We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Nearby Hotels
$186
$144
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$94
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge on Elizabeth(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$103
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$154
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$160
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$173
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$144
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$317
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
136
283
172
86
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
283
172
86
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfootball ovalelizabeth streetold buildingsitting roomquiet locationold world charmold styleshort drivelarge bathroombed was very comfortablecity centrebreakfast was includedhire carfree parkingmicrowavemanor
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 786 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Rydges Manor in early January 2013 when Hobart (and Rydges) was booked out . there is a main and presumably original Manor house with reception , the large restaurant , bar and lounge and meeting rooms and some accommodation
Additional 2 strorey wings have been added and we had a large suite comprisng bedrrom on entrance , newly furbrished bathroom and comfortable sitting room with rather tired furnishings.A "semi-kitchen" area includes sink, small microwave and crockery for 3.
There was some noise from the unit above. TV reception was variable but air con worked .

The restaurant at this Hotel is praised locally and dinner was excellent and well priced and breakfast (not included in our rate) allowed flexibility between full, continental and a la carte.There is a modest sized pool and small gym. Loads of free parking a plus compared to down town .

Rydges has disitant views over the city to water and hills which is very pretty at night

The negative for us was the 2.2 km uphill walk from the city with very limited bus service but taxis were readily available at $10 per trip, Good restaurants and cafes on Elizabeth Street are close Yes the Hotel is dated but that can also be described as traditional and personable in contrast to the sterility of some chain hotels. The staff were friendly and coped with the extremely busy holiday traffic

Room Tip: Perhaps an upstairs room would avoid any overhead noisefrom the room overhead
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. Our Executive Chef takes great pride in his work and appreciates your comments regarding your restaurant experience. As you mentioned we are not right in the city centre but is a light downhill stroll gets you into town pretty quickly, plus we have more than ample parking available for all types of vehicles. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back the Rydges Hobart in the near future.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Rydges two nights ago - first time in a long while, we had been told that it had undergone a refurbishment. Still the same; tired and dated and grubby.
No aircon, good opening windows but no screens so we spent the night sweltering.
Not cheap either - $169 for the two of us - I stay in Hobart regularly and I know this is a high rate for a double. I tried to use my Rydges Priority Member card but was told that only applied if you booked on line. Coincidentally, the online was cheaper anyway so I got stung twice.
I asked about the air con and was told that are in the superior rooms only.
I gave it another go but wouldn't bother again. Recommend to save your energy and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Being a Priority Guest Rewards member you are right in saying that the best available rate is online on the Rydges website for our Priority Guest Rewards members. As you mentioned the air conditioners are in the superior rooms only, therefore if a different category has been booked it would not have air-conditioning, unfortunately due to the hotel running high occupancy over that period we were unable to offer you a superior room, maybe on your next visit.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arriving on the hottest day in Hobart's history to discover there was no aircon wasn't the introduction we had hoped for but leaving that aside, our Manor King room was a good size and meant that our daughter had a comfortable pull down queen bed. Decor is very dated and much of the room was looking a bit tired with the bathroom definitely needing updating.

We didn't eat in the restaurant because there are plenty of much better (and cheaper) options just a few minutes away in the city (Garagistes - great coffee and Spanish Eggs)

Overall, the rates are pretty reasonable even if it's not a 5 star experience

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Travelbesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. You are right in saying that our Manor King rooms are a good size and can cater up to 4 people. It is a shame that you did not dine in the Manor restaurant as I think you would be pleasantly surprised, with our local Executive Chef using local produce and the RISE at Rydges concept for breakfast. Hopefully on your next visit you will pop in for a bite, look forward to seeing you then.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spend 2 or 3 nights in Hobart between Christmas and New Year every year now to enjoy the Taste Festival and just generally enjoy what Hobart has to offer that time of year. We have chosen Rydges as our accommodation as we find it is great value and the Manor Twin or King Rooms are perfect for us a family of four. These rooms consist of a bedroom which our girls sleep in and a living room with a pull down queen bed for us.

I have to admit that the rooms are somewhat dated and not always in perfect condition, but what can you expect for the excellent rates. The place is always clean, and we just like the feel of the place. However we did have a bit of an issue with the mattress on the pull down bed, it was a bit past it's use by date. Still had a good sleep though.

I can't understand people saying this place is overpriced. We have already booked for next year, 3 nights for a total of $411 for 4 people with buffet breakfast every day, and that includes new years eve. Other places charge astronomical fees on new years!

While the position requires driving to the city and the docks, it only takes a couple of minutes. And there is always parking available, unlike some places near the docks.

The staff are always friendly and helpful. On one stay when there was a problem with our booking and a bit of a delay, they were extremely apologetic and gave all 4 of us free drinks in the lounge bar while we waited.

This is our default place to stay every time we come to Hobart, and no doubt will continue to be for a while yet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

I must say you have chosen one of the best times of year to visit Hobart with the taste festival on and the warmer weather, Hobart is buzzing. I personally thank you for choosing to stay with us and for returning this time at the end of the year. It looks like you have booked our stay a minimum 3 nights special and got in at a fantastic rate. I appreciate the positive recognition of the staff and I will be sure to share the feedback with them. Let’s just hope that sunshine sticks around for a bit longer yet... looking forwards to welcoming you back soon.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location yet only a short drive back to Hobart harbour. The bed was super comfortable and while some of the decor is dated, we really enoyed the homely atmosphere. We also enjoyed a great steak at the Hotel restaurant, where the staff were really personable.This isn't a 5 star property yet we enjoyed our night here better than our previous accommodation. Elizabeth Street restaurant strip is just around the corner too.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms looking across the playing field next door.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews