We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in Hobart”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This Trip Advisor reviewed hotel that we decided to stay at in Hobart really was a gem. Located in the theatre district, two blocks from the waterfront in a very nice quiet area. My wife and I stayed here three nights (Fri, Sat & Sun). Our hotel room was on the first floor, unfortunately no view to speak of, but the room was large and spacious, with a small kitchenette and a very comfortable bed. The mini bar was to die for, really cheap prices on everything, and the traffic noise was minimal, even on the Monday morning, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2009

I'm giving this hotel 3 stars for one main reason. Noise. It's located on a busy roundabout and the windows are single pane. Roaring motorcycles, trucks engine braking, you name the street noise and it will permeate your room. Which is too bad because the beds are wonderful: king sized and extremely plush. These are beds worthy of a 5 star hotel. I actually requested a quiet room and was given the corner room on the 6th floor. We still heard the traffic noise and it doesn't diminish that much at night.

The rooms have obviously been remodeled recently and they're very nicely done (why didn't they upgrade the windows at that time?). We did have a little trouble adjusting the hot/cold mix in the shower. Hot and cold are controlled by separate valves and it takes a fair amount of fiddling to get the right temperature. If you're a TV watcher, the rooms are outfitted with not only flat panel TV's but the largest flat panels I have ever come across at a hotel -- at least 40", maybe greater. There's a fee for Internet access but it's a very fair -- something like $.05 per MB.

Other things: the location is very good. It's an easy walk to the waterfront and the Salamanca area. Also, parking is free and the desk staff is friendly.

In summary, I would recommend this hotel to a friend with the caveat that they bring ear plugs. If not for the noise, this hotel is definitely worthy of a higher rating.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed here for a total of four nights. The rooms were large and comfortable with king size beds and plasma TV. The mini bar was stocked and the prices were cheaper than going out to a bar. We ate there every night as the meals were both appetising and huge.
I read about this hotel on trip advisor and was glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

I selected this place based on price and I was definitely impressed! I booked online and believe we got a better deal than had we called. Walking in I had my doubts about the place, but the room was gorgeous. The funishings, the bright modern bathroom and the view was wonderful. I could see a lot of business people staying here. It was an extremely clean room.

I nearly fell over when I saw the prices on the mini bar, food & drinks were everyday prices not the exuberant prices they normally are.

The staff did their job in respects to checking you in and out etc. Nothing special about their service.

I would definitely stay here again for work or for leisure travelling.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbtraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My partner and I stayed here after reading reviews on trip advisor. I agree with the other reviews of this hotel - they are all correct. It's in a great central location good for walking to many attractions, shops, restaurants and the salamanca markets.

The room was clean, bed very comfortable, great shower, big tv. There was some noise from traffic but not too disturbing - still able to sleep very well. Modern updated furnishings - don't be decieved by the outside of the hotel - it is not a reflection of the rooms inside at all.

We paid $110 for 1 night - excellent value for hotel in centre of city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed here with husband and adult daughter for 5 nights. Excellent facilities and great room. Walked everywhere, good location for all sightseeing. Cheapest mini bar I've ever found (50c can of Coke!). Buffet breakfast also excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

looks like a bunker by a traffic circle from the outside but rooms are surprisingly good, reasonable price, really central at 5 minutes from the harbour, good restaurant, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 47 in Hobart
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $100 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing