We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2009

After reading all the great reviews of this place I booked it with high hopes and was not dissapointed. The reception desk and staff were not overly helpful and the downstairs as well as the outside looked its 3 star rating.
The rooms, on the other hand, felt new, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. We rented two of the family rooms and they were great, with a corner window used for the table seating. The mini-bar was great too! We didn't bother going out and buying our own water and sodas but instead used theirs since they were the same prices as we would have gotten at the supermarket.
It is walking distance to the harbor/pier and also the Salamanca Market. It is located on the first major round-about when you enter the city of Hobart, making it easy to locate for those who rented cars.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

We had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is also great with just a short walk from the waterfront. The rooms are well-sized with a nice view of the fountain, the highway and ABC building. Would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Hobart.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaksIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Just came home from Travelling Tasmania for 2 weeks. This was by far the best Hotel we stayed in. The rooms are excellent, beautiful king size beds, plasma tv, spacious, great shower, and very clean. I recommend dining for breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, cheap prices and excellent food. There is nothing too much for the staff, they are very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for two nights then went to Port Arthur, back to Hobart to stay at the Leisure Inn Waterfront Hotel........What a mistake, it was disgusting, could not stay there it was so bad. Went straight back into town to see if there was a spare room at the Fountainside. They were great, said it was a pleasure to have us back and gave us a family room which was fantastic for the same price as a normal room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and should you be in Hobart you would be hard pressed to find such a fantastic hotel that is so well appointed and close to everything in the city. Great value! Five stars from us!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hellopossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This Trip Advisor reviewed hotel that we decided to stay at in Hobart really was a gem. Located in the theatre district, two blocks from the waterfront in a very nice quiet area. My wife and I stayed here three nights (Fri, Sat & Sun). Our hotel room was on the first floor, unfortunately no view to speak of, but the room was large and spacious, with a small kitchenette and a very comfortable bed. The mini bar was to die for, really cheap prices on everything, and the traffic noise was minimal, even on the Monday morning, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I'm giving this hotel 3 stars for one main reason. Noise. It's located on a busy roundabout and the windows are single pane. Roaring motorcycles, trucks engine braking, you name the street noise and it will permeate your room. Which is too bad because the beds are wonderful: king sized and extremely plush. These are beds worthy of a 5 star hotel. I actually requested a quiet room and was given the corner room on the 6th floor. We still heard the traffic noise and it doesn't diminish that much at night.

The rooms have obviously been remodeled recently and they're very nicely done (why didn't they upgrade the windows at that time?). We did have a little trouble adjusting the hot/cold mix in the shower. Hot and cold are controlled by separate valves and it takes a fair amount of fiddling to get the right temperature. If you're a TV watcher, the rooms are outfitted with not only flat panel TV's but the largest flat panels I have ever come across at a hotel -- at least 40", maybe greater. There's a fee for Internet access but it's a very fair -- something like $.05 per MB.

Other things: the location is very good. It's an easy walk to the waterfront and the Salamanca area. Also, parking is free and the desk staff is friendly.

In summary, I would recommend this hotel to a friend with the caveat that they bring ear plugs. If not for the noise, this hotel is definitely worthy of a higher rating.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed here for a total of four nights. The rooms were large and comfortable with king size beds and plasma TV. The mini bar was stocked and the prices were cheaper than going out to a bar. We ate there every night as the meals were both appetising and huge.
I read about this hotel on trip advisor and was glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

I selected this place based on price and I was definitely impressed! I booked online and believe we got a better deal than had we called. Walking in I had my doubts about the place, but the room was gorgeous. The funishings, the bright modern bathroom and the view was wonderful. I could see a lot of business people staying here. It was an extremely clean room.

I nearly fell over when I saw the prices on the mini bar, food & drinks were everyday prices not the exuberant prices they normally are.

The staff did their job in respects to checking you in and out etc. Nothing special about their service.

I would definitely stay here again for work or for leisure travelling.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbtraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 47 in Hobart
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $94 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing