We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location at Hobart.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me & my wife stayed here for two nights in mountain view room. The property is great with excellent service & good value for money. The hotel is water facing & walking distance from the market place & the ferry wharf. We enjoyed the hotel pool in the same floor of our room, luckily we were alone at the pool & we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,414)
There are newer reviews for Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,686 - 3,692 of 4,414 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed on the 15th February,

Hotel is well appointed and good facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will return. The harbor and atmosphere on the docks is great. Goof food in the restaurant also!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardTKBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great place to stay. Rooms clean. Staff helpful. Location perfect to everything. Would recommend. Also if you bring your own car or hire there is parking next door. Great place

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natnat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to the HGC for close to 12 months now for work and I enjoy every visit. The location is ideal as only minutes walk away from Hobart CBD but set upon the beautiful Constitution Dock.

If you are lucky to have a bayview then you will be wowed! Maybe send an email prior to your arrival and see if you can get one! During summer the place is just amazing and Salamanca Place is just nearby!

There are many restaurants within an arms length from the freshest seafood caught that very morning.

And the breakfast buffet is a good feed. Made to order Omelets are devine but 30 bucks maybe too much if your work is not paying!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank OzHeathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this great hotel on our short getaway to Hobart. The location is fantastic, close to wharf, markets etc. The rooms, ours was a harbour view room so can only talk for that, was fantastic, huge, clean and very comfy. There is a carpark downstairs so very convenient when you have rented a car. Loved the place and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AshFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed just a night at this large (for Hobart) hotel. It has an international feel about it with a spacious foyer. At one end is a good restaurant and the other is a concert hall - home to the TSO. Our room was on the 5th floor and again the spacious and airy lift lobby gives a great impression and view of the Hobart foreshore. Little touches such as comfy armshairs to sit and admire the view was thoughtful and shows attention to detail. The room was spacious (even our budget town facing room), clean and good furnishings. The only grumble I have was a soggy bed. The hotel has an underground carpark but beware - there is no lift to the foyer. If you have heavy bags, drive up to the drop-off zone first.

Room Tip: Go high and get a sea facing room if you can afford one!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Loved our stay. The hotel is true to its name "grand", beautiful foyer with art gallery and all day coffee lounge, looking out over harbour with cray boats, cruising yachts and up to foothills of Mt Wellington. We got lucky with complimentary upgrade to harbour view room. Also made use of the hotel gym and heated indoor pool. Central location with easy walking access to restaurants, cafes, Salamanca Markets, tourist info centre and boat cruise bookings. It's a great choice for where to stay in Hobart.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $116 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing