We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel needs a lot of work - paint, new furniture and some repairs. Starting to look very old. Expected a lot more from Rydges. The furniture such as the couch, chairs, oven and fridge have come from another century. The bedroom furniture was ok. Very old carpet and in need of replacing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 758 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nites, we originally were upgraded to one of their rooms in the manor, but I'd booked a superior king room, which was a bit more modern, plenty of room. Which wasn't a drama for the staff, they were very friendly. Cleaning needs to be improved, our beds were made each day but carpet never looked liked it been vacumed. I must admit furniture is a bit dated, but the beds are so comfortable. It didn't seem like a Rydges Hotel, but it was fine for what we needed. We found it very hard to find places to eat nite meals, everything closes so early, so ended up most nites eating at the Casino, which had lovely reasonable priced meals.

Room Tip: Superior king rooms are good we had a ground floor No18, which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phuketshinde63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stay here when on business in Hobart, the staff are always very helpful and attentive.There is plenty of off street parking, I have also used this venue for Product Launches, and Information Nights, the food has always been plenty ( plus a few extras), high quality, and variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgadsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is not the newest, most modern hotel however the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the beds more than make up for it. If you're looking for an all glass and stainless steel experience then you need to look elsewhere. However if you're looking for a place that has an old world charm, the warmth of wood grain and staff that are genuinely happy to see you then you really should give this one consideration. This is a bit out of the city centre (10 min by car) and it's better with car if you want to look around, however there's plenty of free parking on-site. There's also plenty room in the ... um, rooms. It's my preferred base for both business and holiday stays in Hobart.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Rydges recently for 1 night on business.

Being that this hotel carries the "Rydges"" name I was certainly expecting a lot better than what we got.

The rooms here are very out dated. Old grotty carpet, ugly wood panelling and distasteful furniture from the 1970's give these rooms a depressing and dingy feel. The TV had good selection of channels but the old uncomfortable couch made it difficult to enjoy watching the TV - which couldn't be seen from the bedroom.

The kitchen had a sign warning guests that the room attendants would not be responsible for washing up - which made me reluctant to touch any of the glasses or cutlery in the room.

The outside of this hotel seems OK. Some rooms have a good view of the oval next door and the city skyline, All i had was a view of the shrubs outside my window and the people walking past my bedroom. I also had no power when I woke up the next morning - I alerted reception who told me it was going to be about 20 minutes until maintenance arrived to look at it. They did seem to fix the problem soon after though.

This hotel is located a little out of the CBD, There is a strip of Cafes and restaurants about a 10-15 minute walk away in Elizabeth st.

I suspect that there are much better accommodation options available in Hobart, I would not stay here again, and before staying in any other "Rydges" hotels I will make sure I do a bit more research in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozbroady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends and shared a room with another couple. It was comfortable with the best bed I have ever slept in! However, the place could use an upgrade, with the grout blackened and grass growing in the gutters.
Also, the two different rooms didnt have doors so the only privacy you could get was in the bathroom. The tv was in one of the bedrooms so if you wanted to watch the tv it had to be all right with the people staying in that room.
But overal, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalTravellerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed here twice this year. Manor room both times, first time was on second floor, room had a queen bed and a queen murphy bed. kitchenette with full stove. second stay was ground floor no full stove just microwave which is the case with the ground floor manor rooms. Website says use of murphy bed is extra $ but they don't charge extra at this time (2013). Basically the rooms are dated but clean. There is a mini bar. I ask for its removal before arrival because it takes up too much fridge space and I have to keep telling the kids no.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#24 of 47 in Hobart
837 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#19 of 47 in Hobart
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#18 of 47 in Hobart
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $97 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing