We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Puzzling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Greenbank Logan QLD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Puzzling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Not sure if this was a good hotel once and is now sliding down the star scale, or a bad hotel making an effort. We were told that wines we ordered for dinner, weren't available because," it's the end of the month " I think I'm right in saying that there were only 3 wines off the wine list that could be had. The spirit choice was also extremely limited. The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. The 2 room suite we had was spacious and comfortable. The cleaners haven't yet learned to clean behind doors and seems they need 2 days after complaints, to rectify this. A faulty internet connection lead was promised to be renewed the following morning. It was never renewed during the time we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgo219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
I would like to think that we are a hotel trying to make improvements to achieve and exceed our guests expectations. The chef will be delighted to hear that you loved the food but am disappointed to read that the beverage selection was not up to our normal standard, something I will definately rectify immediately.

I will speak with the housekeeping and maintenance teams as well at our next morning meeting and ensure the items you speok about wil be attended to.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future so you can see for yourself the ongoing efforts we are making to raise the standards of the hotel.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    237
    160
    83
    101
See reviews for
152
242
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

nice location in north hobart, plenty of off street parking and comfortable accom.
we stayed in this historic building, with queen bedroom, sep lounge, sep kitchen with full stove, sep bathroom with bath.
plenty of space, and a good online price for this style of accom, we also had breakfast cooked to order, very nice

Room Tip: hop onto the rydges website to get the best room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SisterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges Hobart.

It is a lovely old historic building with spacious comfortable rooms and ample free on site parkling which is always a bonus.

Chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We do all of our hot breakfasts cooked to order as we believe we can deliver a better product to our guests every time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent a month in Hobart one week in July a few years ago, and I wasn’t looking forward to returning in the dead of winter. But this cosy little hotel really hit the spot.

The woman taking reservations over the phone was delightful and only too happy to sell the benefits of the hotel. She booked us in on a great rate, including breakfast, which actually managed to meet my work’s less than generous travel allowance.

We arrived after dark and couldn’t really get a sense of the place, but the staff in the modest reception area were pleasant enough. Unfortunately we were given a room at the back of the property, which meant a series of confusing directions and an expedition through the under-lit, maze-like garden paths around the countless out-buildings. Thank God it wasn’t raining.

When we finally got to the room, the foyer and bathroom had a bit of a plastery, Grandma’s house feeling to it. But beyond that, the room was very spacious and had everything I needed. Once I killed the overhead fluorescent by the door, the room had a classic, warming ambiance. The heater worked well and the bed was comfortable.

The room service club sandwich was up to standard, and the three course dinner special with wine in the restaurant was really nice, and very reasonably priced. The breakfast in the restaurant too was delicious, with the light of day offering a pleasant view over the garden.

In fact, the classic old building had quite a lot of charm to it the next morning. As for location, we were a bit out of the action, such as it is in Hobart. But the taxi to Sandy Bay in peak hour didn’t take long.

I might not look forward to going back to Hobart, but I’ll enjoy returning to the Rydges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either in, or close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Its always great to read when our guests enjoyed not only their stay with us but also the interaction they have had with the team leading up to their arrival.

Chef will be particlarly pleased that you enjoyed not only your room service meal but the special menu that was implemented in the Manor Grill.

Being only five minutes from town gives you both the ease of access in and out of town without that mid town hustle and bustle noise. Many guests often comment on how quiet it is around the hotel, particularly of a night and the bonus of easy access to the Brooker Highway.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Having to travel for work to Hobart approximately every 2-3 weeks, I find that the Rydges is a friendly, relaxing and nice place to stay. It is located out of the often noisy CBD streets where all sorts of disturbances throughout the night tend to occur. Food in the Manor Restaurant is modern and always on the money, and if you had an extended stay and felt like a change then it it's located within a casual 10 minute stroll from the trendy North Hobart strip of restaurants and bars. Car parking is great not having to park below the hotel or in adjacent carparks, often within 20-30 metres from your room. Staff are always friendly whether it be at reception or in the restaurant. I travel to Melbourne every month and stay at Rydges Exhibition St, so I couldn't go without my Dream Bed when away from home ..... they are sensational.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at Rydges on a regular basis then I strongly recommend joining up as a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
It's always great to read that our guests find the Rydges Hobart friendly, relaxing and a nice play to stay. It is definately something the team and I have been working on and Chef will appreciate your comments about the food in the Manor Grill. the new menu is attracting great feedback from all of our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Although there were originally some hiccups with booking for a larger group we were all accommodated quite well upon arrival. The old building presents like an old boarding school and the rooms are also of that ilk which is a novelty and definitely not a bland run-of-the-mill motel room. I was extremely impressed with the space in our room; a huge living area, bed, kitchenette and airy spacious bathroom. Cupboards galore!

The sauna was great and we were the only ones utilising it. Yah!! Our room had views over the football oval which was unique. (Be a good one to book if there was football on of a weekend.)

Although it is a decent walk to the waterfront the location was great for our group and there were many excellent restaurants, shops and facilities within a short walk. It is in an historical part of Hobart with some interesting old buildings if you feel like checking out the neighbourhood.

The greatest disappointment was the breakfast, especially on the first day. It appears they hadn't anticipated the breakfast rush on a weekday and were short staffed even though there was a full house. Several people had to wait for well over an hour for their breakfast. A couple of people on the next table had to leave without breakfast as they had a schedule that couldn't be ignored. The staff that were there were stressed and became a little curt as the pressure mounted. The next day was better although it was a Saturday so possibly the attendances at breakfast were more spread out and there were more staff. We missed a ferry due to this too. However, the choice of foods available for breakfast was excellent and it was great value.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have a view as some of them are definitely better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
The feedback we receive about the size of the rooms and the Rydges Dream Beds is incredible. You are correct in saying that it presents as a boarding school as it in fact was the old Deaf and Blind School prior to becoming the Northside Manor. On a day that the football is on, I can recommend the Presidentail Suite with a large lounge room and views directly over North Hobart oval.

I do understand that on occassion there is a slight wait for hot breakfast as all are prepared and served to order.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future so you can see for yourself the ongoing improvements we are making in our rooms and in the Manor Grill Restaurant.

Danny Veis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Quaint hotel, a bit old fashioned. Clean and comfortable. Manor rooms consist of a bedroom,bathroom,small kitchen and living room. Not all rooms have a view, number 60 has a view across the oval sports ground; number 41 has a view of a wall. Lots of steps to carry your luggage up. Nothing wrong with the hotel - just in the wrong place for us, a good 35 mins walk to the waterfront. Would be ok if you have your own transport.
Very good place for breakfast 10mins walk down Argyll Street at Smith's Street cafe.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the oval sports ground, number 60 is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Good Afternoon MozBru,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and it was great to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The entire team are working hard to ensure the hotel remains this way all the time.

Hopefully on your next visit you will take the opportunity to try our breakfast in the Manor Grill Restaurant. We have been receiving a great deal of very positive feedback about all of the meals here.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We have just returned home after 2 weeks in Tasmania. Our travel agent suggested Rydges Hotel as he could get a good deal for us including breakfast. We stayed the first night in one of the newer rooms (No.40), separate from the main building. The huge bed was so comfortable and we had plenty of room with the sitting room and kitchen area quite roomy. We left the following morning as we had a prior booking up at Mole Creek but said when we got back to Hobart we would stay at Rydges again. After a week travelling around, we contacted Rydges again and they said they could get us in for 4 days but not the weekend as they were fully booked, but did suggest a motel close by. We stayed in one of the large rooms in the main building (No.25) and were very happy with our accommodation. Once again, comfortable beds and a great nights sleep. We had originally booked just the room, but the receptionist told us that for slightly more, they would include a fully cooked breakfast so we chose that option. The receptionist suggested becoming a Rydges Priority Guest as it was our second stay there, so we joined up. We moved out for the weekend to the motel but had booked for our last two nights in Hobart back at Rydges. The receptionist suggested and we paid a little extra and were given the Presidential Suite. Wow. Huge room, bigger than the other rooms we had stayed in, with a canopied 4 poster bed (huge), spa in huge bathroom. Even the separate toilet was huge. Will definitely stay here again when we are next in Hobart. Wait staff, in fact all staff, were very attentive and helpful. In fact, one of them who doubled as the barman, wished us all the very best as he would not be in for the following two days and we would be gone by the time he got back. Even though the hotel is a bit out of town, access to Brooker Highway was close by. We would definitely stay at Rydges again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello Heather C,

Its always a pleasure to read when our guests enjoy thier stay with us and particulalry that the team are friendly and helpful. We do receive a lot of fantastic feedback about the Rydges Dream Beds as well as the size of the rooms.

I will pass on your feedback to the team at our next morning meeting as we strive to achieve and exceed our guests expectations.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future so you can see the ongoing efforts we are making to keep improving.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing