday night.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skysabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRydgesHobart, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, March 16, 2008
Thankyou for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do really appreciate your comments as this assists us in putting a case foward to our owners to reinvest in the property interms of future major capital works. I am pleased to see you recieved value from our Kids Eat Free package this has proven very popular with families from feed back that we solicit. We did expierence so techinical issues in the last month with our booking site in terms of package loading which have since been over come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

I arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon which was perfect as it's on a bit of a hill away from the harbour and city and has a lovely view. The main building is historic (I think it used to be a school or something) which fit in with my concept of Tasmania as a quaint, historic location.

The dining room was very quiet, but the steak was cooked perfectly and the girl serving was friendly. There was a small bar with a fireplace and the service was good old-fashioned friendly, and the other guests struck up conversation - a bit like staying in a B&B really. To be honest it was quite a refreshing change from the standard large city hotel.

The room was larger than expected with a separate lounge and sleeping area. The bed was brilliant - looks like another hotel chain coming up with their own brand of bed but it was certainly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in.

Top marks from me Rydges Hobart.

  • Liked — The bed and the service
  • Disliked — Walking outside to get from main building to my room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRydgesHobart, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, October 7, 2007
Thankyou very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to recieve positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Hobart.
We do try very hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy a memorable stay in our Unique Hotel & that you enjoyed our services was also very encouraging to hear.
The team will be very excited to read your comments, as it is expierences like yours that make it all worthwile.

Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

First for the good stuff...this hotel is close to some great North Hobart resturants, has ample car parking, a nice walk to the city (20 mins), lovely views and, in our experience, friendly generally helpful staff (although they wanted to charge us an upgrade fee to move us to another room when we expressed dissappointment at our room's very poor condition and cleanliness) ....it also has major potential to be a lovely graceful hotel...subject to a very very significant refit and refurb.

On the bad side...we booked over the internet and, on arrival, felt that based on the very poor state of repair of our room, which was very run-down (marked & stained walls etc), dirty with very old appliances and very very dated (vintage not heritage) decor, we could certainly not recommend it to others (at least at the rates currently being charged). In our view the hotel was not of the quality advertised, and the value for money was bad. This is not a luxury hotel, if you want a romantic getaway it is definetley not recommended - it would suffice if you want a roof over your head for a night.

We moved to another location the following day - $50 night cheaper and literally at least twice the quality right in the heart of Hobart's beautiful Battery Point. I would recommend consulting the Hobart Tourist Office and asking them to book you into a privately run B & B - you'll get much better value and not feel like you are staying in poorly maintained 1970's era country motel.

  • Liked — Views, quiet location close to some nice resturants
  • Disliked — Very poor quality of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, April 16, 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to let us know about you impressions of the standard of the accomodation rooms at Rydges Hobart.

I would like to appologise for the areas that you found us wanting. I do fully understand your comments on the condition of the room and have shared these concerns with our Housekeeper and maintenance manager in a proactive enviroment. We do understant that our product is ageing but there is no excuse for offering a room that is substandard in terms of cleanliness.

We do understand what our clients expect from us intermsof consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems are in place to ensure that this is the case. The matter of effective communication is all that is required to ensure that this is the case in these areas to ensure that our standards are maintained.

as was apparent on you visit to Hobart we sometimes get it wrong but I can say with confidence that we are trying very hard to ensure that oversights and mistakes like this are the exception. This culture is well entrenched amongst our team and measured against the customer feedback we solicit.

I really appreciate your feedback as it has highlighted an area that needs immediate attention.

kind Regards
General Manager Rydges Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2006

20 min walk to city centre, over half hour walk to Salamanca. All downhill, so it's an uphill walk on the way back. About 30-40min from airport ($50 taxi ride) Staff were friendly and efficient, but the room itself was sorely lacking. Maybe because we booked a standard room...we found it was desperately in need of renovations. Room was deary, carpet was really old, tiles were cracked and had grime stuck in it. Big patch of mould growing on shower ceiling. Fridge wasn't thoroughly cleaned. Was quite a dissappointment coming from the Rydges hotel chain.

  • Liked — Lots of parking
  • Disliked — the accommodation, the spa area
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a car
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lock_yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, April 4, 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your valued comments via Tripadvisor and appologies for the tardiness of my responce to these comments. We at Rydges Hobart take our guest comments very seriously and where applicable share feedback with our team in a proactive enviroment enviroment to ensure a positive outcome for both guests and staff in the future. Whilst some of the items you have highlighted are beyond our immiediate control I can assure you that the state of repair of some of our accomodation rooms has been highlighted to our owners for concideration of rejouvination. We have completed a soft refurbishment of rooms 1 to 20 at the front of the hotel complex and will continue the process in time. We have recently installed the new Rydges Dream Bed a pillow top matteress in all our rooms to ensure a comfortable nights sleep.
We do understand what our clients expect from us , in terms of consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems and procedures are now in place to ensure this is the case in these areas to that our standards are maintained.
We really appreciated you feedback as it has highlighted issues that needed immediate attention that have now been addressed.
regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing