We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great addition to the Hobart experience”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.88*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #14 of 156 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit here and would certainly recommend it to others. The collection has been very cleverly displayed and provides a wonderful place to spend a few hours. We enjoyed all aspects of the museum - the insight into the original inhabitants pre-settlement, the collection of artworks, including works by prominent Australian artists and some very interesting colonial paintings and furniture, the sections on animals etc etc. The museum shop and the cafe, where you can eat in a covered area overlooking the inner courtyard, are excellent too. For those with a car, there is meter parking for 3 hours directly outside the museum.

Thank Lillian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG, and we're glad you enjoyed our revamped exhibitions and facilities. Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bond store"
in 37 reviews
"natural history"
in 33 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 21 reviews
"free entry"
in 43 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 11 reviews
"antarctic display"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 60 reviews
"great displays"
in 11 reviews
"few hours"
in 51 reviews
"rainy day"
in 30 reviews
"native animals"
in 11 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 42 reviews
"tasmania"
in 323 reviews
"tempest"
in 22 reviews
"tiger"
in 34 reviews
"donation"
in 48 reviews
"coin"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1,004 - 1,008 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I took less time at Mona than anticipated so had a few hours to kill , stumbled past and thought I'd have a look. Was very surprised to find it was free! Happily wandered through several mini exhibitions in different sub galleries. A great insight into Tasmania present and past . Not sure why people complain given they didn't pay for the experience.

1  Thank princess_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to TMAG. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

An interesting museum and art gallery but a bit under par for a capital city. Good history lesson, especially about green issues with content from both sides of the argument. A traditional selection of early Australian art. I felt that I saw everthing quite quickly and wanted more about Tasmanian flora and fauna.

Thank izitulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG, and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Do yourself a favour and set aside a couple of hours to visit the museum and art gallery. It is not as large as its mainland counterparts but well set up and interesting. Well positioned in the city.

Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us - do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good about this museum, anything that engages a 3yo and a 5yo for an entire day and provokes tears at closing time is doing a LOT right. Brilliant.

Thank AussieJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing