We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have a child with dietary requirements and the kitchen staff were fantastic. They made our stay in Hobart wonderful. It has an amazing position and is close to the cbd. Caters for conferences very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superprofits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,079 - 4,085 of 4,662 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for a conference. Situated in a great spot, close to everything. We stayed on the 14th floor with a water view which was lovely. Unfortunately it was noisy from the pedestrian traffic beeper and cars outside:( Room was very clean but does need a face lift. Great atmosphere in the bar downstairs but unfortunately I didn't like the brekkie. Due to the size of the conference the lifts 3 of them, but only 2 working, were very slow. The staff were very good and helpful.

Room Tip: I think perhaps mountain side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend away in Hobart. While I loved at the smaller more exclusive hotels I was sooooo happy with our choice. I think this hotel has thr best views in town. It was excellent priced accommodation - awesome view, bed and pillows very comfy and perfect location

Room Tip: Ask for one with harbour view - it is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlissD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed last night, had a 'Superior Mountain view room' on floor '20' (which is really 13 floors high) - top floor, stunning views of the city and mountains, with a very large window to soak in the view. nice furniture and decor and nice bathroom. The staff were very kind and helpful, (reception lent me a charger for my phone) - First time in Hobart, will be my first stop for any future visits. - Just one thing, like 99% of other hotels they charge ridiculous prices for breakfast ($29)

Room Tip: Choose the superior room, I didn't see the older rooms but the refurbished rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful lobby, bar and restaurant. Rooms very clean and comfortable with a variety of pillows :-) Great view of the harbour. Within walking distance of Hobart City and Salamanca. As we were there for a karate tournament didn't get the chance to use the pool or gym amenities so can't comment on those. Initial booking done by Karate Victoria, but I had booked an additional night after that. Received phone call to say I should have checked out, even though I had received email confirmation of extra night. Had to cancel the rest of my day at the tournament to return to hotel and sort it out. By the time I got there, they had found my email - didn't bother calling me to tell me this and save me the trip back! Their attitude was as if they were doing ME a huge favour letting me stay an extra night even though it was their error.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mndym67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On business in Hobart Wednesday 5th Sept to 6th Sept 2013 and stayed at The Grand Chancellor.
From the moment I entered the building, the service by all staff (be they Reception, Porters Cleaning, Restaurant and Bar), was one of complete friendliness, politeness and a genuine willingness to help.
All smiled and greeted you - very warm, welcoming and friendly- can't say I have experienced this atmosphere in a long time. Especially loved the way the cleaning staff looked you in the eye, smiled and asked how your day was going. The staff should be commended (give them a pay rise :) )
The room was first class and on level 18, extremely clean and the view over the harbour was sensational. The cleaning staff even found my missing cuff link, called me and posted it home to me. I stay at many large city hotels and this one beats them all hands down!
I am now organising a holiday just to go back and "chill out" with my wife and enjoy this place.
I have in the past read comments that have been negative about the hotel, but I would most certainly just discount them - I can’t actually think of something negative to say about this place.
Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view high up in the building – you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tip: Make sure you ask for a harbour view high up in the building – you won’t be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed overnight in the Superior Mountainside room and it was wonderful! Our room was on the 15th floor and on the corner and it had the most spectacular views of the main roads through Hobart, Mount Wellington and the harbour! The room itself was well presented and we absolutely loved the king-size bed! So comfortable.
We did not try the restaurant or the room service but perused the menus and found them to be reasonably priced for the quality of dishes on offer.
The pool, gym and sauna were great value as well but there could be better signage for where the sauna was located. We spent a good five minutes trying to find it and we about to give up until I had gone into the change rooms and found the entrance to it in there!
Our stay was on a Saturday night and did not find noise to be a problem ( we didn't even bother to close the curtains ) but that may be different on the lower floors.
The parking fee was good at $9 for self parking overnight but $18 for valet parking seemed a bit steep!
We had an enjoyable anniversary stay and would highly recommend the Grand Chancellor!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $122 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing