We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty old rydges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty old rydges”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel could be so much more. The building is old and quite nice. However the room I was given initially was filthy. Dirty stained furniture. Filthy sticky carpets and floor, kitchen cupboards grubby, I could go on. I complained and was provided with a room in the main building. Not much better! Stayed one night and cancelled the rest of my stay -booked another cleaner hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    243
    160
    84
    103
See reviews for
155
247
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Our room was huge--bedroom, large bathroom, and sitting room. It is in a newer building and should have an elevator.
The reception area is in a separate building, obviously much older than the building that housed our room. We could understand that no elevator would exist there, but the lack of an elevator in the newer buildings is really short-sighted. Thank heavens for helpful staff!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We only payed $115- per night each for two rooms for three nights. The furniture was stained and dirty, when I walked into the bathroom on bare feet I left dirty footprints on the tile floor, the dirt came from the carpet. The bathroom tiles were cracked and grubby. Luckily we spent very little time in the room because it was not comfortable due to the general uncleanliness. We left our towels on the floor to be replaced and they were folded up and left on the bathroom counter. We were two couples traveling together and the minibar in the second room was an issue, we had to ask twice to have it replenished and when we first used it the spring water had been used and refilled with tap water. Apart from all the negatives the bed in room one was comfortable and the room quiet. The second room had a high ceiling with no air-conditioning or screens so it became very hot at night. This was the cheapest room we stayed in during our week in Tasmania but by far the worst. I could not recommend this hotel and would avoid it in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a single woman travelling, I was surprised to be placed in a twin room with single beds. This wasn't the worst of it though - the beds were in a separate room from the television, the 'TV room' has no couch (just two armchairs), and the whole room was very old and tired. The final issue was that the bar fridge was unbelievably noisy, and I actually had to smother it in 3 blankets to get some sleep. I would have changed rooms however I didn't arrive until nearly midnight and was exhausted. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon check in we were really happy and surprised to get an upgrade. The hotel has plenty of parking and the building is very old and beautiful. However the place needs a serious refurbishment. The old fridge and oven has seen better days and the furniture in the kitchen is very old and cheap. Bed very lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehaylinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is old and charming but a bit shabby. We were disappointed with the darkness due to wood panelling and the small bedroom. The beds were very comfortable. There was shoddy service, with no handtowel and soap, notepaper not replaced. We did, however, end up enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

first impression pulling in to the drive was wow. But on seeing our room / maisonette it felt like a flat on a council estate back home. Room was so old and dowdy and the furniture looked looked it had come from.auction or an old peoples home. NO air conditioning and was probably a nice hotel in the 1960s. staff were ok

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank predicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing