We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.... Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location.... Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a top spot. Great restaurants at the doorstep for lunch and dinner, and 5 mins to best bakery in Hobart at battery point. Great views.... The workman didn't bother us as we were out and about. When I needed milk someone was there within 5 mins. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jude A,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We are very proud of entire team and it is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback. I will ensure your comments are shared with our entire team.

Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    71
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
58
55
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Booked a two bedroom apartment after viewing the room, for a hen's day/early evening. We made the booking well in advance on the basis of the room we viewed - 2nd floor two bedroom apartment at this premises. We even called in the week before to confirm we had an early check-in, when we were told we should be able to, but to confirm an hour before check-in on the day. When we made that phone call, we were told that we had been "upgraded" to a smaller room in the Elizabeth st pier premises - where the groom was staying. We were told someone else had been checked in to the salamanca apartment and all other two bedroom apartments were booked out. We were faced with having to stay in a completely different premises, the same premises as the groom, in a smaller apartment, and would have to somehow call 15 afternoon tea guests and a makeup artist. The hotel was hardly sympathetic, they told us there were no other options and that we would have to take the room the had transferred us in without our knowledge. It was only after several phone calls, heated discussions and melted afternoon tea that we were told that we now were able to stay in the salamanca premises, but it would be on the first floor looking directly out onto a construction site. The apartment overall was quite nice, spacious, but overlooking the University construction site which ruined the view a bit. Bed was reasonable comfortable but the pillows lumpy. Overall I would not recommend based on the inconvenience and time wasted as well as stress as a result of their terrible customer service.

Room Tip: I wouldnt' recommend the salamanca premises whilst construction is underway in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

2 nights with 3 of us in a 2 bedroom apartment over Saturday and Sunday at premium rates was an unremarkable stay. Apartments are close to Salamanca which is an interesting part of Hobart but frequented at night by the lager louts lurching around the outside bars who can be a bit tiring and obnoxious.

As others have pointed out, this hotel has a front view of a construction site at the moment, which kicks into gear about 7pm weekdays and which will no doubt get noisier and a bit more in your face from the front facing apartments (for which they charge you a premium!) as time goes on.

Apartment layout is good, but dirty grease spotted carpets and worn furniture need refurbishing. Maintenance could be better with shower heads falling down during use and holding them up with one hand while soaping up with the other is like the "rub your tummy" "pat your head" game with water in your eyes!

No fancy extras supplied for the price, with a mini size packet of long life milk to put in the cheap coffee from the stick packets and a packet of cheap laundry detergent about the best on offer.
A comfy lounge with flat screen TV's and abbreviated Austar channel list with free to air is part recompense.

The irritating drawback is no reception on site, (not even a temporary receptionist during busy checkouts) which means you have to walk 10 mins down the street and around the docks over to the Somerset on the Pier to check in and check out or deal with any queries - not so much fun in the winter wet weather. Comments from On the Pier reception such as "why didn't you let us know and we would have transported you over here" go down like a lead balloon as you walk in dripping wet!

Have a look at other alternatives close by if you want to be around the Salamanca area - there are quite a few which are a bit more user friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I Have stayed on a regular basis for work. The location is great right in Salamanca with all the restaurants. At the moment the view is great but they are building on front so won't be for long. The draw backs are the noise from the building, old style TVs and the beds that are two singles pushed together. Because of the draw backs I have moved motels

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I recently spent five nights at Somerset on Salamanca and loved it. I was a bit worried because from the airport one has to go to Somerset on the Pier to check in and, not knowing Hobart well, or the service provided by Somerset, we didn't know how convenient this would be. My worries were needless, as check-in at Somerset on the Pier was easy and most pleasant and we were then courteously driven to the nearby Somerset on Salamanca in a shuttle bus. Shown to our room, we were pleased with the great harbour view. (Sadly though, it appears that that view will disappear in time with a building being built in front but I am sure guests will still be accomodated in very pleasant rooms.) I would just like to add that we found the location of Somerset on Salamanca to be absolutely fantastic, perfect for our getaway holiday in beautiful Hobart. We would stay at Somerset--and in Hobart!--again without hesitation. Thank you Somerset! Thank you Hobart! You both provided us with a great five days.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, overlooking the harbour, though we did hear a bit of construction noise from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spend two nights here as we wanted to be close to Salamanca Place, as well as to be in walking distance of the pier from which the ferry to MONA leaves. Having booked it, I was a little perturbed to read a couple of reviews where complaints were made about saggy bedding and heating. I have to say that neither of these issues applied. The bed, a Zipper King, was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, and there was plenty of heating - reverse cycle in the living room, a fixed space heater in the bedroom, as well as a portable heater. Everything was extremely well-appointed with lots of space. The tv in the living room was an old-style one, but there was a good flat-screen tv in the bedroom. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and I would thoroughly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room, although bear in mind that there are apartments currently under construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WavertonBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Got 2 bedroom on a last minute deal. Staff was friendly and efficient, location excellent literally a hop away from salamanca market. Serviced apartments standards, beats wrest point hands down.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaijinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Property: Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing