We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great value, really nice staff. Walking distance to the wharf and Salamanca Place. Traffic is a bit noisy, but overall, would highly recommend. Comfortable beds. We stayed twice during our trip to Tasmania.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Now with free wifi this is a great place to stay. Only downside is the food. No chefs cooking dinner, just staff reheating meals. Fried flathead tails were soggy and the oily undercooked potato gratin was a disaster for the bowels. But I'm not here to review the food. The rooms are cheap, well appointed and the staff are excellent. Bogans in Hobart do like to rev their engines until the wee hours tho...

Room Tip: Go 7th floor. You get a Japanese style toilet lol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose this hotel based on recommendations in the Hobart forum from the local TA Destination Experts.

It was very reasonably priced and well located. The free onsite parking was good. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very pleasant. I was impressed with gluten free and non-dairy options offered in the breakfast. We'll be back here on our next trip to Hobart.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3124Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We chose this hotel partly because it was one of the cheaper ones so close to the wharf. What value for money! We were on the top floor so little to no traffic noise. Very comfortable, nicely presented, clean room and good service. Free on-site parking very handy. Cheapest mini bar I have ever seen and breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor superior king room is worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple_from_emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a night here recently and the hotel is in a good locality about a 5 minute walk to nearby Constitution dock. The service was good and the rooms very spacious and clean. The rooms are nice decorated and it has a big tv with fox tv. Parking is free and on site. The only downside is there is no gym if your into that sort of thing. Good city hotel and reasonably priced.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Joey60_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. Yes it is beside a roundabout, but lets face it, its Hobart not Paris so the traffic wasn't that bad. We had one of the noisiest rooms (14) and we slept very well (including our 5yr old) The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, with nice toiletries. The mini bar is excellent value and so is the breakfast we had. Yes the breakfast is basic, but there is plenty of it and we found to be quite good quality and well cooked and tasty (and we've eaten a few hotel brekkies over the last few yrs), so we were very happy. The bread was delicious. It is close to everything that it needs to be close to and the staff were lovely. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyJo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night and the Hotel is good for those wanting a basic room with no trimmings.

The restaurant meals were cheap but so was the tasteless steak I ate. Being close to Salamanca I would recommend that you eat out.

Would I stay again..probably not. It did the job but the hotel needs a facelift and modernising.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank storm_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $85 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing