We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with husband. My friends (another couple are there for five nights). We have stayed a few times in the past years. It is much nicer now as they have just revamped a number of rooms which are lovely and fresh and tastefully done. We were on the 18th floor, kingsize bed and waterviews.

The buffet breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgchobart, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear GypsyAustralia,

Thank you for your great feedback, we’re glad you liked our newly refurbished rooms and the water views over the Victoria and Constitution docks and the River Derwent. Good to hear you found the breakfast delicious. I’m please to say that we have opened another three floors of the new rooms, which are also getting great comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Ralph Freckelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,393
    274
    66
    34
See reviews for
688
1,444
175
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Disapointing stay, we had some issues with check in, first room not clean and was a special access bathroom, asked to change rooms as our booking had stated a bath and this room didn't have one. Told hotel was full and unable to change rooms without upgrading to a refurbished room and that there would be a charge.However their website showed vancant rooms in our class so felt were being forced into an upgrade just to get what we had originally booked and paid for. We agreed to an upgrade and went out for dinner. With more time to think we decided this wasn't really good enough to have to pay extra to move out of a room which did not match the description of the room we had paid for. Came back and argued this with duty manager who eventually after three room changes at 11pm at night said "i am changing you to the room you originally booked' like it was a favour when this is all we had wanted in the first place. You would think at this time of night she could have just waived the upgrade fee considering all the dramas and that our bags had already been moved to the superior room but no we were moved again, finally to the room we had orginally booked.
Duty manager unable to explain why they were telling us all the standard rooms were booked out yet we could have booked one on the website.
Arrival to the correct room and the room was not paticualarly clean, dated decor and tiny shower over a bath. Have stayed in the refurbished rooms and they are far superior to the rooms that haven't been refurbished.
I don't believe the unrefurbished rooms are 4 star.
Did receive a call from the general manager to follow up on our comments card which was appreciated. However he didn't offer a soloution or compensation for the all the dramas of our stay.
Overall disapointed with the service and room standard. Good location however.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jls2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgchobart, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Jls2608,

We’re sorry you felt the need to write this review, especially after our discussion where it felt like we had resolved the issues raised at that time and apologised for any inconvenience.

We’re not entirely sure this a true reflection of the service we offer and we’d be glad to welcome you back to the hotel in the future when I am sure you will find the hotel lives up to your expectation.

Best Regards,

Ralph Freckelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just loved staying here. central location. we had a harbor view room so the view of Hobart harbour was great. It was a large room, nicely furnished. Check in was good, our deal included a bottle of wine, so to arrive back after a big day touring to find they had taken the time to put it in ice bucket was great, a good touch. Scrumptious buffet brekky. Good parking under the building. The place to stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Harbour View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live-dream-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgchobart, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear PennygAustralia,

Thank you for such warm and positive feedback on your recent stay. We think the views of the River Derwent and the activity in both Constitution and Victoria docks are a great aspect from our rooms.

Good to hear you found the buffet breakfast scrumptious, it’s just the thing to start a day of touring around Hobart.

We hope you had a great break in Hobart and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ralph Freckelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I arrrived late after a long work day and front of house were still helpful and cheery, which was a pleasant surprise. Stayed in Room 1115 which has disabled access which I don’t need. It didn’t strike me that the hotel was that busy so I am not sure why I was given this room. Sime of the access points were a bit low and not ideal. The room is odd in that if you leave the bathroom door open you can’t get to the room door. The bed and pillows were good but couldn’t find the thermostat for heating. Slightly dated finishes and a less appealing view of the rear northern aspect (up the hill) and away from the water.
I will stay here again as the position of the hotel is ideal for an out of towner like me, positioned a short walk to the Hobart City Centre and Salamanca Place with cafe Zum and others like it. Overall I like the Grand Chancellor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmurphAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just spent two nights here visitng family. Very smart entrance and foyer. When I walked into my room I audibly said wow. Wall to wall window directly overlooking the harbour. The room was furnished in a simple but modern style and had a very comfortable bed. The curtains are thickly lined so close out all the stunning harbour and city lights when required.
On the second night we ate in the hotel restaurant. With notice given the day before the kitchen happily came up with a delicious and imaginative vegan meal for me. Our lovely waitress also handled special requests from my parents re sauces and accompaniments beautifully.
Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Tip - ask for a refurbished room with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and that the heating in the room worked very well. The room was a bit disappointing as it was just that...a hotel room, overlooking a very large roof area below of adjoining properties. We should have paid the extra $50 for a harbour view. The marble bathroom advertised, was old and basic and tired, ( pink and grey flecked 'marble' of the 80s). The traffic noise was quite loud and the corridor had a strange smell.The barman served a late evening liquor, in a tumbler, which he spilt down the side of the glass and didn't wipe away. Sticky! We don't get away often and the overall trip was disappointing, but perhaps we were expecting too much. If the bathroom had been as expected, I suspect that everything else would have seemed much better as well.

Room Tip: A harbour view would have been much better and I would ask if any of the rooms had new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needsun255344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The best thing about the hotel is its location. The room is spacious but a bit old. We were celebrating my birthday in the trip and asked for a complimentary upgrade 2 weeks before we were there through emails. But no one replied at all. I think at least a rejection should be made. This is very unresponsive and impolite.

When we arrived, we made the same request again. The staff offered no answer again (not even a "NO"/ "All rooms are full")....I don't understand why they have such a culture.

Yet, not all staffs are unhelpful. A girl (too bad that we didn't get her name) wearing glasses with pony-tail kindly helped us made enquiry to airport transportation and local tours. This is highly appreciated.

Also, it would be good if they provide free internet access at the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TATA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing