We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This pleasant hotel was good value”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This pleasant hotel was good value”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose this hotel based on recommendations in the Hobart forum from the local TA Destination Experts.

It was very reasonably priced and well located. The free onsite parking was good. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very pleasant. I was impressed with gluten free and non-dairy options offered in the breakfast. We'll be back here on our next trip to Hobart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3124Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    476
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
182
653
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We chose this hotel partly because it was one of the cheaper ones so close to the wharf. What value for money! We were on the top floor so little to no traffic noise. Very comfortable, nicely presented, clean room and good service. Free on-site parking very handy. Cheapest mini bar I have ever seen and breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor superior king room is worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple_from_emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a night here recently and the hotel is in a good locality about a 5 minute walk to nearby Constitution dock. The service was good and the rooms very spacious and clean. The rooms are nice decorated and it has a big tv with fox tv. Parking is free and on site. The only downside is there is no gym if your into that sort of thing. Good city hotel and reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey60_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. Yes it is beside a roundabout, but lets face it, its Hobart not Paris so the traffic wasn't that bad. We had one of the noisiest rooms (14) and we slept very well (including our 5yr old) The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, with nice toiletries. The mini bar is excellent value and so is the breakfast we had. Yes the breakfast is basic, but there is plenty of it and we found to be quite good quality and well cooked and tasty (and we've eaten a few hotel brekkies over the last few yrs), so we were very happy. The bread was delicious. It is close to everything that it needs to be close to and the staff were lovely. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night and the Hotel is good for those wanting a basic room with no trimmings.

The restaurant meals were cheap but so was the tasteless steak I ate. Being close to Salamanca I would recommend that you eat out.

Would I stay again..probably not. It did the job but the hotel needs a facelift and modernising.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank storm_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked the Fountainside Hotel for our weekend in Hobart because of all the fantastic reviews both on Booking.com and Trip Advisor. Were not disappointed as all the positive comments were spot on! Rooms are tastefully decorated with everything you need, minibar with supermarket prices and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. For $11.80 each the buffet breakfast is wonderful value and the hotel is very centrally located, as easy walk to the waterfront and Salamanca Market. We also had a hire car and there was plenty of on-site parking, you could easily come on go as you pleased - no waiting for the valet to retrieve your car each time - and there was no time that there wasn't a park for us (and the hotel was fully booked). Really can't find anything negative to say about our stay at the Fountainside Hotel! Excellent value hotel right in the middle of the city! Don't be fooled by the older outside exterior. We'll certainly be back, next time we'll be taking our kids too as they also have family rooms as well!

Room Tip: Some of the reviews said that they found the traffic noise from the adjacent roundabout excessive, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynedurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice on my travels to Hobart. The price is great and the rooms are clean and well maintained. The well priced minibar is fantastic! We always got the breakfast in the morning, it was easy, cheap and delicious. The staff are always very friendly, it definitely feels a lot more like a private hotel than a big chain. The first time we stayed we were far away from the elevator and it was quiet and private. The second time we were right in front of an elevator and next to a bigger family room. The second time gave a lot of noise and definitely didn't feel as private. However I still recommend this hotel to everyone for value and comfort. It is within walking distance of the main part of the city as well as Salamanca Square.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishwellingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Property: Fountainside Hotel
Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing