We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest minibar ever”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Clean, comfortable, Quiet (3rd floor) bargain minibar (3.50 for a full strength beer!). Everything is a nice stroll from the hotel. Didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. Free wifi. Foxtel. Would def stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MushroomHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Unbelievable value for money. Must have the cheapest mini bar in the world! $3.50 for a beer along with $11 for a full breakfast! Room is very comfortable and the staff so friendly and helpful. Close to the city, Salamanka and North Hobart restaurants. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our second stay at The Fountainside, the first time a little over 12 months ago - and if possible it was even better this time.
The staff are friendly, helpful and a constant source of information about Hobart if required.One particular staff member ( and I will apologies in advance for a probable misspelling of her name) was Sharah. A delightful young lady who one minute was running reception and on other nights running around and fussing over us in the dining room. Nothing was too much trouble and any task always completed with a smile.
The rooms are of generous size and the beds are some of the best we have ever slept in. The rooms are tidy, clean and are well stocked with both drinks, snacks and any other items required in room or bathroom. The prices, after much research and considering the quality of the hotel are the best in Hobart.
We have over the years stayed at many fine hotels, some with iconic names but the Fountainside is as good as any of them.
We venture to Tasmania at least once a year and we wouldn't stay anywhere else

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better view of the fountain at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found the location perfect for walking to the wharf/shops and leaving our car in their carpark. The rooms are warm, spacious and inviting. Big King bed that is very comfortable. Had some traffic noise but didn't wake us and we live in the country! Nice buffet breakfast as well. Would recommend this hotel to families as very reasonable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lennice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

It's very near to Salamanca market and Sullivans Cove where both are within walking distance. Complimentary internet is certainly one of the plus point. Staff are very friendly and will definitely stay at the same place when we get back to Hobart again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Brandon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2nights at the beginning of our holiday and 1 night at the end. We found the bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The front desk were very helpful with advice and were very kind to let us leave our car parked there when we checked out as we were flying out 6 hours later. We stayed in a room overlooking the roundabout and didn't find the noise a problem (it stopped quite early) The location is great. Would stay again on our next trip to Hobart. Good Value

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoggy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Fountainside in May. It is very conveniently located with just a short 10-15 minute walk to the harbour and Salamanca areas. The room on the 6 floor was clean and comfortable. Mini bar prices are very cheap. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on food. Staff were pleasant and helpful, even recommending some great restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a floor near top as traffic noise could be a problem on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WenKerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 47 in Hobart
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $87 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing