We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, spacious accom, but 1980s interiors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent location, spacious accom, but 1980s interiors”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Excellent location with the Salamnca markets, art galleries and restaurants just outside the front door. Battery Point park and kiddie's playground just up the road and a short stroll from Arthur's Circle and Jackman & McRoss bakery.
The accom itself is wonderfully spacious. We had 2 toilets, a balcony, a private terrace, a spa bath, and over-all we really enjoyed our stay. However, the stinginess of management with regard to cutlery, crockery and glassware is ridiculous. Two forks, two knives, two teeny wine glasses etcetera is insulting and impractical, particularly given that we had a six seater dining room table! How on earth could we be expected to entertain friends with only two of everything (which was even more silly considering there were three of us staying there). Like the other Somerset property in Hobart, we felt a bodum would be good, or coffee bags, but not the motor inn standard of tea & coffee facilities on offer.
The hotel staff were excellent and professional, but it is inconvenient having to commute at beginning and end of the stay between this property and Somerset on the Pier where the actual office is. I observed two different families puzzled and inconvenienced at the intercom by the door asking how on they should check in. Being told you need to hike off on a 20 min return walk to check in was not what they wanted to hear, after what was presumably a busy day of travel.
The interior needs a total over-haul - It is far too 1980s for this price range. Over-all it lacks the wow factor.
Next time I visit Hobart I will not stay here despite the ultra convenient location. I think I'll opt for something in Battery Point instead, or more boutique options on Salamanca, where there would be more ambience at a more affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDebonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on Salamanca.

Our apologies for the level of cutlery in your apartment. We do find our "par" levels are sufficient for the majority of our guests and if any additional is required our Guest Service staff who are available 24 hours per day are more than happy to assist.

With regards to checkin for Somerset on Salamanca the reception is located at Somerset on the Pier. We endeavor to advise all guests about check in procedures prior to arrival. For guests that do turn up at Somerset on Salamanca directly to check in, Somerset on the Pier is only a short drive away. In the event the guest does not have a vehicle our Guest Service staff are only too happy to come to Somerset on Salamanca to complete the check in.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Hobart.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Somerset on Salamanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    36
    19
    6
See reviews for
61
58
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Very good serviced apartments with a great location.
Free parking available.
Reception was only at the Elizabeth Pier apartments but the girls came to open up our room, came at our check out and took all our luggage for storage after that, all with a smile on their face! So we really didn't mind at all.
Hot water broke down on the day we were checking out, and the staff were very understanding and extended our check out time to make sure we would have hot water for a shower before we left.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Modern, clean and tidy. Incredibly spacious/huge room. Brilliant location right on the wharf and next to the famous markets.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxzoomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

***Booking request***
I booked 2 x 2-bedroom apartments overlooking the 'carpark' for our stay. I had requested the apartments be side-by-side but due to heating problems, this was not possible - not a big deal as the apartments were next to the stairs/elevator (one above the other).
***On arrival***
Both apartments were spacious and even though the 2nd floor apartment's lounge heater was broken, staff had provided a very efficient portable heater. My parents joined us for this trip and because I had said they felt the cold, staff also put an additional portable heater in the downstairs apartment 'just in case'; there was no problem keeping the apartments warm.
Both apartments had self-contained kitchens with cooking utensils, pans, crockery, glassware/mugs and eating utensils.
The decor was subdued and in good taste. We tended to congregate in the downstairs lounge for any meals had indoors and to play board games some nights - there was plenty of room for 7 of us.
***Parking***
The 'carpark' view was unexpected - it's basically a concreted, open carpark with approximately 12 spaces but the view is also of the Lenna apartments and road - not a terrible view at all.
We had hired a Kia Carnival (8 seater) to transport 7 of us plus luggage, so I had been a bit worried about parking. It turned out that there was plenty of parking in the open carpark during the weekdays (you get a Somerset on Salamanca parking sign to put on your dashboard so the staff know you're a guest) and on the weekend when the apartments were full, we parked in the carpark under the building.
***Location***
The location was fantastic. The apartments are right at the start of Salamanca Place (even closer than the Lenna apartments and you don't have to navigate a steep hill). Probably 1 minute's walk from the nearest cafe and gallery shops.
***Customer service***
Generally we found people in Hobart to be very friendly and helpful but we found customer service at Somerset on Salamanca to be excellent. We were given early check-in at Somerset on the Pier (we arrived at 11am) and the receptionist was very helpful recommending places to eat. During our stay, we requested extra towels, different pillows, non-slip bathmats for the bathtubs - staff brought these over promptly (sometimes they have to be brought over from Somerset on the Pier if housekeeping has already finished cleaning the apartments). We also requested a chair or stool that could be used in the shower to lean on - the person at reception (I think his name was Simon) said they didn't have such a thing but if we left it with him, he would try to think of something. When we returned a couple of hours later, there was a sturdy, waterproof chair waiting in the apartment - I was very impressed! Also, we chose not to have our rooms cleaned on Saturday or Sunday, so by Sunday night, we were running out of tissues and toilet paper. We rang reception (around 10:30pm) and the receptionist said she couldn't bring anything straight away as she was there by herself, but would it be OK if she brought it over at the end of her shift (which was 11:30pm). We said that was fine, but 5 minutes later the receptionist called again to ask us if we would mind standing in the foyer to keep a lookout for the taxi that she had sent over with tissues and toilet paper! Hilarious! but again, illustrative of the fantastic customer service we experienced.
***Conclusion***
We found these apartments to be comfortable, welcoming and very convenient. Staff were patient, able to think laterally and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice place to stay in Hobart that is in a great location.
***Suggested improvements***
The following is a list of improvements:
1. Install exhaust fan in each bathroom
2. Have the exhaust fan in the kitchen area directed out of the apartment (not sure if this is possible but it can be a bit smelly if you fry things, e.g. eggs or seafood - and people are probably going to do that in Hobart!)
3. Leave a few sachets of dishwashing powder, dishwashing liquid and clothes washing detergent in the apartments (rather than 1 which has to be replaced every day - we bought our own dishwasher tablets to use)
4. Leave a few rolls of spare toilet paper in the bathrooms
5. Put a non-slip mat in each bathroom with bathtubs (better to avoid a lawsuit than risk it!)
6. The TVs in the bedrooms didn't work very well (no reception so all you could watch was snow). Better not to have them in the bedroom, rather than TVs that don't work - the one in the lounge was sufficient for us and worked properly
7. Put some pot plants in the courtyard (or something to make it harder for people to see in on the ground level apartments)
8. We had confirmed the night before leaving that we had late checkout (12pm) but realised while going back and forth between the apartment and car with luggage that our keycards had been turned off at about 11am. This wasn't a problem as housekeeping were still cleaning and were happy to let us back in, but the keycards shouldn't have been turned off when we only confirmed checkout the previous night.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jessimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We travelled here at the end of July/early August. We stayed in a studio room (room 205). We were on the water side of the building, but our view mostly consisted of an old dockyard shed and a big container ship. The container ship had a loud motor running all day and night; not too bad when the heater was running (it drowned out the sound somewhat), but when the heater was off it was loud enough to be irritating.

The location is great - right at the top of Salamanca place, a stones throw from restaurants, bars and the Saturday markets.

The room was spacious, and there is a small kitchenette with coffee/tea making facilities, and a microwave.

The double bed is actually two singles pushed together, and the beds themselves are old and worn. We sunk into the mattress, and there was a large 'ridge' where the two singles met. We found the bed(s) very uncomfortable.

The doona was thin (strange given Hobart's cool weather!), and is not covered - there is a sheet, the doona, and then another sheet over the top. The doona was stained with something that looked like rust.

The apartments get a 'light' service daily, but if you leave your apartment after 10.30am your room won't be serviced at all. We left one day at 10.45am, and left the 'please tidy apartment sign' on the door handle, only to return to find the room in the same state that we left it.

Overall, we enjoyed the location, but think that improvements could be made to make this a really enjoyable property to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is a clean ,modern and spacious hotel. The rooms are serviced apartments. I had a two bedroom unit with the second bedroom locked off.
It is perfectly located at the river end of Salamanca place close to many restaurants and specialty stores.
The only gripe I have is that check-in is at another property (about a 500m walk- maybe more).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We spent three nights in a studio apartment at Somerset on Salamanca. The rooms are quite large, even for two people, with a small kitchenette, a good sized bed and an enormous but simple tiled bathroom (with laundry facilities). The rooms, including bathroom, are spotless and very comfortable - my only gripe being that the bed is actually two single mattresses pushed together, so you can feel the join in the middle. If you sleep on either side of the bed, this isn't a problem; we had very good nights' sleep throughout our stay.

The location is excellent - right next to Salamanca Place, and an easy (albeit uphill) walk to Hampden Road and Battery Point; making it a very convenient base for the markets, restaurants and cafés.

There are actually two Somerset properties in Hobart, within sight of one another but separated by a ten-minute walk around the docks. Somerset on Salamanca shares reception facilities with the other Somerset property on the pier (a little further away from Salamanca Place), so you need to call in there when checking-in. This also means that if you need something in your room serviced, it has to be brought over from the Pier. This isn't usually a problem, as someone will normally come over in a matter of minutes; but if you need something late at night, there may only be one person rostered to work, and they may not be able to leave their desk. They will be unfailingly polite, regardless!

We have stayed at both Somerset properties several times over the last few years, and prefer Salamanca for its location. Although a more expensive option than some, we stay here whenever we can.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 48 in Hobart
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Property: Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing