We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my favourite in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still my favourite in Hobart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in an executive suite, and the views across the docks and river were beautiful. The only minor complaint was perhaps a little more variety on the room service menu would be welcome. Will stay here again many times.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyMc_Dnaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    1,365
    270
    64
    33
See reviews for
672
1,407
169
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I get to travel at least twice a year to Hobart on business and this is my hotel of choice. Lovely views of the harbour specially at sunrise.

Spacious rooms.

Efficient check in/check out even at peak times.

Room Tip: Request for harbor views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsoul-youngspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Right from the check in and the wonderful attention given by the concierge we were impressed.We were fortunate enough to have a corner room with a harbour view. Simply stunning.The room was furnished thoughtfully and with almost the feel of luxury. The bathroom was very well stocked for any needs. The bed was very comfy . Our booking included a buffet breakfast down in the resturant which was of a good standard and plenty to choose from. We used the atrium bar and the resturant the staff were efficient and friendly and the food enjoyable.This hotel is in simply the best location we were able to wander around the various wharves and it was close to the shopping district. The view of the harbour and the historical buildings around the wharves from our room were spectacular. We did not want to leave.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hillite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in twin room with 2 double beds. Great sized rooms, requested bath and had lovely view of the mountain (as opposed to water). Staff delightful and extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect location for ferry to MONA, Salamanca market, Battery Point and great restaurants and fish places. Shuttle bus goes to the door but only $40 for taxi weekdays so was worth it for 2 of us. Definitely will stay here when I go back to Hobart. Was blown away with art and culture and history in Hobart. Loved it. Didn't eat in hotel restaurant but in winter I'm sure you would. Green hotel and beautiful art work throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom-seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed on the eighth floor and had beautiful views of the harbour. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, There is a busy road below. A price you pay for being in the middle of Hobart, It was my 60th birthday and we received complimentary champagne one night. Thank you Grand Chancellor.The staff were all friendly helpful and professional.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the harbour, you may pay more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was there for a conference and stayed there too. The room was clean and roomy. The hotel offers a green option where you do not have to have the rooms cleaned to save cleaning chemicals etc. A bit overpriced for me but necessary to be near the conference as I was one of the organisers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice big room and very.clean . Great location close to great restaurants. Didn't need a car. Friendly couldn't be more helpful. Nice bar reasonable prices. Only stayed one night but wishing we it could have been longer.

Room Tip: We were up on 14 floor. Loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbieleenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing