We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well located business hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed two nights in Hobart at the Grand Chancellor Hotel for a work trip and enjoyed the pleasant location. The hotel faces the waterfront with numerous yachts moored and many great restaurants nearby.

The room is of a contemporary design and a good size with a small sofa and armchair as well as a good sized desk. My personal test of a hotel room is if they provide a steam iron as a dry iron is useless in most cases. Luckily the Grand Chancellor did provide a full size steam iron and board. No complaints with the room service breakfast. However the restaurant serves predictable hotel food. So definitely take a short stroll to one of the many excellent restaurants over the road and around the docks.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as you have a better view and extra windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    1,424
    280
    67
    34
See reviews for
706
1,490
177
1,183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a treat we booked into one of the deluxe suites and were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we entered the sweeping 270 degree views took our breaths away. A bonus was that many of the yachts from the Sydney to Hobart were still docked there.

Hobart's wharf area is a relaxing but action-filled spot this time of year and made our visit more memorable.

We ate in the hotel's dining room and were not disappointed.

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Would definitely go back again and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a suite or a room with views of the dock area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. Usually I get a mountain view room which is a beautifully appointed room, with views back over the city, but recently I was upgraded to a harbour view room. THe view is stunning, looking out over Constitution Dock. THe location is very good for picking up dinner at the dock, or a short 10 minute walk to Salamanca Place. The staff at this hotel are exceptional and really make the stay. They are so very helpful and friendly, both on arriving and checkout. Nothing is too much trouble. This prices at this hotel are very variable as there are lots of conferences held there. The rooms I have had have always been spotless.
I would be very happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a room looking out towards the harbour with a king bed for 1 night.
The view from the room was beautiful and the bedroom was comfortable with a particularly comfortable king bed.
The bathroom was modern and nice although the in bath shower was too narrow and the shower head wasn't great.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which included an egg station.

The hotel's location is very central. The salamanca markets are a short 10 minute stroll, as are some of the better city dining destinations.

Valet parking was $15 but there is lots of street parking available across the road.

There didn't seem to be wi-fi available in the room.

We stayed at the Henry Jones on our previous visit and think that this hotel is just as comfortable, with a better breakfast and whilst its not as stylish as Henry Jones, its definitely better value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room looking out to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're looking for a fantastic location- this is one of the best. Other positives- decent room service, adequate housekeeping services / clean rooms, comfortable bed, in-room fridge is big enough to add snacks and wine purchased off site. Oh, and the shower has excellent water pressure.
However.....the list of things about this hotel that need to improve is not short.
Has been refurbished, but not completely updated. The drapes in the room look like they are still sticking around and didn't get updated this go-round. The pool closes at 10pm- that is hardly enough time to come home from a dinner out and go for a relaxing swim- I was quite disappointed about that in particular. Would have loved a warm swim at night. Perhaps the point I was most disappointed in was the wireless issue. Since the invention of the ipad (welcome to the world) I rarely travel with my laptop. As such, you are only entitled to 30 minutes of free wi-fi per day per room, otherwise you have to purchase additional time. Seriously? SERIOUSLY? This hotel touts itself as a business travelers destination, but I'm thinking.....no.
Another thing- the temperature controls in the room? Not intuitive. We had to ask for help on how to set the AC. If I were to come back to Hobart, I'd probably look around a bit for a different hotel, but in this same area. It's not that I wouldn't stay here again, but if I did, I think I'd try and negotiate more wireless included in the room.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get a harbour facing room- the view is gorgeous. And don't get a room by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location on the harbour. It's a pretty old hotel, they've done a nice job of modernising the common areas and the rooms are fresh and clean but refurbished rather than renovated is what you get. For an overnight corporate stay, perfectly fine. But if you're on holiday look for something with a bit more personality or history.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have harbour views, odd number not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MmeParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I first visited the HGC hobart in 2010 for a conference.

Conference facilities:

Good food, Great conference rooms

Hotel:

Nice rooms, comfortable, spacious, clean and looking over Mt.Wellington.

Services:
Used the hotel bar and Breakfast room - all to the standard you would expect for a good hotel.
Hairdresser was also good for a wash/trim/style before a night out.

Location was excellent. I am returning next month for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing