We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free tours, though not tooooooo much to see.”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.04*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #10 of 135 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Free tours, though not tooooooo much to see.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A lot of history, which various from that of mainland Australia so is interesting, The gallery doesn't have as much to see as others, so doesn't need much time- it really is more a collection of random objects/ a formally displayed junk-shop of collectables to examine. Interesting lay-out though, and plenty to learn about.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

We're pleased your enjoyed the free tours that we offer to our visitors and that you found elements of the museum, recently redeveloped and restored, that were of interest.

Thanks again,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    338
    85
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wonderful Museum and art gallery. We were lucky enough to find a escorted tour through the Art Gallery with Jane, one of the curators. If you can, this is a must.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank willow283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. We're very pleased you enjoyed your visit as much as you did and that you particularly enjoyed the free guided tour your joined.

Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really eccentric”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have never seen such a big amount of the most different things put together like in this museum: medieval weaponry, Japanese masks, stuffed anymals, jewels. Still, for some reason, you can see that someone really did believe in the project, and everything just comes in its place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. We are pleased your enjoyed the eclecticism of our collection and the variety of art, objects and stories on display.

Do come back if you are ever visiting Hobart again.

Thanks again, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More engaging for kids”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've always loved the old museum, its just had a facelift moving it into 21st century. Now its like a mini Te Papa. The aboriginal section tells the story really well. I found some of the layout of the display cases a little confusing, but the stories being told were interesting

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review your recent visit to the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

We're pleased that you enjoy your visit and that you found our redeveloped exhibitions particularly engaging for younger visitors. We've worked hard to integrate interactive experiences for children throughout the museum and this has been received well.

Do come again!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Renovations a success”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

New life has been breathed into the museum with the renovations. Everything has a new look and good to see some of the tired old exhibitions getting a new lease of life.

The current exhibition of Piguenit paintings should not be missed. His Black and White series of landscapes were particularly memorable. As ever the Colonial Gallery gives a real picture of early Hobart Town through the detail of the large paintings.

While the museum opens at 10.00am, the cafe is accessible earlier via a side door (see web site).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the redeveloped Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery . We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing