We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything was fantastic, they let us check in 6 hours early. Service was great, room was great, and the Tasman restaurant was one the best restaurants I've ever been too, the free breakfast had a huge range also.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liviss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    1,366
    270
    64
    33
See reviews for
672
1,408
169
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ask for a high floor with view of the harbour. In all weather the views are fantastic, watch the small boats go out and come in. The Mona Ferry's regular crossings and the comings and goings on the pier. After spending all day walking around Salamanca and visiting various tourist attractions, have a quiet drink in the Atrium Lounge before heading out for dinner at one of the numerous Pier restaurants. The Restaurant Tasman at the Grand Chancellor is also excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter - keep in mind floor levels i.e. 18 is really only about Level 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvervampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had the best stay here! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. All the rooms seem to have great views of either the water or the pretty city. The restaurant and room service was delicious! The staff were very helpful and lovely.
Only a short walk to Salamanca and lots of little cafés and the markets.

Beautiful foyer that overlooks the water, really nice if you just want to relax with a coffee or a wine.
I would stay here again for sure!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HonestrSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here attending a conference. The hotel was ok without being outstanding. Its location was probably its best feature overlooking Sullivan's Cove and close to restaurants, shopping and within walking distance of Salamanca.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in Hobart for 2 nights in June in a renovated Superior Harbour View room at the Grand Chancellor. By staying more than one night, we were eligible for the Green Stay rate, which I'd highly recommend as it took the price down to less than a standard view room. This is only available on the hotel webpage and apparently involves your room not being serviced while you stay. However, we didn't notice this at all.. the beds were made, room tidied and new towels were provided anyway. Maybe they used less chemicals? Check-in was fast and simple, staff polite and unobtrusive for our stay.

We had two double beds, as I was sharing with my adult son. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and pillows were excellent. Everything worked well; lighting, tea and coffee making facilities, iron, TV. The free paper is a nice touch you expect in good hotels. Although it's on a busy road with a lot of passing cars and revellers, it's well sound-proofed and the noise was not apparent at all.

The views are awesome, of not just the boat harbour but across to historic Hunter St, IXL jam factory and restaurants to the left, then to the right across to Salamanca, Battery Point, Wrest Point and the river beyond. Sunrise was spectacular.. and fortunately later in the morning than the rest of Australia!

A nice touch to the view were the spotlights lighting up the sky, just across the road.. were they only for the winter arts festival?? Maybe, but if not, take note that you can go down and play and move them around, a point we missed until too late.

We had room service the second night, food was plentiful, well cooked and hot, service was fast and simple. We didn't try the breakfasts as there are too many great places to eat nearby to just stay in the hotel. You are spoiled for choice for restaurants.

The bathroom was excellent, with a good bath, or you can choose to have a shower instead. Lots of fluffy towels and good toiletries, lots of great mirrors and a feel of luxury. The pool was warm and inviting and I had it to myself both at evening and early morning. The gym looked good, although I didn't take advantage of it. The wifi worked fine for us.

Parking was OK, but the carpark a bit squeezy and I had a feeling you may not always get parking there. It was easy to find at the rear of the hotel, once you get used to the one-way streets system. I found it strange that there was no lift to the carpark for carrying bags, only a short flight of stairs, but it was ok to park out the front of the hotel while checking in and out.

I am quite unforgiving in hotels charging for parking, wifi etc, as I feel they charge quite enough already.. However, that's not just this hotel so it's a general grumble, rather than a specific one.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel webpage for Green Stay, for a very good reduction in price. Go for the harbour vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valdajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a short stay at the Grand Chancellor Hotel in Hobart and decided to take advantage of one of their packages that included a Harbour View room and it was absolutely worth it. The views were so spectacular that we did not close our curtains throughout our whole stay just so when we looked out the windows we had an opportunity to enjoy the view. The location is excellent with easy access and the ability to walk around the area. The room was brilliant, comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay here. Cannot recommend it enough

Room Tip: If they are available and you can afford it, always go for the Harbour View room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonDunn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

There's not that many large hotels to choose from in Hobart and as this is more central (and apparently better) than the Wrestpoint, the rooms are a little overpriced. It's not that it's the most expensive (there are quite a few great looking boutique properties around), it just feels like you should get a bit more for your money. One really annoying factor for me was the wifi, free but with a very small download limit - I couldn't even send and receive a few work emails and ended up having to hot spot. When will Aussie hotels join the rest of the world and provide free (and useable) wifi?
The property is in a great location, right across from the harbour and a short walk to Salamance (home to some great restaurants and bars).
Check in was fuss free and I was given a large room with a great view across the harbour. The view alone makes it a memorable hotel room. The lobby bar was well stocked with some great local drinks and good service and advice. I recommend the Van Diemens Land Pale Ale, or any Tassie Whisky. I can't comment on the breakfast unfortunately as I was at a conference at another venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing