We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently organised a conference here which was over 2 days with 220 delegates. I personally didn't stay at this hotel but others who did were pleased with the accommodation.

As far as a conference venue, it worked very well. Location is fabulous and you get glimpses of the views all day long as you wonder between sessions. The main conference room was set up classroom style and it worked very well. The staging team was excellent - we had no issues at all with presentations and technology. The expo was held in another large room and again the process of set up and take down was smooth and seamless. The food during the day (we had our conference dinner elsewhere) was excellent with some delicious curries and hearty food. The staff were very helpful and polite both in the conference area and in the reception and bar.

The only disappointment was that the bar did close at around 12:30am after the conference dinner which is the time when everyone has headed back to the hotel and are ready for a couple of quiet drinks before bed. It may have been a licencing issue, but it would have been good if management had extended the opening hours for this one night.

An excellent conference overall and I would recommend this venue for a well organised and professional experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,266 - 4,272 of 4,785 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently spent a few nights at this hotel for a conference. It provided what you would expect of a large hotel of this standard. Service was good, rooms quite nice and well appointed and the overall hotel facilities (business centre, function facilities, gym, pool, etc) were all very good.

The location of the hotel is excellant, right near Constitution Dock and within easy walking distance of many restaurants, shopping, etc.

Overall, a very nice hotel to stay at coupled with a great handy location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel. Comfortable beds good size rooms and great view. Heated indoor pool, sauna and gym were an added bonus. Easy walk to markets. Cheap parking. Had dinner ok but didn't meet expectations of photos and hotel write up.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There is no denying this hotel's outlook and location, the views over the working harbour of Hobart are stunning but it comes at a cost, it is right smack on the main road into Hobart and on level 11 (although it says level 11 it is about 4 floors up!) the early morning noise is intrusive - perhaps higher floors would not be so noisey. The rooms are of good size but lack any soul. I am not a big fan of light pine coloured timber nor huge desks in rooms - they do a lot of corporate and conference groups I guess. Underneath the TV there was an attempt to hide all the many cords in a wooden box but this is not working and looked very messy - same in a friends room. The bathrooms are also dated, left behind from the 80's Sheraton marble look with a totally useless exhaust fan. The kingsize bed was very very firm but surprisingly I slept well on it. If I thought the bed was hard then the two armchairs were concrete! They were not in any stretch of the imagination comfortable. Still the view makes up for its failings - and the cleanliness of the place cannot be faulted. Would not enjoy staying here though in one of the rooms at yhe back sold as mountainview rooms.

Room Tip: Go as high a floor as possible and pay the extra for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanHobart_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Mountainview room. Our room was upgraded at checkin which was pleasant suprise. The room was clean and spacious, the king sized bed was very comfortable. Our only concern with the room was the lighting which was quite dull in both the room and bathroom and hard to read in bed using only the bedside light. We found the staff to be friendly and courteous. We had breakfast at the hotel daily as it was nice and warm on the cold mornings, had a good range of food on the buffet, friendly staff and a lovely view overlooking the habour. The enjoyed walking around the habour from the hotel to eateries and galleries at Salmanca Place and it was central for our boat trips to MONA and Bruny Island. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was probably the cleanest hotel we have stayed in - no signs of anyone staying before us. It looked to be very recently renovated. Comfy King bed. Friendly reception staff, great location. The views from the water view side would be lovely - we had a mountain view room. Hated the car park! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jss1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here while attending a large conference at the hotel. Excellent conference venue and accommodation.
Situated across from the harbour and restaurants and close to the CBD. Rooms are modern and clean and the staff helpful. Bar and restaurant are first class.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms - harbour and city view. Get a room with a view of the harbour on one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $147 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing