We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cossy and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cossy and great views”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a special that they were offering and was more then we expected. Turned up at the front door to have car valet parked then when we went to our room we had a bottle of champers wanting. When looking out the window we were looking straight across the road from Constitution Dock and Derwent what a veiw and bed was to die for. Loved the stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,229
    1,431
    280
    67
    34
See reviews for
709
1,496
177
1,197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Right opposite constitution dock and 5 minutes walk to Salamanca Markets.
Water view room had a large window with an amazing view across the water. Rooms are a fair size, bathroom fine but nothing to right home about.
Staff efficient and obliging.

Room Tip: Waterview room great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were kindly granted an upgrade to a Superior Harbour View room and I couldn't help exclaiming on the view of Sullivan's Cove and the distant wider harbour, every time I ventured into our room. It is SUPERB. We stayed on the 18th floor and I wouldn't ever consider staying at this hotel without booking a similar room. Sometimes a view just "transports one" into seventh heaven, and this view did this for me. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is situated close to restaurants and cafes, and a short walk to the centre of the city. The cafe and restaurant on site is very convenient and pleasant. Expect to pay hotel prices, of course, for the convenience. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and had been given a thorough clean after my prior request, due to respiratory allergies. I appreciated this.
Negatives? - just 2 minor things. The bathroom bath/shower half-screen has been bolted in place. This means that the shower/bath taps are not accessible unless one is actually standing in the bath - meaning either straight hot or straight cold water pours on top of one until one can quickly adjust the controls. Also, if lying down in the bath, the taps are halfway up the wall, so cannot add more water without standing up out of one's nice warm soak! Whoever designed this bath/shower obviously didn't try it first. Secondly, we did miss viewing ABC TV. The reception on this Channel 2 TV station was very poor with significant visual disturbance (other stations were OK). The young lady on Reception, tried to tell us that it was a broadcasting fault from the ABC. We phoned the ABC (were keen to watch a particular program) and they said that there were no problems with broadcast reception and to ask the hotel to do certain things to fix the problem. Despite one or two young men attempting to fix this, (Friday evening) it was still a problem. We were told that they would have the technicians in to fix it the next day, but when we tried the ABC the next day, the problem was stil occurring.
Apart from these 2 niggles, we had a great stay there. I would happily recommend it and would certainly be pleased to stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor when next in Hobart.

Room Tip: Stay on high floors overlooking the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Grand Chancellor Hobart. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were really good value for money. Very clean and comfortable rooms - beds were extremely comfortable. Will definitely be staying there next time we visit Hobart which we hope won't be far away!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycekenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want to stay in a large Starwood/Marriott/Hilton-type hotel in Hobart, the Grand Chancellor is pretty much your only option. I spent a couple of nights here on a work trip in May and all in all I was happy with my stay.

Positives:
- Waterside location.
- Large spacious rooms, recently renovated, good bathrooms.
- Really excellent buffet breakfast. Great selection, efficient & friendly staff. The restaurant runs like clockwork.

Negatives:
- A slight feeling that the hotel is trying to extract every cent possible from its customers. When I checked in, the clerk at the front desk ran through a long list of options and upgrades and the extra price for each. It was my first visit to the hotel so I wasn't expecting anything extra for free but I couldn't help thinking that if most hotels were as empty as he was making the GCH sound, they would offer some of the things he mentioned as complimentary.
- Diabolically bad and over-priced WiFi. I had to ring the help desk three times in my two days at the hotel - the kid on the line was obviously very used to taking the same complaints I had, which was that every time I started a new session the WiFi gateway wanted me to pay, even though I'd bought a 2-day pass the first time I signed in. The WiFi didn't work at all in the restaurant and was flaky in my room.

I would recommend always using a booking site like Wotif if you're considering the Grand Chancellor. Room prices seem to vary wildly. If you can get a room for around $150 and don't care about WiFi, I'd recommend giving the GCH a go. I would not recommend it at the rack rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumbelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a weekend in hobart for my husband's birthday and although we normally stay at Old Woolstore chose to stay at this hotel. We booked 2 renovated rooms and couldnt have been happier. The thought that went into the bathroom design was ingenius, Being female and having the mirrors positioned to see the back of your head (to see what your crazy hair is up to) was great. Checkin and checkout was proffessional and efficient. Had great water views and although on busy road traffic not a problem.

Room Tip: Opt for a water view on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjb008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Visiting Tassie from Melbourne, arrived at HGCH and were pleasantly surprised to receive a free upgrade to a suite! Room was amazing with fantastic views, staff incredibly friendly and helpful! Wish we were staying for more than one night! Will definitely stay here next time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Danica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing