We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Hobart and Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The desk staff at this hotel were very polite and professional and they were very helpful everytime I needed something. The location is great and the views of Hobart and the docks a sight to see. Our room was spacious comfortable and relaxing. Showers had best fittings I've seen in this type of hotel, so easy to adjust. We left for airport at 4.00am in the morning and the young guy at reception escorted my wife out while I went to get the hire car and then loaded our baggage in and I don't even think it was his job. The air conditioning is great and bed comfortable. The room service was excellent but the reason I only gave this 4 stars is because I think the in house room service meals that I had we're average. Apart from that this is a great hotel with a laid back feel in a great location with easy access to other eat out places which are just across the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms have window views of Hobart and other rooms have window rooms of the harbour. So you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,365 - 4,371 of 4,792 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a total of 3 nights on our week holiday in Tassie. Enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.

- great location near markets and restaurants
- Nice rooms with comfy beds and great views. 2 doubles so ideal for family of 4
- nice swimming pool but lacked a jacuzzi
- good value breakfast
- handy $8 parking
- staff a bit unfriendly but we found this everywhere in Tassie.

We liked it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonWalshDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ended our 12 day self-driving tour of Tassie where we began... In Hobart. The Grand Chancellor provided the perfect end to a wonderful trip. At check-in, I was offered assistance with luggage. (No concierge service). The Front office staff member checking me in, came over and took our bags to our room. (Never had this service before). Pleasant staff. We had a refurbished room, which I booked prior to visiting Tassie. The Room was spacious, with an expansive, stunning view over the Harbour, and outlying areas of Hobart. We shared the one room with our teen son. Accom was almost full, as it was the Australia Day Long weekend. Towels luxurious, and bathroom modern and clean. Windows open slightly, but it was too noisy (for us) to sleep with them open, as we overlooked the docks. I don't like sleeping with air con all night. Beds very good. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet in the morning. The location is central to the Docks, restaurants, and walking distance to Salamanca Place and shops. Parking avail for $8/night. We ate dinner at the Restaurant Tasman, that night. It was excellent. A great way to finish our stay in Hobart. Recommended.

Room Tip: High Floor overlooking the Harbour is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spacious room on the 14th floor (Room 1426) with an excellent view over Victoria Dock and towards Constitution Dock. Comfy bed and nice bathroom.
Buffet breakfast is excellent and the staff in the hotel are fantastic throughout. Commendations go to the Team leader on 27th January who went to the trouble of getting the food for an elderly couple. She didn't have to do but did it anyway...and never stopped being happy in the whole process. Well Done.

The hotel look really boring from the outside but has beeen really well renovated. The lobby is fantastic and nice and spacious. Our room had also been renovated.

Only glitch to concern yourself about is possibly the air-conditioning. I read in another review to be careful if it was hot. It was not too hot and yet we needed air-con. and it seemed not to cope so well..and was a bit noisy. Despite that we loved the hotel..but be careful about this or check ahead and ask (hopefully it is not a generic issue). The view really is great and the hotel is so handy to the docks, fish and chips from Flippers etc and Salamanca markets is a leisurely 10 mins walk. Never used the pool bit its a decent size. Gym is simple but has the pre-requisities.

Room Tip: Try and get a bit higher than the 14th floor to fully appreciate the view. Room 1426 was fine for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennysonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very lovely place to stay with great view of the harbour and hills surrounding. Perfect to see the sunrise while lying in bed.
Great location, so close to everything central and Salamanca place.
The staff were very helpful and service was fabulous except for the cafe, which was a bit slow to serve and the fellow must have been having a bad day as no smile or even eye contact.
I would stay here again when next in Hobart.

Room Tip: The Harbour view is well worth the extra, though I did not see the city view rooms, they would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HariLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Chancellor for 7 nights for some R&R in January 2013. The location is great, walking distance from the Ferries, Restaurants and Markets. The hotel was well maintained, great housekeeping with a regular supply of fresh towels as needed and well stocked minibar. The room was surprisingly noisy. We were on the 20th floor, and the window rattled at night making it difficult to sleep. We could also hear sirens quite loudly, so the windows are definitely not double glazed. I was amazed to able to hear (from inside our room) the doors close from other rooms on our level, this was not so loud as to disturb our sleep, but it was strange. The service was average, but on par with most other Hotels in Australia…I mean you almost have to abduct someone for assistance with your bags (but that is not unusual in Australia). Overall the Hotel is reasonably good, but I do think that Hobart offers many far better alternatives at a similar tariff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My title says it all ... can't beat the location and world class is a better description than just "modern" (which many non-modern hotels claim to be).

But at the outset I will lay bare the one problem with this hotel ... no wi-fi in the rooms ... YET. Very surprising for a hotel of this caliber, but it's apparently coming within a couple of months. This is Tasmania, after all, the little state that has strenuously fought to keep big commerce out, and keep it's quaintness. Give it time, it's on the cusp of greatness right now ... and still without all the big commerce that plagues other cities.

You can get wi-fi, however, by bringing your computer down to the lobby, where there are beautiful chairs and sofas all over the place to lounge comfortably on.

Our room was very nice, beds and pillows comfortable, shower adequate size, etc., but then this is subjective because all of us have different sleeping and bathroom preferences. We average about 10-15 hotels a year, so on a comparative basis, the bed and bathroom were as good as it gets. Also well set up for business needs (except the wi-fi for now, but it's coming).

Our room faced the harbour, which of course is the desired view, but if you get a back room, you'll be facing the city and Mount Wellington ... still a good view. The proximity of this hotel is great; walking distance up to the main city streets and shopping, walking distance to Salamanca Place, and just a few steps up from that is another most historic part of Hobart, Battery Point, which you must make time for.

Nice restaurants in the hotel, which we wish we'd gone to, especially when we were leaving and people were having traditional afternoon tea. Ouch! Would have loved that. Stiff competition from all the other nice restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Parking was $8 per night, under the hotel, swiping your room key, with drop-off box for your last exit. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, but the harbor/river side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $143 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing