We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here - it's closed!”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.93*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #9 of 136 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
781 reviews
310 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 806 helpful votes
“Don't go here - it's closed!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Please don't come to Hobart and expect to make a visit here - it's closed for renovations for a long time. Very disappointing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for taking time to leave a review of the Tasmanian Museum & Arty Gallery (TMAG).

You are correct when you advise that TMAG is currently closed. We are currently finalising the installation of 12 major new exhibitions and completing a major site redevelopment that will improve access to our heritage buildings and provide first class visitor services.

We have had to close temporarily over the summer period but will be reopen in early 2013. In relative terms, smaller museums have been known to close for much longer while trying to achieve much less and we are pleased with our progress so far and proud to have only had to close our site for a short period of time.

For full details of what we are working to provide for our visitors, you could visit the redevelopment section of our website at tmag.tas.gov.au.

While we appreciate the disappointment some visitors are experiencing when they find we are temporarily closed, we hope that this will be countered by their enjoyment of this $30 million redevelopment project on return visits from early 2013 on.

Thanks again for your time and review,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    334
    83
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a wander”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Currently undergoing renovations, with a few areas closed off, but still an OK visit. Easy to access whilst walking around Hobart city. The colonial art gallery with the accompanying information is great. Will re-visit on next trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RiverDream2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for taking some time to review our museum.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit, despite our limited offering during our major redevelopment project, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Travel well,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hopefully it will be better after the renovations”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one very tired museum that has definitely seen better days. Currently undergoing major renovations and with MONA breathing down its neck, lets hope that it gains a lease of new life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Hi Tim and thanks for your review of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

We're confident that the redeveloped museum site, which will open in early 2013, will be received as a major improvement and that it will better showcase the diverse collections the museum maintains.

For more information about the scope of the project that we are undertaking, you can visit: http://www.tmag.tas.gov.au/visitor_information/redevelopment/stage_one_early_works

Thanks for your time and do come again when the redevelopment works are complete.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Colonial Art Gallery not to be missed”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A visit to the Colonial Art Gallery in the museum should be essential for all visitors. The paintings are so detailed you get a real feel for what Old Hobart Town was like.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Malbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

Some of the collections you've mentioned in your review aren't on show just at the moment, due to a major redevelopment project that will be complete by early 2013. At that time, all of the material you remember well (including the Colonial art collection) will be able to be enjoyed again along with new and exciting exhibitions that will better showcase the wonders of the TMAG collection.

Thank you again for your review and do come see us again in 2013 when our full site is accessible once more.

Thank you,
Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old fashioned wonderful museum”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I particularly enjoy the 19th c art gallery and can gaze at the old pictures as if they were photos of the early settlement of Hobart. The paintings of well known Tasmanian aborigines are sad and wonderful.
My favourite part of the Museum used to be the old courtyard. Sadly this has been all but lost in the current redevelopment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kateshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Kate, we are pleased that you enjoy your time at our Museum.

You'll be pleased to know that while it is not currently accesible, our courtyard will be able to be enjoyed again when our redevelopment project is complete. The courtyard will serve as the main visitor entrance to our redeveloped city site and is being lovingly upgraded to improve access.

We look forward to your next visit and to revealing our new exhibitions and spaces in early 2013.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing