We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location with stunning harbour views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location with stunning harbour views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed everything about this revamped hotel. The atrium bar offers a good range of beer & wine, bar snacks and high tea. Rooms were clean and comfortable with outstanding views. We were able to walk to all restaurants and it was only about 5 minutes walk to the main shopping precinct. We really looked forward to the beautiful breakfast each day. Don't leave it until the last minute, though, because they begin taking food away pretty promptly. We used to stay at the Henry Jones but after this visit will now choose to stay the Grand Chancellor when we visit Hobart.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THREETICKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    1,323
    264
    64
    33
See reviews for
649
1,352
163
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The desk staff at this hotel were very polite and professional and they were very helpful everytime I needed something. The location is great and the views of Hobart and the docks a sight to see. Our room was spacious comfortable and relaxing. Showers had best fittings I've seen in this type of hotel, so easy to adjust. We left for airport at 4.00am in the morning and the young guy at reception escorted my wife out while I went to get the hire car and then loaded our baggage in and I don't even think it was his job. The air conditioning is great and bed comfortable. The room service was excellent but the reason I only gave this 4 stars is because I think the in house room service meals that I had we're average. Apart from that this is a great hotel with a laid back feel in a great location with easy access to other eat out places which are just across the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms have window views of Hobart and other rooms have window rooms of the harbour. So you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a total of 3 nights on our week holiday in Tassie. Enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.

- great location near markets and restaurants
- Nice rooms with comfy beds and great views. 2 doubles so ideal for family of 4
- nice swimming pool but lacked a jacuzzi
- good value breakfast
- handy $8 parking
- staff a bit unfriendly but we found this everywhere in Tassie.

We liked it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWalshDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ended our 12 day self-driving tour of Tassie where we began... In Hobart. The Grand Chancellor provided the perfect end to a wonderful trip. At check-in, I was offered assistance with luggage. (No concierge service). The Front office staff member checking me in, came over and took our bags to our room. (Never had this service before). Pleasant staff. We had a refurbished room, which I booked prior to visiting Tassie. The Room was spacious, with an expansive, stunning view over the Harbour, and outlying areas of Hobart. We shared the one room with our teen son. Accom was almost full, as it was the Australia Day Long weekend. Towels luxurious, and bathroom modern and clean. Windows open slightly, but it was too noisy (for us) to sleep with them open, as we overlooked the docks. I don't like sleeping with air con all night. Beds very good. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet in the morning. The location is central to the Docks, restaurants, and walking distance to Salamanca Place and shops. Parking avail for $8/night. We ate dinner at the Restaurant Tasman, that night. It was excellent. A great way to finish our stay in Hobart. Recommended.

Room Tip: High Floor overlooking the Harbour is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptip4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spacious room on the 14th floor (Room 1426) with an excellent view over Victoria Dock and towards Constitution Dock. Comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Buffet breakfast is excellent and the staff in the hotel are fantastic throughout. Commendations go to the Team leader on 27th January who went to the trouble of getting the food for an elderly couple. She didn't have to do but did it anyway...and never stopped being happy in the whole process. Well Done.

The hotel look really boring from the outside but has beeen really well renovated. The lobby is fantastic and nice and spacious. Our room had also been renovated.

Only glitch to concern yourself about is possibly the air-conditioning. I read in another review to be careful if it was hot. It was not too hot and yet we needed air-con. and it seemed not to cope so well..and was a bit noisy. Despite that we loved the hotel..but be careful about this or check ahead and ask (hopefully it is not a generic issue). The view really is great and the hotel is so handy to the docks, fish and chips from Flippers etc and Salamanca markets is a leisurely 10 mins walk. Never used the pool bit its a decent size. Gym is simple but has the pre-requisities.

Room Tip: Try and get a bit higher than the 14th floor to fully appreciate the view. Room 1426 was fine for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennysonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very lovely place to stay with great view of the harbour and hills surrounding. Perfect to see the sunrise while lying in bed.
Great location, so close to everything central and Salamanca place.
The staff were very helpful and service was fabulous except for the cafe, which was a bit slow to serve and the fellow must have been having a bad day as no smile or even eye contact.
I would stay here again when next in Hobart.

Room Tip: The Harbour view is well worth the extra, though I did not see the city view rooms, they would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HariLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Chancellor for 7 nights for some R&R in January 2013. The location is great, walking distance from the Ferries, Restaurants and Markets. The hotel was well maintained, great housekeeping with a regular supply of fresh towels as needed and well stocked minibar. The room was surprisingly noisy. We were on the 20th floor, and the window rattled at night making it difficult to sleep. We could also hear sirens quite loudly, so the windows are definitely not double glazed. I was amazed to able to hear (from inside our room) the doors close from other rooms on our level, this was not so loud as to disturb our sleep, but it was strange. The service was average, but on par with most other Hotels in Australia…I mean you almost have to abduct someone for assistance with your bags (but that is not unusual in Australia). Overall the Hotel is reasonably good, but I do think that Hobart offers many far better alternatives at a similar tariff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing