We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Value”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent value, clean and modern. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant which is great value though the menu is limited so you wouldn't eat there every day if staying for more than 2 - 3 days.

We would definitely stay here again but also recommend their sister apartment hotel (St Ives) near Battery Point.

Only potential downside is the traffic noise which didn't bother us.

By the way, Fountainside and St Ives are the only hotels we have been to and used the mini bar!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozblue_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    476
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
182
653
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent two weekend nights in this hotel, and have no complaints at all. The staff were very friendly - even when I rocked up at 4.a.m. - and the rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel is located near a major roundabout but there was no traffic noise at all. It is a pleasant 15 minute walk down to the waterfront and the major attractions. With all this, it is less expensive than you would expect. If I'm down there again, this will be my choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A little rough looking on the exterior, this hotel is fabulous.
The staff are friendly, the rooms spacious, clean, and inviting. Large bathroom and a great and well priced minibar.
Comfy bed and despite the location near abusy round about you can't hear a thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teagzy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Interior:
Good sized room - clean - comfortable, well equipped with standard features including flat screen TV and free WiFi. No bath, but spacious bathroom. Bar items are well priced. Bed is firm and comfy.

Location:
On the main road near round-about, but excellent double-glazed windows eliminate noise issue. Good access to main HWYs. 5 mins walk to the Waterfront and 10 mins walk to Salamanca.

Facilities and Service:
Basic with limited lobby space. In-house restaurant is basic but well priced. Plenty of parking spaces. Friendly service.

Downside:
WiFi is slow and limited. No in room safe box. Pillows are small and comfort level could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just spent the first and last three days of our twelve day holiday in Tasmania at the Fountainside Hotel in Hobart. I am asking people to not judge a book by it's cover and give the Fountainside a go as you wont regret it. It is rather plain on the outside but the rooms are quite pretty, well thought out, spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and the bed was very lovely. They have a huge tv mounted on the wall as well which was lovely. I strongly suggest you try the lovely Natural Earth shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser found in the bathroom as well, as the scent is to die for and I am going to try and find some so I can get some for use at home.

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the things we wanted to see including the Salamanca Markets, the city centre, restaurants (ranging from fine dining to fast food), pubs and the MONA ferry and many other tourist tour pick up areas as well.
We had noticed in previous reviews that traffic noise was an issue for some people and I admit we heard it as well but it never kept us awake or woke us up early. We were concerned when we saw the hospital behind us but we only heard 3 ambulances in the six nights we were there and never in the middle of the night.

The lovely ladies on the front desk were very helpful and had many suggestions for great places to visit, eat or just go and look at. Some of their suggestions ended up being highlights of our trip. The prices were extremely reasonable and we will return there in the future with our kids this time.

The staff were wonderful, and went above and beyond for us when we called to ask if we could check in early on the second part of our stay as I was unwell and needed a bed asap. Their housekeeping crew cleaned our room immediately and we were able to check in at 11am instead of the usual 2pm check in time, and at no extra cost I might add.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Fountainside Hotel during our holiday in August 2013. Our stay was great and the hotel has large, comfortable and clean rooms. Parking was easy and the location of the hotel is great too! The hotel staffs were always friendly with any questions that we had e.g attractions. where to eat, how to get there and etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei Nie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good place - meets all the basic requirements - well appointed - well located. No problems at all. Customer service was definitely very good. Would return. Only one bad thing - apparently the wifi had a daily limit so it was not working at night (apparently guests may have been downloading too much and hit the daily bandwidth limit) - this should definitely be looked into and taken care of so it doesn't happen again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vshankar0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Property: Fountainside Hotel
Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing