We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, limited service”
Review of Blue Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Hills Motel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Blue Hills is only a 15-minute walk from Salamanca and the harbor. There is no restaurant at the hotel, and they follow the unfortunate Hobart custom of most 3-star motels of not having any staff present from 8pm to 8 am. They do offer great free WiFi, a relatively rare option in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yekatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Arriving late on a flight (9.30pm) to find that reception closes at 8pm. I had to find someone to get me a room. Luckily that happened. The room was OK, comfortable but had a stale smell.
The TV is analogue and therefore the digital channels were unavailable. The bathroom - in particular - the shower was tiny. I could barely fit in. It had no doors and was kind of shoved in a funny shaped corner.
However, for the price, it is OK. If you have lots of luggage there is no lift so its a decent walk up the stairs.

Room Tip: Lower levels if you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMJphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel has 2types of locations apartments with 1 queen and 2pull out singles that have mattresses that are not fit for a dog. It is a 3story walk up so beware if you have any issues with stairs. Also we are having a hot spell 33 and there is no air and no screens on the broken windows. We changed rooms to the hotel and they are a bit nicer but in awful need of MAJOR renovations. The 3 goods things the staff is very helpful, free internet and great location. if you are a collage kid or on a very tight budget then.... For me no thank you great way to spoil a visit to an amazing city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here over christmas and new year period with my partners family.We booked two 1 bed apartments and the "cottage" there were a few good points and a few bad points. I stayed in the Three bedroom cottage

First the good,
the Hotel is well located in sandy bay, just a short walk down to Salamanca Markets and the Salamanca precinct. Woolworths and various other takeaway and specialty stores are located within a short walk of the hotel. there's a big selection of free magazines in the foyer area for guests to take. the 1 bed apartments were clean and comfortable and have a small kitchen.

As for the bad points they were mostly to do with poor cleaning in my room and the terrible layout. upon arrival I noticed that there was a huge amount of dust hanging out of the exhaust fan (now im not known for my housework, but if i can spot dust straight away the cleaners should have seen it too). the bathroom had a rreally terrible layout, the shower was very narrow and jammed into a corner where the roof slopes down, where the toilet on the other side had a huge amount of space around it (I thought they should have orginally been placed the other way), the bathroom door also posed it challenges, opening outwards at the top of the stairs and also covering the doorway to the master bedroom. access to the room was through the second bedroom downstairs. there is a third bedroom which faced north and was mostly glass, which meant that its was roasting hot in there when we arrived in the afternoon

overall I wasnt impressed with this property and Im not sure that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 1 bed aparments are much nicer than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneykieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I thought this was a great place to stay, awesome location, good value. They are in need of an update, and where starting the prep for it on leaving, I think out will only improve as the friendly staff and good service make a great base once the rooms are upgraded.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Well, this place isn't the Ritz, but it's not the pits either. Basic and cheap are the key words here but beware the paper thin walls and cardboard doors - you can hear other guests doing all manner of things. The service desk is under-attended but there seem to be piles of free and current magazines in the lobby (yes, I will call it the lobby). This place also has some interesting looking apartments for families and groups of friends. Did I mention the paper thin walls?

thezipperjam.com

Room Tip: Room 25 (or was it 29???) is a corner room with a great view over Hobart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thezipperjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised. We were in the best room for views!! We could have stayed there way longer.We will next visit!! Room very clean. Loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenn_189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#36 of 47 in Hobart
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 47 in Hobart
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#34 of 47 in Hobart
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#21 of 47 in Hobart
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 47 in Hobart
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hills Motel

Address: 96 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $63 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Hills Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Battery Point
Best Western Hobart
Hobart Best Western
Blue Hills Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing