We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location on harbour”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great location, friendly staff. Rooms nothing special-regular 4.5 deal. Beds comfy and facilities clean. Brought earplugs as others have noted-no sound proofing. Could hear ambulance on 18th floor. Breakfast $28.50 -usual suspects-nothing wild. Service good. If you get a cheap deal or work paying stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJaneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    1,460
    283
    68
    34
See reviews for
738
1,543
180
1,234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently spent our honeymoon in this hotel and had a room with harbour views. Everything within walking distance, great many places to have meals and the Salamanca market was a real treat, a country feel about it, many shops to visit for souvenirs and things totally Tassie. Weather was perfect. Staff friendly and helpful with info and making arrangements for sightseeing further afield.Rooms very clean and airy, sleep quality perfect. We would definitely stay here again for our next trip. Absolutely loved it. If you are looking for accomodation with everything plus a location perfect for those special days you will always remember, you cannot go past this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can manage it get a room on the harbour side, day and night views spectacular and breathe tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havetimewilltravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Renos are ok not luxury more like 5 star. Be warned there is no outside sound proofing. I was on level 14 (aka level 4 cos it starts at level 10) and I couldn't sleep due to street noise from trucks. I asked to move higher and the hotel obliged. Slept well but maybe bcos it was less traffic on Sunday. Staffwere eexcellent and very helpful. Well located.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiechatcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here with 12 yo son for 4 nights whilst attending a conference. Awesome view of the harbour, good clean room. Parking is around the back for $9 a day, however no good for 4wd due to height restriction, so was able to leave car at front of hotel but still had to pay $9 day, quite a noisy location, lots of sirens etc

Room Tip: Harbour view is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Perfect location and a very well presented hotel. Rooms were a good size, without being too big. Had a beautiful view overlooking the docks whilst I could work on a very well laid out work desk.
Suited my business trip perfectly.

The staff were superb - which is what can make a good experience even better!

Whilst I cannot comment about the restaurant inside the hotel, I know through business meetings that there are also some wonderful restaurants within close walking proximity.

All in all, a wonderful place, a great hotel and I would certainly go back on my next visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed there for one night, and was upgraded to a king Superior room with mountain view on the 18th floor ,the only thing I missed out on was the water view,but you only had to walk of your room to the viewing area to get 180 degrees spectacular water views,the room was clean and very well presented ,modern upmarket fittings and fixtures throughout,the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were of a high standard,very supportive unlike many high end hotels,comfortable lounge and good size TV,and very good desk were I was able to do my days paperwork that I have stayed in,the location of the hotel is brilliant,walking distance to everything you would need to have a great holiday or business trip,some of Hobart's best seafood restaurants,great pubs etc,staff were very friendly and helpful,I will defiantly stay there again

Room Tip: There is one down side, there is no lift to the car park you have to lug your bags up 2 flights of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have stayed at GC four times....the service is hit & miss. The location is brilliant, the views (river side) are spectacular, the food is good, and the staff mostly ok, but sometimes their inefficiency let the hotel down.

I once had to leave at 6.30am for work, and put the breakfast room service menu on my door at 8pm, and even though there was not an option to have breakfast delivered at 6am, I hand wrote as note asking for that time - they have 24hr room service. The next morning, my breakfast didn't arrive......until I was at the front desk checking out. They then told me they couldn't deliver a pre-ordered breakfast at 6am, BUT that I could have called when I woke up, and ordered it - go figure !!!

Since then, service has improved, and the rooms are good, though once I turned up and there were dirty handprints all over the windows... The beds are comfy, the bathrooms clean and adequate....and breakfast in the restaurant is the best I've encountered when travelling for business.

Room Tip: River/ Constitution Dock views are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing